Wander logo

The Start of Wander

The Decision and Beginning of My Life As an Au Pair in London

By Alarna ChiversPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

In December 2016, I finished school at the age of 17, with the expectation from others to know what I want to do for the rest of my life. I thought I knew—I applied to start education at university in 2017. Half way through my first semester (and still shy of 18), I had a feeling that maybe it wasn't the right time or course for me. I started to search for other options. I had always wanted to travel and see the world. I found an option for me... to become an Au Pair. For those who don't know, an Au Pair is practically a live-in nanny who also wants a cultural exchange. I decided that in 2018, I would venture to London and pursue the job of an Au Pair.

I told my family my plan and they supported me, but my parents still wanted me to finish my first year of university. While I just wanted to pack up and go as quickly as possible, I agreed to their terms because it would give me time to save money for my big adventure.

It's funny, when I told my friends some were super supportive and excited for me, but others thought I was crazy. "Why would you want to pack up and move to the other side of the world?" some asked. All I could reply with was "why not?"

There are many online platforms and agencies that can assist you with finding work as an Au Pair. I decided to use an agency for peace of mind that I would be safe and the host family I was going to be staying with would be reliable. I went through Global Work and Travel Co. Overall, I had a good experience with the agency. In saying this, I have made friends with other Au Pairs who used platforms like AuPair World and have found great host families.

Building my profile was so exciting. I was super positive throughout the whole planning and host family searching process. During this time some of my friends were asking me questions like "what if your host family is actually crazy and kidnaps you. Or sells you to slavery," which just made me laugh. Just a note for any aspiring Au Pairs, if you do Google or watch YouTube videos on other Au Pairs' "horror stories" remember that every person has a different experience, so you need to keep an open mind about your experience.

I was lucky enough to find my host family within two weeks of looking at family profiles. We were in contact for about three months before my arrival to London. The hardest part about leaving Australia was saying goodbye to all my friends and family. Even though I would only be gone a year, I wondered how much everyone will change over that period of time. All I can say February 6 came extremely fast, and off I went. Traveling for 24 hours straight was exhausting, and I felt a range of emotions, but mainly anxious and excited.

From the minute I stepped off the plane I knew I had made the right decision. I was welcomed with open arms by my host family. I have now been in London for just over a month, and I have grown a love for the city. I have made a group of friends, and have made it my goal is to continue to explore this city and cities throughout Europe. I am excited to see what comes from these next 11 months.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Alarna Chivers

I am just a young woman trying to travel the world, with a love for sharing my stories and experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.