Wander logo

Just me myself and I traveling

Waiting on others is boring

By Lisa Jacovsky Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Just me myself and I traveling
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

Always make the best of things

Having family living in different states has always made me excited to go visit them. Traveling is one of my favorite things to do but It can be hard waiting on someone else to go with you. In 2019 I planned a trip to visit a family member living in Orlando. I had never been to Disney World or Universal before and I was so excited to finally have that chance. Until I got the text that my family member planned a trip the same exact week I would be there and yes they knew the dates I would be there way in advance. Obviously, I was terribly upset, but I always look on the positive side of things. I was going to Disney world and Universal!! I decided rather than cancel this amazing trip I had planned I would go anyways. Besides, it was my birthday, I was going to make a dream come true of swimming with the dolphins on my actual birthday, so what if I was alone. My family members loss then.

Excited and nervous

I was as nervous as I was excited to go on this trip. My family member ended up canceling their trip but due to work could only get dinner with me a few nights. I was going to be all alone exploring the different theme parks. I had never wanted to travel alone; in fact I had talked about it before with my best friend and we always thought it was weird. But there I was on my first trip to Orlando faced with going alone. I will tell you, that was my best and favorite birthday I have ever had and one of my favorite vacations yet.

Of course I was nervous

There were some different things I was nervous about in traveling alone that first trip. Would I be bored? Where would I eat? Because I did not want to eat at restaurants alone. Would I get lost? Would I even enjoy the parks as much as I would if someone were with me? All the nerves that came from having these questions went right out the door the minute I stepped into Disneys Animal Kingdom that first day.

Why I loved that first trip so much.

An hour into being there I was not bored or feeling alone, it was the opposite. I was excited, confident, and grinning from ear to ear. I was in Disney World. I was around animals. I was happy. There were times that my feet hurt, and I had to sit but I was never bored when I did. It felt good to people watch and relax. I did not have reminders waiting to creep up on me from my phone telling me I needed to stop what I was doing to go do schoolwork or cook or clean. I could really relax.

I ate at different places that had quick service. I ate when I wanted, I stopped when I wanted, and I went where I wanted to. I did not have to stop at any point for another person through this trip. I did not have to wait to go on a ride or go someplace because I had to compromise for someone else. I think It was halfway through the trip that I went to Universal and realized that every decision I made was my own. I am so used to compromising for other people or putting them first. It felt amazing to not have to do that for the first time.

Freedom

If I wanted to stay in Harry Potter world in Universal and just hang out I could. If I wanted to go see the animals more than once in Animal Kingdom I could. If I wanted to go eat at a specific place in Epcot during the food and wine festival I could. If I wanted to go stand online for ice cream in the Magic Kingdom I could. There was a newly discovered sense of freedom from traveling alone. I planned the trip and what park I would go to each day. I planned my entire birthday and the different things I would do at Discovery Cove. No one had any say over it, and no one told me what to do when I was actually there. It was something that felt incredible and honestly, I liked it more than traveling with others.

Not waiting on anyone else anymore.

After that trip to Orlando, I decided to research other places that would be safe for someone to travel alone. I made a list and then I booked the flights. Covid-19 happened and put a bit of a monkey wrench in things, but I did go to Aruba for the first time alone. Ya know what? I made friends on one of the excursions I went on. And ya know what? That excursion is my favorite part of that trip and I am still in contact with one of the girls today. I have a second trip to Aruba planned for later this summer. I also have a trip to Costa Rica planned for this spring. Much as I love my close friends that I would travel with, they all have reasons why they cannot go with me. Totally understandable reasons. I am thankful to have the amazing friends I do and while I understand their reasons for not being able to come, I am thankful too that I am now able to go travel alone, explore this incredible world, making my childhood dreams come true rather than waiting until It could be too late. Its about making memories that I will never forget and I am thankful to now be open to traveling alone.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Jacovsky

Author of the award winning series Lets Talk! and podcast host of No Limits with lisa jacovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.