Wander logo

Kolli Hills

A hidden gem in Tamil Nadu

By DestinyTravellerAPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1
Kolli Hills
Photo by Jan Schulz # Webdesigner Stuttgart on Unsplash

Kolli Hills, also known as Kollimalai or Agaya Gangai, is a hill station located in the Eastern Ghats mountain range in Tamil Nadu, India. It is a popular tourist destination for its scenic beauty, waterfalls, temples, and trekking trails.

I first visited Kolli Hills when I was in college. I was on a road trip with my friends and we decided to stop by on our way to Pondicherry. We were immediately captivated by the beauty of the hills. The lush green forests, cascading waterfalls, and misty mountains were a sight to behold.

We spent the next two days exploring the hills. We went trekking on the Kolli Hills Trek, visited the Agaya Gangai Waterfalls, and explored the Arapaleeswarar Temple. We also had the opportunity to meet some of the locals, who were incredibly friendly and welcoming.

One of the things I loved most about Kolli Hills was its peaceful atmosphere. It was the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and relax in nature. I also appreciated the fact that Kolli Hills was relatively undeveloped. This meant that we were able to experience the true beauty of the hills, without having to deal with large crowds or commercialization.

I left Kolli Hills feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. I had a truly unforgettable experience and I can't wait to go back someday.

A day in the life in Kolli Hills

I woke up to the sound of birds chirping and the gentle breeze blowing through the trees. I stepped out of my cottage and took in the breathtaking view of the surrounding hills. It was a perfect day to explore Kolli Hills.

I started my day with a hike to the Agaya Gangai Waterfalls. The hike was relatively easy and took about an hour to complete. The waterfalls were even more beautiful than I had imagined. The water cascaded down the rocks into a crystal-clear pool below. I took a dip in the pool and felt the cool water revive me.

After my hike, I had lunch at a small restaurant near the waterfalls. The food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. After lunch, I visited the Arapaleeswarar Temple. The temple is a beautiful example of Hindu architecture. I spent some time exploring the temple and admiring its intricate carvings.

In the evening, I went for a walk through the Kolli Hills town. The town is small and charming, with narrow streets and traditional houses. I stopped at a few shops and bought some souvenirs for my friends and family.

I had a wonderful day exploring Kolli Hills. It was a truly magical place and I can't wait to go back someday.

Things to do in Kolli Hills

Kolli Hills is a great place to relax and enjoy the natural beauty. Here are a few things you can do in Kolli Hills:

Go trekking

There are several trekking trails in Kolli Hills, ranging from easy to challenging. Some of the most popular trails include the Kolli Hills Trek, the Masila Falls Trek, and the Semmedu Trek.

Visit the waterfalls

Kolli Hills is home to several waterfalls, including the Agaya Gangai Waterfalls, the Masila Falls, and the Semmedu Falls. These waterfalls are a popular spot for swimming, picnicking, and simply enjoying the scenic beauty.

Explore the temples

Kolli Hills is also a popular pilgrimage site for Hindus. There are several ancient temples in the hill station, including the Arapaleeswarar Temple, the Ettukaal Amman Temple, and the Masila Falls Temple.

Enjoy the wildlife

Kolli Hills is home to a variety of wildlife, including leopards, elephants, and deer. You can go on a wildlife safari or simply keep your eyes peeled while you're trekking or swimming to catch a glimpse of these amazing animals.

Visit the villages

The villages in Kolli Hills are a great place to experience the local culture and way of life. You can visit a village and meet the locals, learn about their customs and traditions, and even try some of their delicious food.

Tips for visiting Kolli Hills

Here are a few tips for visiting Kolli Hills:

  • The best time to visit Kolli Hills is from October to March, when the weather is pleasant.
  • Kolli Hills is a relatively small hill station, so it is easy to get around on foot. However, you can also hire a taxi or auto-rickshaw to get around.
  • There are several hotels and guesthouses in Kolli Hills. You can also find homestays in the villages.
  • Kolli Hills is a popular tourist destination, so it is advisable to book your accommodation in advance, especially

photographytravel tipstravel photographytravel liststravel advicestudent travelsolo travelfemale travelfamily travelcouples travelbudget travel
1

About the Creator

DestinyTravellerA

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.