Wander logo

Next Time You're in Germany, Shop a Flohmarkt

Three of my favorite pieces.

By MissAdventuredPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
My favorite oddity find EVER! From a Flohmarkt near Heidelberg, Germany

Next time you’re in Germany, you’ll be pleased to take a morning to visit the nearest Flohmarkt. Flea Market in English. The Flohmarkt treasures I acquired in my years living there have moved around the planet with me. I’m always excited to get to share them with friends!

I think bartering is fun. What’s the worst they’ll say? No?

I always try to negotiate at pawn shops, garage sales, small thrift shops and more. Why not? Sometimes I get a better deal, something tossed in for free or I pay their asking price anyway having lost nothing. Go ahead and make that offer if you think something is overpriced. Always expect the “no” and most importantly have a little fun and be polite.

This mortar and pestle are massive! Everyone notices it on my counter and asks us what we use it for. The pestle weighs just shy of two pounds while the mortar measures at a hefty sixteen and a half pounds. What a score at 5 euros! (around $7 at the time)

There’s a non-monetary price you pay for making large, awkward, and heavy purchases near the beginning of a flea market, in a place where you don’t speak the language to ask them to hold it for you. I carried this dead weight through the rest of the market, as far as I could only taking a break for bread.

A baker was peddling the morning’s loaves and rolls. Brochen. They’re there and sell out every Saturday.

While this essential culinary gadget of ancient origins might not seem like such a big deal to some. This is my favorite practical Flohmarkt find. Freshly ground whole spices elevate you to a whole different cooking game! Get yourself one of these if you’re the cooking type. Just maybe not so large if you must carry it home.

This next Flohmarkt acquisition is a mystery. I’m no art expert.

It makes my Antiques Roadshow shortlist. I was drawn to it because the Platz (town/community square) scene is one you can experience in many neighborhoods and most villages to this day. Castle ruins and all. How long have they been there? Their cultural history and the age of buildings in Europe still captivate my imagination.

I’m not sure how much I paid for this one. Thinking back on it, it may have even been tossed in with another purchase.

The mystery deepens!

The card affixed to the back.

I can use Google translate as well as anyone. It says, “In gratitude for the cooperation in the magistrate in the years 1956-1960. *a name* Mayor”

What this person did or why they no longer wanted their token of appreciation is something I ponder when I look at it. I still enjoy the content and it takes me back to my time sitting in a random platz watching people and their customs.

My most favorite Flohmarkt snag is the world’s greatest plant table.

I spotted it from a mile away. It drew me in with its tractor beam of oddity charm. The price said 80 euros. I had allotted myself 60 for that trip. Up until that point in my market adventures, my purchases had all been under 10.

I offered the vendor 50 euros. She came back with 60.

I hadn’t seen any of the rest of the market. I took a chance on a loop through to see if there was anything else or multiple things for the same amount or less. The entire time I scanned the rows of vendor booths I was thinking about this table. I was worried someone else would buy it.

It wasn’t long before I was back at the table. I again offered 50 and she came back with the same 60. I handed her the colorful money and picked up my table.

Take a look at the shape of the table. The only semi-comfortable way to carry it is from behind. In a precarious doggy style like position. Please, understand that I had a distance to walk with my new best friend. He wasn’t amused then, either.

Honestly, nobody compliments me on my weird table. They say he’s angry. I wonder where he’s from and how he came to wear that expression. I’d pay even more for it now and be less red-faced about our naughty jaunt through town.

When in Germany be sure to check out all the outdoor markets you can! Farmers markets have samples and sites beyond description. The egg guy had a live chicken in a cage on top of his egg cart! If you’re as easily amused as I am, markets are an absolute joy and typically best early morning when moods and goods are freshest.

Like these tips? You should check out my guide to finding a classic swimming hole, fictions and other musings. Thanks for reading!

europe

About the Creator

MissAdventured

You will likely encounter a curse word casually tossed about and likely overused..

How-tos, fictions and doing all the things despite limitations.

It's a garbage can, not a garbage can't. #ms.misadventured

Contribute to the efforts! $DiW82

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MissAdventuredWritten by MissAdventured

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.