Wander logo

Nottingham: Where I currently Call My Home

The fourth place I can call home

By Joe HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nottingham: Where I currently Call My Home
Photo by Tom Podmore on Unsplash

I've always played fast and loose with the concept of that one place is where you can call home. Over the years I've lived in a variety of different places and found different reasons to call them home during that time of my life. At this moment in time, at the wonderful age of 27, I am currently calling Nottingham, England my hometown. But why do I call this city my current home? Lets find out...

1. Its where I've started building my life...

I'm the only one happy about the snow clearly!

I will admit straight away that I had no knowledge of Nottingham before I moved here, actually, I had only visited the city at one point for a very blurry night out with some friends. The main reason for moving to Nottingham was to be close to the job that I had in the city for 6 months before moving. The commute had gotten too much for me to bare and I needed to be closer. One hitch in this plan was that I was in a fairly new relationship that I didn't want to end. So, rather than call it quits, we both moved to Nottingham together. It was a huge step for us as a couple (having only been together about 6 months). I'd definitely say it worked seeing as we're now three years into the relationship and owning our lives in Nottingham. We've also got engaged which has really sealed the deal. (Read about that here)

2. Its a really beautiful city...

Wollaton Hall

Simply Googling Nottingham will show you that there is a huge historical backstory to this central city. I won't go into it all as I'm not a huge history buff, but it definitely has its appeal for being the home to Robin Hood (fiction or real is up for discussion). Just by wandering around the city center, you can see where the city has progressed while maintaining relics from its past. I've been known to comment on the lovely architecture of the city.

It isn't just the city center that has an appeal. Over lockdown, we have found ourselves branching out to the various parks that Nottinghamshire has to offer up for exploration. Yes, there have been times when it has been so muddy our shoes have been ruined, but each park has always offered a relaxing walk with picturesque landscapes to stare at. On particular favourite being Wollaton Park. I've lost count of how often I've wandered round here. (It was the reason I took up walking during lockdown - read about that here)

3. Such a wonderful Christmas atmosphere...

Ignoring the slightly disappointing lockdown Christmas, one of Nottingham's main attractions is its commitment to a wonderful Christmas. Each year there has been a Christmas market that attracts people from all over, a huge ice rink that I've attempted to skate across many times. The conclusion to this point is that, in spite of the council's misjudgments, there always seems to be a focus on making people happy around this jolly time.

At the end of the day...

I have come to a point in my life where I might find myself leaving Nottingham and setting up shop somewhere else. However, I will be leaving with an abundance of memories that I will cherish for the rest of my life. It has been absolutely wonderful starting my life in this historic city, from strengthening my relationship to progressing my career, and walking for miles without being disturbed by roadworks.

Who knows where I may find myself next, but I'll always be able to say I've lived in Nottingham. At one point in my life I found myself at home in this large city, and enjoyed the beginning of my relationship at a time when the world pretty much shut down.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.