Wander logo

My Christmas in Palma De Mallorca

Travel

By Chantelle JohnsonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

This year for Christmas, I spent the holiday in Spain. I landed four days before the big day and being pessimistic I packed lots of jumpers and a huge trench coach, in disbelief that the weather would be this gorgeous.

I went with my shopaholic sister so as you can imagine the first place we visited was FAN Mallorca Shopping.

It has three floors of popular high street stores in the U.K such as H&M, Primark and JD. Christmas lights were spiraled on palm trees, and a Santa’s grotto was set at the entrance, which created a festive feel.

There wasn’t a great selection of choice for food, and so reluctantly we found ourselves eating lunch at Burger King.

One thing that impressed me the most was the transport. The buses arrived frequently, and it was only €3 for two adults on a single journey. They were empty during the day whenever we traveled, and I think that’s because a vast majority of people drive in the area.

Later, in the week we took a trip to the city centre, which was surprisingly quiet considering Christmas was a matter of days away. There was no mad rush in any of the stores or long queues. After working in retail for the past four Christmas holidays, the peaceful atmosphere when shopping in Spain was therapeutic.

As we walked through the city centre, we saw the roofs of different churches and cathedrals poking out which was refreshing to see in comparison to the highrise flats and apartments that surround most centres in the UK.

The closet I got to tasting authentic Spanish cuisine was a bag of Churros.

Traveling with two small children meant we ate at a lot of fast food places like Mc Donald’s and KFC rather that visiting any of the backstreet Spanish restaurants. Which I must say did look very nice.

After a long day of sightseeing and shopping my favourite activity was taking a stroll along the beach. On Christmas morning we walked to a small church at the bottom of the beach. We passed a lot of small souvenir shops and little cafes which were shut, and I an only imagine how lively it must be during the summer.

Overall, my Christmas in the sun was a bag of fun! I would recommend this trip to families or any adults looking for a peaceful weekend away. Don’t worry if your Spanish speaking skills aren’t fluent or your map reading is poor, it's generally an easy area to travel around, with a similar system to London.

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Chantelle Johnson

Keep reading to find out about my trips across the globe, my favourite foods and for tips on a healthier lifestyle.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.