Wander logo

Northville

The Place I Call Home

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
"Follow Your Bliss" Photo by Kathleen Thompson

My introduction to the town next door-

Just 10 minutes from the town where I grew up is the city of Northville. I’d often go visit my friend Susan who lived there for many years. On one such occasion I went into the downtown area and saw the latest children’s theatre production announced on display on Northville’s historic 100-year-old "Marquis Theatre" that said; “Alice In Wonderland.” As a photographer I immediately had an idea. I would ask Susan to drive my car with her dog Maggie in the front seats while I took some wide shots as we travelled around the block several times. I was picturing the two of them in my little car driving into a magical place which I would emphasize and highlight by hand-painting the town, complete with the “Alice & Wonderland ” signage while keeping the vehicle black & white in the final print. Susan drove around the block about 5 times while I stood in the back seat holding the roll bar so I wouldn't fall, as I clicked away grabbing the shot I was visualizing in my mind. At one point, Maggie moved her paw into the foreground near the gear shift. Through my lens it looked as if she was co-piloting the vehicle! That’s when I knew I had my shot. I titled the photo “Follow My Bliss,” a favorite quote of mine from the late author Joseph Campbell.

I love my hometown of Farmington, Michigan as well. I would not have settled into eventually residing in Northville if I hadn’t experienced the idyllic, natural property I grew up on which was complete with cherry, walnut, and pear trees, a grapevine, and lovely old oaks gracing the edges of a pond; a small spring-fed lake that I spent many hours swimming in and skating on as seasons came and went. Farmington was a lovely place to grow up, but as I got older and made some friends in the neighboring town of Northville, I realized Northville could also offer the natural scenery and had go-to destinations in the downtown within it’s city limits as well. The city has beautiful parks and one could live less than a mile from the downtown and still see and experience the wildness of nature in their backyard. In my late 30’s I started to frequent the downtown more often until I was able to make Northville’s downtown my own. The day I went to "Edward’s Catering" to pick up a tasty “Traverse City Chicken Salad” for a gathering I was attending was when I saw a sign on the main drag for an upper flat for rent. Flats and apartments rent out quickly in Northville. I didn’t hesitate to see if it was still available. I stopped and met the owner of the building and rented my first residential space in Northville. Located right next to Mr. Glo’s Carwash, the flat also had a porch that faced the street and I could watch and listen to the trains that went by on a daily basis. There was a stream, and an old Mill that faced my building. It was located just a short walk from the business district and from "Mill Race Village," a historic site with old architecture from a time gone by within a wonderful park setting complete with an enchanting pond.

My first flat in downtown Northville
A deer greeting me from my back deck Photo Credit- Kathleen Thompson

Pileated woodpeckers as seen from my kitchen window Photo Credit-Kathleen Thompson

My current backyard - wild, nature, wetlands- just 5 minutes from the downtown Photo Credit - Kathleen Thompson
Historic Mill Race Village

Downtown Dining

Main Street is full of restaurants that my friend Cindy and I often frequent. “The Early Bird,” or “Rebeccas,” are sweet little Ma & Pa eateries that have hearty and filling breakfasts. Or you can always have a traditional Greek salad at "Joseph’s Coney Island." Even in the past, Northville has been known for wonderful eating places; "McKinnon’s" was known for its wild game entrees and four-star reviews. Tom, the head chef and owner, was a man just a few years older than I who lived down the street from me in Farmington. We went to the same grade school growing up and our Mom’s worked together on sewing projects. When Tom retired, another great restaurant called “Table 5,” took its place. Additionally, on the main drag is “Genetti’s Hole In The Wall,” a 50-year-old family run business serving Italian style dishes. They have 3 tiers to their business – hosting special events, full service catering, and a dinner theatre. It was there that I held a party for my parents 90th birthdays. "Genetti’s" has a second generation of family running and employed at their establishment, so they understand what family is about and you can feel the love when you book or attend an event there. Another Italian Restaurant in town called "Tiramisu" has an assortment of menu items, including a very tasty traditional Italian lemon ice served in a real lemon! "Tuscan Cafe," another favorite of mine has street seating and is a great place to people watch. "Tuscan" is a long-standing coffee shop with confectionary goodies, mouth-watering sandwiches and home-made soups. Around the corner from "Tuscan," you can also purchase amazing fresh bread made from scratch daily at the "Great Harvest Bread Company." The scent of bread baking in their store is glorious!

A variety of restaurants in downtown Northville Photo Credit - Kathleen Thompson

The destination shops

While restaurants draw many people to Northville, so do many of the one of a kind shops with owners that really have a great desire to bring the community together by offering exceptional products that patrons love while supporting local artists and manufacturers. Business owner Theresa Schierloh, opened the "Dancing Eye Gallery" in 1995. For over 25 years now, the store has featured products from what Schierloh calls “a garden of local artists,” featuring hand-made items including scented candles, beautiful hand-made tiles, lovely jewelry, sculpture, and much more. “The products change based in part on customer input, but they will still fall under the description of funky, organic, textural, bohemian or eclectic,” says Schierloh. “I value my independent artists and my customers alike, and as I tend to them, like one would a garden, the store takes on a life of its own.”

Theresa Schierloh, from the Dancing Eye Gallery amidst some of her gallery offerings Photo Credit - Kathleen Thompson

Another store owner who chose Northville as her place to set up shop is Lauren Beras. She is the owner of "Lorla's", a boutique she opened in 2004. She decided to open her business in Northville because of “its quaintness and magic.” She added, “It's a cute, small town with a real downtown. So many towns now don’t have a real downtown district. Northville does.” "Lorla's" features shoes, jewelry, purses, and other clothing for women. Like Schierloh, Beras related that she chooses her store items based on the customers she serves. “I want every woman to feel beautiful. I want every woman to feel confident. I buy things that I feel women will find beautiful and feel comfortable in. I created a big girl’s candy shop.”

Lorla's -Women's Shoes & Accessories Photo credit-Kathleen Thompson

Another store in Northville that deserves much praise is “Garden Views.” It’s the place to find the artsy, one of a kind item to decorate your home, or purchase a unique gift. Other items to be found in stores along Main & Center Streets include a children’s boutique, a bicycle shop, places for hair and nails, and gift stores, including an all-Michigan made product store.

GardenViews Store Photo credit-Kathleen Thompson

As a resident, and a current home owner in Northville for over 20 years now, I have watched the downtown change. And now as it moves through a pandemic, and is struggling a bit, I am heartened by the community, and the courageousness of the business owners whom are making their way through a difficult time. Since the downtown of Northville has no major thoroughfare going through it, the businesses have come together and created “Heat in the Streets,” which allows restaurant owners and some businesses to bring their services out into the main streets and widen their footprint. Heaters, and torches are currently warming the streets while many bundled up customers find their way to this very charming city to support their local businesses at a time when it is most needed. Despite the current winter cold, Schierloh has even summoned friends and customers to do a little yoga in the street. I love how the community shows up for each other this way! Masked up and ready to go – I often venture out into the downtown, still “following my bliss,” as I did so long ago when I circled the streets photographing the wide shot of “magical” downtown Northville. Even in this very cold winter, people are walking the streets with their dogs in tow and are smiling despite the freezing temps. I'll walk, and order a "cocoa bomb" from Tuscan Cafe or a glass of wine from Poole’s Tavern. Or I may decide to stay home and sit at my kitchen window and watch the snow fall gently on an old black walnut tree that graces my view. Despite the pandemic or a foot of snow, I’m still feeling the magic of where I now live; forget Alice...it’s my “wonderland.”

"Heat in the Street" - keeping businesses and patrons happy during the pandemic - photo credit- Kathleen Thompson

Business owner Theresa Schierloh & others bring Yoga into downtown Northville- Photo Credit - Theresa Schierloh

photography
Like

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.