Wander logo

Midwest Memories

There’s more to Illinois than Chicago, corruption and corn

By Janine McCollum Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

To some, Woodstock, Illinois is just a tiny dot on a map clumped in with Chicago. I did not spend my childhood here nor is it the place I have lived the longest - but for my family it earns the title of home, where 3 generations are preserving and creating memories.

Located about 50 miles northwest of Chicago, Woodstock is a quaint old town - circa 1852 - rich in history, culture, the arts and dedicated to preservation and sharing of its heritage. That’s definitely part of the draw for me. Not every town is interested in preserving its history, in fact, many suburbs choose the progress over preservation attitude of tear down and build new, bigger and better. It is possible to preserve history without sacrificing amenities, and Woodstock is an example.

When I was a kid I used to pass through the area on the way to my grandparents lake house in Wisconsin. Just a bored kid in the backseat of a gigantic 1971 Cadillac Coupe DeVille (think pre-electronic era) looking for one of the “signs” that meant we were getting closer. A life size cow statue as we passed through the dairy capital, a huge frog shaped building that someone sold fireworks from...the drive felt like it lasted forever, gazing out the window cornfield after cornfield, some cows, more corn, more cows. Then out in the middle of nowhere - was a little town. It always felt familiar. It didn’t change much over the years - definitely not as much as other places I had been - or as some towns surrounding it. It always retained that small town charm and vintage vibe - even as a city with a population grown to 25,000 - even today, well over a century later. The littlest big town I have known.

Farmland in Woodstock, 2020

Film photo I took in 1995 - farmland in Woodstock

Several years ago after some huge life changes, I told myself I would settle in the next place that felt like home, plant some roots again and see what happens. I was always drawn to the setting and vibe of Woodstock, and knew I had found my next home the first time I saw it. It was once an old typewriter factory - Emerson Typewriters - and was 1 of 2 located in Woodstock in the early 1900’s. It was converted to a residential loft community in 2007 and is a creatives’ dream. Two story ceilings with skylights, exposed ductwork, dramatic brick and timber with an industrial flair - and cool history in every nook and cranny. A writers retreat, it was perfect.

Emerson Lofts as it stands today - formerly a typewriter factory circa 1910.

Move in day several years ago.

Present day exterior and original smoke stack

Emerson Typewriter Factory (postcard)

Pleasant Valley conservation area is one of many nature areas in Woodstock, but it is my favorite. My first visit was in 2001, and I have been returning ever since. It’s my local go-to when I need to ground myself and clear my mind.

History of Pleasant Valley

One of my peaceful, happy places.

Homework and picnic with my daughter.

Walking the trails with my dog.

In the heart of the town (technically a city but I use it interchangeably) is the historic Woodstock Square and surrounding historic district. The square has been the backdrop for many festivals, parades, art fairs, celebrations and events for over a century. Traditions like live music at the bandstand, the annual Groundhog Day Festival or holiday Lighting of the Square. There’s a seasonal farmers market and never a shortage of things to do. The Square is lined with cool boutiques, old pubs, great food and even craft chocolate.

“Lighting of the Square” annual festival.

3 generations...memories in the making

Location in the film “Groundhog Day” & favorite breakfast spot

We have a weekly tradition of breakfast at Double Yolk Cafe. The pandemic has affected so many small businesses so we make sure to order carry out if we can’t dine in.

Side street on the square - little vintage movie theater on the right.

Mural Stars of the Opera House, Orson Wells, Dick Tracy and Groundhog Day.

Woodstock Willie is the resident groundhog...

Summertime at The Square (candid)

Art exhibition at the Old Mchenry County Courthouse on the square, now a cultural arts center - built 1857

The Woodstock Opera House built 1889

I was fortunate to be part of the Woodstock Childrens Summer Theater crew as a scenic artist. My daughter was part of the cast, Mary Poppins Jr. We had only been living here a couple of months when she auditioned and were pleasantly surprised when she - the “new girl” - was not just chosen, but welcomed into the theater community like they had known our family forever. Working behind the scenes at the Opera House was an extraordinary experience with an extraordinary organization. I had seen productions at the venue before - but nothing could compare to being backstage - the excitement behind the scenes and feeling the energy of those who once performed there.

DD 113 is the seat left open for the legendary resident ghost Elvira

View from balcony...intermission at the annual Nutcracker performance

Backstage at the opera house - Tech Week For Mary Poppins Jr.

My love of painting was born that summer.

Besides the history and community, why do I love living here? It oozes nostalgia. Vintage, retro, antique - it’s all here. It’s a perfectly lovely mixed bag of old and new. Quirky, random things make it feel like home. I’m more in my element than I have been in a very long time. A place I can create and be inspired by my surroundings. The community is personal and real. It’s all the little daily joys - people out walking their dogs in all weather, kids playing outside, neighbors helping one another, even watching an oddly entertaining snow blowing competition between neighbors.

Iconic reminders of decades gone by randomly dot the landscape in and around Woodstock. Interesting architecture, classic farms, stately houses with historic plaques and storied pasts. I imagined what it was like to walk the same brick streets that I walk today, and live in a prestigious Victorian mansion...dating pre 1900, holding a century of secrets within its walls. Little reminders everywhere of the people who have lived here and traditions that continue.

Along my walk at the Farmers Market.
A well mannered goat I met while at the farmers market. He does Goat Yoga, too.
Creative displays of community are seen throughout Woodstock.

I glanced down and saw “Dusty 77” finger written in the concrete. 1977. I was 7. I probably drove past here with my grandparents that summer. I wondered if Dusty was graduating class of 1977, or if that was just the year Dusty carved into the wet concrete? I looked around and wondered if Dusty had lived in one of these houses and tried to imagine which one. The yellow 2 story farmhouse with the 75 year old barn still standing in back? The Sears Roebuck Catalog home next to it? Or maybe one of the little ranches that started filling in random open lots in the 1960’s...

“Dusty 77”...noticed on a walk

Quirky remnants remind me of decades past.

The cool vintage signs remained long after they closed.

I know I’m probably not in the majority, but I won’t be retiring to a warm climate. I love that we experience all four seasons in the Midwest - I appreciate all of them. Even the relentless, unpredictable, brutal winters - though I would definitely shorten them if I could - I would never trade our extreme four seasons for one warm one. It just wouldn’t feel like home.

Bitter cold but beautiful nonetheless
Hot and humid on a midwestern summer night

Our farmland sunsets rarely disappoint

Nothing average about our “average” sunset

After a thunderstorm

And at the end of the day, whatever the season, there is joy to be found and memories to be made. I appreciate every gorgeous sunset (even those in -20 degrees) and I’m thankful to be home, here in Woodstock - in my little corner of the Midwest.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Janine McCollum

I’m an author and illustrator, here to support other writers. I use this platform as a personal creative outlet.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.