Wander logo

Field Trip to the Aquarium

Last visit to Sea World

By Janine McCollum Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
2
Film photo, 1990’s Sea World, Ohio

I woke up early, excited for the field trip. I hadn’t been back to Ohio in almost a decade - I had no real reason to, I suppose. But this field trip - this entire trip - is the sole reason I came back. It’s urgent, I was told. She would be gone soon. As I approached the grounds, I gasped at what I saw, and the memories came flooding back. There were no signs of life beyond a couple of bulldozers in the distance that looked as if they hadn’t been there long - my sign that I got here just in time. It would be the last time I would stand on these grounds, feeling the energy and history racing through my body.

Remnants of the Sea World, Ohio grounds 2021

I spent some time here in my youth - some incredible, coming of age times. School field trips mostly, and every summer with my family. Even had my first kiss by the picnic area, and I was so nervous I didn’t notice all the splinters I had gotten from fidgeting on the bench. Sea World was a magical place - at least before we really knew better. It was beautiful, mysterious and home to thousands of species of colorful fish, aquatic life, penguins, dolphins, seals - and most infamously, Shamu, the killer whale. An oddity for the Midwest, really. I had loved the water and marine life for as long as I could remember - swimming before I even learned to walk. I will work here someday, proclaimed my 10 year old self.

Inside the former sea lion habitat

I continued on throughout the former park, taking pictures and reflecting on what it use to be, and what it has become. I had been photographing and documenting shuttered and abandoned places for over 20 years, but this one - Sea World Ohio, was more personal for me. I walked by the empty shell of Dolphin Cove - an interactive exhibit where you could pet and feed the dolphins. If I close my eyes I still see the dolphins, swimming and jumping against the soothing blue aquarium painted in happy colors.

My body seemed to know the way around the 200+ acres even though it’s unrecognizable and being reclaimed by nature. The turquoise roof of the aquarium and faded colors throughout the park still seem to pop against the eerie overgrown backdrop.

There she was, in the distance. Shamu Stadium.

Opening day May 29th, 1970 drew a crowd of over 5500 people, eventually hosting 15-20 thousand people a day, for the 100 days of the season it was open. More orcas would eventually be added, including Kandu and Baby Shamu. The parks season eventually expanded, opening off season for special events and school field trips. While Shamu was the biggest draw, there were other cool exhibits that got less attention - though equally cool in my opinion. My favorite was the Penguin Encounter, where a colony of tuxedo clad penguins waddled and swam in their meticulously recreated natural habitat. They were so entertaining to watch, and their arctic exhibit was a welcomed retreat from the humid summer heat.

It started to drizzle as I headed towards Shamu Stadium. Still walking leisurely, I passed the nostalgic ruins of the Hawaiian Punch Hut. I could still see the logo, though it’s long gone. I will forever love Hawaiian Punch and the red mustache stain it gave me.

There she was, still standing - barely. She didn’t look grand anymore, only weathered and sad. I entered to find broken glass and a variety of empty cavernous tanks.

Former aquarium viewing window

Aerial view, google 2021

While the tri-aquarium (dubbed triquarium) had many species of colorful fish, as well as see-and-touch tide pools - it couldn’t compete with their sister Sea World locations in Orlando and Texas that were adding rides and roller coasters. Sea World Ohio was unable to follow suit due to a non compete clause in their contract with neighboring amusement park Geauga Lake. As the sister parks evolved, the Ohio location could not. By the mid 90’s activists who had long protested the captivity and inhumane treatment of the orcas and other marine animals had gained momentum, resulting in a decline in popularity and attendance. Adding to the issues, in August of 1996 there was an accident at the water skiing show - a 1500 pound speed boat careened out of control and into the stands of 3000 people. 23 people were hurt. The signature human pyramid on water skis that had been the highlight of the show, drawing audiences for almost 30 years, was no more.

On October 29th, 2000, Sea World Ohio closed for good, relocating its animals, mammals and fish to other Sea World locations. There were a couple attempts to repurpose the old aquarium with no success. It has been vacant and falling into disrepair for 2 decades.

I continued my field trip, into crumbling buildings with empty pens and pools, covered in graffiti. I walked by the Pearl Diving Pool - once so inviting, now filled with murky, stagnant algae water.

By today’s standards, Sea World Ohio was very modest. But in its day, it was a place Midwesterners went on summer break. It was raining harder now, so I decided to head back to my car. I stopped a few times along the way to soak in and capture the final, fleeting moments. It was bittersweet for me, knowing she would soon be gone and probably replaced with something stupid like a big box store. Someday soon it will show no signs of its past. Maybe no one will remember the Sea World I knew, but I will. Rip Sea World Ohio, you are missed.

Google Aerial View 2021

featurephotography
2

About the Creator

Janine McCollum

I’m an author and illustrator, here to support other writers. I use this platform as a personal creative outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.