Wander logo

Miami's South Beach Not the Same

I visited South Beach in Miami and it was not what it was when I saw it, twice, back in the early 2000s.

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Miami's South Beach June 2021. Photo by Bazooka Teaches

So back in June of this year, I went with my girlfriend to Pompano Beach, Florida, for a little getaway from all the BS. Yes, we even went with Covid-19 hanging around like a little bitch. We had to get away and we did.

Anyway, since we were near Miami, about an hour away, we decided to take a couple of days down south. See, Pompano Beach is next to Fort Lauderdale which is north of Miami. I have already seen Miami back in the early 2000s, twice. I had a lot of fun in that city during those times. So naturally, I wanted my girl to see, and, yes, it’s Miami!

Photo by Sabrosa, June 2021

We get there and South Beach was not the same as I remember it. There were a lot of changes, and I don’t know if it was for the better or worse. In my opinion, South Beach, Miami, lost its posh after seeing what I saw back in June 2021.

First, the whole area smelled like weed. I don’t have anything against weed, but, when an area reeks of it with a potent kick, it kind of makes one feel like one is in the ghetto. Sorry, weed is cool but not like that.

The place was missing all the nice cars like Ferraris, Porsches, Bentley’s, etc. South Beach had this Beverly Hills feel to it when I saw it, twice, back in the 2000s. In 2021, it was like being at some ghetto beach. It had way more trash around, and it looked a bit neglected.

I’m not trying to say that the Beverly Hills look is the best, but that is what South Beach was! Some neighborhoods attract tourists for certain traits, and posh is what South Beach had that was so enticing. Now, I can’t say much about it. Don’t get me wrong, it is still a nice area with nice restaurants, a bit overpriced, but it just lost a bit of its luster that’s all.

The hotel that was used for the bloody chainsaw scene in Scarface is now a CVS. Photo by Bazooka Teaches

One of my favorite spots in South Beach is to visit the hotel where the gnarly chainsaw scene was filmed from Scarface was filmed. Back in the early 2000s, the hotel was still intact and looking pretty much like it did in the movie, filmed in the 1980s. Now in 2021, the hotel is a damn CVS Pharmacy!

I guess regentrification took place there because the hotel is no longer! The owner of that establishment made a huge mistake for selling that Hollywood, cinema landmark to CVS! It kind of sucks for me ‘cause I am a huge fan of the movie and to see something like that happen is just terrible.

Another shock was the Versace Mansion. That huge building is now a restaurant. From the looks of it, it looked like it was a pricey restaurant; as if, South Beach trying to hang on to that posh it once had. Maybe it still does, but it sure didn’t have much of it when I was there this past June.

Versace Mansion is now a restaurant. Photo by Bazooka Teaches

At least, some people were there taking pictures of the Mansion and talking about the brutal murder of Versace that occurred back in 1997. As it goes, Versace was shot dead right in front of the Mansion. It was still known for that despite the renovations and turning into it a restaurant.

As for the hotel where the gruesome scene from Scarface was filmed, no one had a clue. It seemed like I was the only one, with my girl of course as she is also a Scarface nut. CVS had to go and ruin everything for Scarface fans who strictly go to Miami just to see that little hotel. Anyway ...

Photo by Bazooka Teaches

Of course, South Beach, Miami, is still a nice place to visit. However, the changes have made it into a different place with a different feel. I saw South Beach at its last stretch of being a poshy place. So, if you plan to see South Beach and have not been there in a while, expect these changes. It’s still a fun place to see. The ocean is still nice and warm, especially at that time of the year, so there is that. Anyway …

Photo by Bazooka Teaches

Oh yeah, the famous Versailles restaurant is still in full effect. It is still super delicious. Of course, I had a Cuban sandwich. Gotta' have a Cuban sandwich when you visit Versailles, c'mon!

By Bazooka Teaches

review
1

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.