Wander logo

New York

The Empire State Building

By Delores RockettPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

I decided to visit the Empire State building. It had been a long week at the office, and I needed to see something new. I had planned to go many times since I arrived in New York, but I just hadn’t taken the time to do it. Today was going to be the day.

As I approached the counter to pay for the view, I noticed a large sign that warned of its closing for maintenance. Disappointed and sure it was due to my constant stream of bad luck, I turned around to leave.

“Psst.”

I looked back to see a man standing at the entrance to the balcony. He was tall with red hair.

“You can go up there if you like.”

“But I thought it was closed for maintenance?” I replied.

“It is.”

“I don’t understand?” I questioned.

“Hold on, I’ll be right back. Don’t leave, ok?”

“Ok, sure.” I said flatly.

A few minutes later he came back with another man, balding and older, who allowed me entrance.

“Go ahead.” The red-haired man said.

I stepped out onto the balcony. The red-haired man stepped onto the balcony as well and stood a few feet away, staring at the view.

I turned and faced him.

“Hey, thank you for letting me come up here.”

“No problem, you looked like you needed some air.”

“I guess it has been a long day. Again, thank you.” I paused for a second.

“Hey, wait a minute, do I look bad or something? What did you mean by that?” I asked almost glaring at him.

He chuckled.

“No, on the contrary.”

He met my gaze, but his eyes were soft.

“Oh.”

“Sorry, I guess it has been one of those weeks.”

I turned to look out at the view.

“Yeah, I know what you mean.”

“Wow, I mean, it is even more amazing than I imagined up here.”

“Yes, I never tire of it.”

“Do, you make it up here often?” I asked.

“Not as much as I would like, too busy, but when I am called here on business, I always take the opportunity.”

“So you don’t work here, then?”

“No, actually I don’t.”

“Interesting how much pull you have. What do you do?”

“I work for the government.”

“Really? Like CIA, or IRS kind of Government? ‘Cause, you certainly aren’t dressed like it.” I chuckled as I looked him in the eyes.

He was wearing khakis and a long black sleeve button up shirt.

“Its top-secret ma’am.” He said in a deep voice, trying to imitate someone of great authority.

I laughed.

“You’re pretty funny.” I told him still smiling.

I kept looking into his eyes and realized how nice looking he was. As I studied his face, I noticed his deep set dark brown eyes and his terrific smile.

I looked down at his hand to see if he was wearing a ring. And it was naked. No tan line either so I knew it was genuine bear. He was tall; he had me by at least a foot. I always liked tall men.

“So, what are you doing up here alone on a Friday evening?”

He continued, “You’re not from around here, are you?”

“Is it that obvious?” I said, trying not to sound intimidated.

“Well, your speech gives you away”

“No accent, huh?” I giggled.

“Oh, you have an accent, but it’s not from this part of the country.” He stated with a smile.

I looked at him intently, trying to size him up. He looked back at me still smiling. I wondered what he was thinking.

“Actually, I haven’t been here long. I just moved here from the Midwest. I love it so far.”

“But you haven’t really established any friends?” He said matter-of-factly, as if finishing my sentence.

“Boy, am I that transparent?” I giggled nervously.

“Well, let’s just say you stick out like a sore thumb.”

“That makes me feel a whole lot better.” I said sarcastically with a big smile.

“You have to start somewhere, right?” He said sincerely, looking into my eyes.

“I guess I won’t stick out in time.” I responded still smiling, kind of shrugging my shoulders.

I started to get a little nervous. He was incredibly attractive, and I was out of my element. The wind was chilly, and it was getting dark. Even though the sight of the city lights coming up was tempting, I decided it was time to leave.

“Well, it was nice talkin’ to you,” I said, “gettin’ late, and sun’s ‘bout gone. And thanks again for the view.”

I turned to leave.

“Hey, you wanna get a drink or something?”

I turned back and looked into his eyes. I wasn’t sure what I should do. I must have had a puzzled look on my face because he quickly responded.

“I know we just met, but I thought perhaps I could introduce you to New York, show you the places that tourists don’t know about.” He smiled, searching my eyes.

His smile was gorgeous, even his eyes were smiling. I would be nuts to say no, and I would be nuts to say yes.

“Now, don’t you know that all serial killers say that before they kidnap their next victim?” I said with a grin.

“I know, I know, but I work for the Government.” He replied in the deep voice again.

“Exactly! Never trust the Government.” I said, laughing.

“Hey, wait a minute!” He laughed in return.

We both stood there for a moment waiting for the other to say something. I looked out at the view once more.

“Can I just be honest?” He turned and faced me and took a step closer.

“Since I opened that door, the view has been increasingly beautiful and it’s not because of the lights.”

“I would just like to get to know you, and I know that sounds like a line or something, but it’s true. Does that make me creepy?”

“Yes.” I said giggling again.

“My name is James, James Shaw.”

“And my number is 555-2684”

I took out my cell phone and punched in his number, giggling again.

I looked back up at him and into his eyes. I really wanted to say yes and throw caution to the wind.

“Ok, James.” I said flavored with sarcasm.

“My name is Dani” I looked up at him, “You’re kind a pushy.”

“I’m a New Yorker, which should explain it for you.” He smiled.

“I guess you are right about that.” I jested.

“I really should be getting home. I hadn’t planned on doing anything and I’m not dressed appropriately or anything.”

“Can I walk you down at least? I’m leaving anyway.” James asked

“Well, ok. Why not?” I said a little too forced.

The trip was quiet. As we walked out of the building, we stopped. I stuck out my hand to say goodbye. We shook hands then started walking again. We looked at each other and giggled a little as we were walking in the same direction.

“So, which way are you headin’?” I asked.

“That way.” He pointed down the street.

“Me too.”

We looked up at each other then continued to walk together.

“You got plans tonight?” I asked feeling brave again.

“I’ve been invited to a friend’s later tonight, but I haven’t decided if I’m going. I was just gonna to grab a bite to eat right now.”

“Yeah, me too.” I said almost to myself.

As we headed down the street, we could smell the aroma of food from the near-by restaurants. Now, I don’t know if it was the basic need for nourishment that caused me to abandon all reason, but I couldn’t believe what was coming out of my mouth next.

“You know, I’m pretty hungry. I haven’t had a bite all day. Would you care to join me for dinner?”

“Really?” He asked, as if I was only teasing.

“Really.” I stated.

“I’ll trust you will behave in public. I mean what could you do, really, in front of all these people? And honestly, I’m tired of eating alone.”

“I know this great place not too far from here.” He said with a little excitement in his voice.

“What kind of food do you like?” He asked.

“Oh, I like just about anything.”

“You like exotic food?”

“Um, as long as it’s dead, cooked, and not still in a skull.”

“Well, I don’t mean that exotic.” He laughed.

I liked the way he laughed. It wasn’t a cackle or dorky; it was throaty and masculine.

The restaurant he picked was dark, perfect setting for an intimate meal. I began to question the wisdom of my invitation.

We both ordered a glass of Merlot and dinner and spent the next three hours laughing and talking about politics, religion, and life. I watched him as he talked, his eyes glistening from the low light above our head, and the masculine lines in his face was alluring. I could tell by our conversations that he was educated, informative, and a gentleman. As the night went on, I decided he was not a serial murderer or rapist after all. He had a sense of humor and he ruled the art of sarcasm. Two traits I found extremely attractive.

“So, what brought you to New York?”

I look down at my ruby red glass of wine, not sure where to start or if I should just be vague. Then I take another sip.

“I got a job with a small graphics company. I’m making more money than I’ve ever made in my life, but the cost of living is so high. I couldn’t afford the parking fees, so I had to sell my car.”

“Well, as you have probably guessed, living in the city, it’s easier to walk or take the subway anyway.”

“Yeah, it doesn’t bother me not having a car. But I’m definitely not rich working here.”

“You sound disappointed. Do you regret coming here?”

“No, just thought I would struggle less. But I’m doing better than where I was.” I looked at him with intensity.

“So, why did you pull your strings to get me up on that balcony?”

“Because I think you are beautiful.” he said as he took a sip of his wine peering over the top of the glass and straight into my soul.

“So, do you do things like that for all pretty women?” Giving the same look back.

“No, just you.” he said, setting the glass down, but still maintaining my gaze.

“I’ve never done anything like that before, to be honest.” His eyes softened again.

I sat back in my chair trying to decide if I believed him. He seemed to be sincere, but it was hard to tell.

The way he was looking at me gave me chills. He was peering past the walls. It scared me but at the same time I felt my resolve loosen a little. Or that could have been the wine.

After dinner and a few more glasses of Merlot I was ready to get home. I knew I may have had one glass too many. He offered to walk me home.

When we got to my door, he took my hand and looked deeply into my eyes. His hand was warm and so inviting. Being touched by him sent chills down my entire body. I was beginning to feel mushy. I hadn’t been touched in a long time, not so affectionately, like he was touching me.

“Dani, I had a great time.”

“I did to.”

“Are you busy tomorrow? I thought I would take you around and show you the city.”

“You know, that sounds very good to me.”

“Very good then, I will come and get you around three.” He stated while still looking at me with those piercing dark eyes.

I nodded. As I watched him walk away, I decided he was beautiful.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.