Wander logo

'Must Sees' in London

The Non-Tourist Attractions of London... The Best I Have Seen So Far

By Alarna ChiversPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

For the past month and a half I have been living in London, throughout this time I have had a chance to explore and see many beautiful sites. While I have had the chance to see Buckingham Palace, the Big Ben, Tower Bridge... the list goes on, I believe that there is more to London then these huge tourist attractions, so I have written a small list of five recommendations of 'must sees' in London.

Number One: Notting Hill

I have always wanted to go to Notting Hill, after seeing the film Notting Hill, and it was better than expected. From the moment I had left the tube station I was hooked on many of the small shops, there were so many vintage themed clothing which I absolutely loved. The markets were AMAZING and went on for what felt like miles, with market stalls selling a verity of items, ranging from food to jewellery. Then of course the coloured houses, just wow! I think it would be anyone’s dream to be able to live in such a beautiful house. Just be warned, while taking photos, some owners don't want you sitting/standing on the steps.

Number Two: Neal's Yard

In the busy area of Covent Garden, there is a hidden courtyard known as Neal's Yard. The courtyard is very appealing to the eye, with the colourful buildings, great cafes, and beautiful greenery. I have never seen anything like it before, the photos don't do it justice. I went in the early spring, but I imagine that late spring and summer would be the best time to give Neal's Yard a visit, as the greenery will be thriving and it will be warm enough to sit outside.

Number Three: Saint James's Park

Saint James's Park is in such a great location, just outside of the Buckingham Palace. While Buckingham Palace is such a big attraction, I would definitely recommend a stop at Saint James's Park also. The many birds, squirrels, and waterfowl found throughout the park add to the beauty of it. Also, there are great views of surrounding London from the bridge over the lake, which has great photo opportunity. All I can say, is if you want to capture the true royal feel that comes along with London, Saint James's Park is definitely one stop you have to make.

Number Four: Ben's Cookies and Hyde Park

For all those sweet lovers out there, then Ben's Cookies in South Kensington is the place to go. The few times I have ventured to Ben's Cookies, I always follow it with a trip to Hyde Park to sit and devour the cookies. While some may say that it is a hike to get to Hyde Park from Ben’s Cookies, it’s a great walk. There is always a busker or two, whether they would be making huge bubbles or playing very different and unusual instruments, it’s really an experience of London in itself. Hyde Park itself is extremely beautiful and great to explore, the surrounding houses and apartments are truly something else! I can see why people make it their dream to live around Hyde Park.

Number Five: Tate Modern

I know Tate Modern could be classed at a touristy thing to do around London, but before I moved here I didn’t know that such an intriguing gallery existed. Plus, I have never seen an art gallery with three-person swings occupying most of the first floor. The gallery itself really has something for everyone, many abstract pieces but also classical pieces of art. If you’re a true art lover, or someone who just enjoys seeing something completely different Tate Modern is the place to go!

These are five of the best places I have been to in London so far. I am only new to London and I am continuously finding new areas to explore. Every day I find a new courtyard, park, or gallery to visit.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Alarna Chivers

I am just a young woman trying to travel the world, with a love for sharing my stories and experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.