Wander logo

Icelandic Memories

A Lovely Mystical Holiday

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
1

Iceland has captivated my heart and soul. Other than a bit of snow and some strong wind, we’ve been very lucky with the weather. For most of the days the sky has been clear, perfect for viewing the northern lights and riding on a snowmobile. I don’t think I will ever forget my experience on my seven-day trip in Iceland. Everything from the food, accommodation, to social life has been a big experience for me.

I’m currently in day 5 out of seven. Tomorrow I’m doing the Golden Circle tour again followed by the Blue Lagoon, which is one of the many things I had on my bucket list. I’m excited, and have been in thermal pools to get myself prepared for the spa. I’m going home Sunday, but I will have a chance to have one last morning walk before the bus picks me up to go to the airport.

I’m going to miss Iceland, but the memories are going to last a lifetime.

Excursions

The excursions are expensive, but I felt they were worth the experience. Waltzing through winter wonderlands to trekking down nature parks followed by an evening with the Northern Lights. I consider myself lucky, this is the second time I’ve seen them, having seen them on my balcony on Britannia Cruise on one of her many journeys to the Norwegian Fjords. The Northern Lights are difficult to catch on camera, but I believe some things are best left for the naked eye. I’ve taken lots of pictures and even though the place is very scenic, my old camera phone doesn’t give the place justice.

Cafes

All the cafes I’ve been to have offered a warm and fuzzy enviroment. A lot of big book shops also have a built in coffeeshop which I think is delightful. Felt like being in a home from home when I wanted to write and read.

Kaffitar in Bankastræti is one that I’ve been to a couple of times. Kattakaffihúsið, the first official cat cafe in Iceland, is one I visited yesterday afternoon. All the coffee has been lovely and I’ve been helping myself to water as well. I’m writing this story in a Illy cafe opposite the Icewear Wool House near one of the big three Reykjavík art museums. Speaking of museums and galleries, you’ll find plenty here.

Musuems, Galleries & Exhibitions

Reykjavík is a place that takes pride in its history of legendary poets and art scene. Alleyways and streets boast beautiful graffiti and artwork. Museums are plentiful and those who are into any kind of the arts will enjoy the various exhibitions on display. One of the highlights for me was the Ice Cave in Perlan, which tells the true effects that climate change is causing our planet. The phallological experience is amusing. Whilst not as good as the sex Museum in Amsterdam, the story behind it is very fascinating.

For music fans I would recommend the Punk Music Museum in Bankastræti. I’ve written its own article about it previously.

Food & Drink

People may be disappointed that Iceland do not have a McDonald’s or a Starbucks. Fret not, there are some KFCs, Subways and Dominos Pizza places scattered around the country. On top of that, Iceland also has its own chain of fast food restaurants and coffee shops. Te & Kaffe is a good example of this.

There are plenty of restaurants and everyone I’ve spotted that have vegan and vegetarian options along with delicious looking fish and meat dishes. Because of how high the prices are eating out, I’ve been cooking at the hostel and shopping in supermarkets like Kronon and Bonus. There is also 10/11 but this is one of the more expensive chains. Having a Kronon opposite my hostel has been handy.

In the hostel we’ve been sharing a lot of our food. The top shelf of the fridge is good to be shared and there’s another stack where people can share dried food there. Some people also cooking dishes and let others help themselves. This has also helped me save some money. In return I washed the dishes and let others have some of the fruit and veg I bought.

It amazes me how a meal out can cost the same amount as a week's shop for the hostel. Over the past few days I’ve cooked porridge, noodles, chicken stew and fish pie with sweet potato mash. Someone also cooked pasta bolognese and chicken risotto which the person shared.

I’ve only really eaten out twice. Once in Súpa near the coach stop in the Bláskógabyggð hot springs in Geysir. I remember it was called the Kenya soup and had many spices and had almonds sprinkled on top. It was very delicious and kept me going. I also tried blueberry ice cream in the cafe next door and that was lovely, could taste the blueberries in them.

The next time I ate out, I also had soup. This time it was lobster soup that a friend of a friend recommend. Sægreifinn near the harbour. The tiny restaurant claims to have the best lobster soup in the world, and I think I will have to take their word for it. It was 1490 IKR which is around £15 in English money. I remember in Italy and France lobster being twice as much. Normally vegetarian options cost less than their meaty counterparts but I remember the soup I had at Geysir was at least 1600 IKR and that was a vegan soup.

This section would not be complete without mentioning Ísey Skyr. It’s fat-free and has high protein and is very healthy. I’ve tried many flavours and I would say my favourite would be the blueberry one.

Entertainment & Social Life

I love my hostel. The facilities are brilliant, and reminiscent of a pod hotel I stayed in during my stay in Tokyo. The lounge is groovy and the kitchen and bathrooms are good. I’ve heard many people say they feel safe at Galaxy Pod Hostel because of the friendly atmosphere. I’ve made a few friends all over the world and also got to catch up with my friend who also lives in Iceland (even stayed at her house for a coffee for a bit).

So this is my recap of my stay in Iceland so far. I’m really enjoying it. I still think it’s amusing and hilarious that Bonus, one of their discount supermarkets, have their own poetry book. Maybe we should ask Aldi, Lidl, or Tesco to do one.

europe
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.