Wander logo

I'm Redoing a Camper & Yes - I'm a Millenial

If you've gotten this far - hey there!

By Elizabeth KrupkaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

If the title of this didn't turn you off you're probably a millennial (thanks for the support) or my family. Millennials don't really get a great reputation in the media these days, do we now?

According to the memes on the internet - we are the generation that spends 18 hours per week on their smartphone (GASPS). Is obsessed with Avocados (heck we even named a mattress after one). Will pet any & every corgi that walks by (because we have souls). And is known for the digital nomad movement. Aren't you thankful now with the COVID-19 floating around.

Jumping on the bandwagon of being a digital nomad - I’ve been looking for a camper to re-do ever since I moved out west 4 years ago. I’ve changed quite a bit since then ditching my Sperrys & Duck Boots for Danners & Chacos.

It all began about 4 years ago, I took a trip with a friend to the Cascades in Washington and it rained the entire time. The tent we were camping in wouldn’t suspend because we didn’t tie it tight enough, and it was the first time I ate straight up salami in the car with a hunting knife in my socks and a shirt while my jeans dried on the backseat of a pickup.

Before this very moment I thought - trucks were for rednecks - trailers were strictly for trash and hiking was for people who loved Duck Dynasty beards.

I was incredibly attracted to my friend and for some reason I couldn’t ever put my finger on it. Until one day he turned to me with a smirk/smile under this one specific spotlight and said, “I’m simple - I like my life well, light. I don’t keep anything around that I’m not afraid to walk away from in 30 seconds.”

I actually couldn’t wrap my mind around it at that moment - he legitimately seemed like an alien. 30 seconds? Damn - I can’t even unhook my bra in that amount of time (sometimes, actually most of the time).

But I knew deep down that he was totally right. What in the heck was I doing with all the stuff I was collecting?

So the vintage camper, that has mold in the frame, a roof that I need to learn how to fix, and a water system I'm relying on youtube to rebuild is going to be the first step in moving to Liz Lite.

Below are a few answers to a some questions I’ve been getting regularly, so I’m just going to answer them here, because you probably have them too:

  • No, I’m not sure I’m going to live in it - I don’t think my doggo boys would like that. Especially since the German Shepherd I adopted a year ago is the size of Lil' Sebastian.
  • No, I have no idea what I’m doing besides ripping things out while blasting Kerosene by Miranda Lambert.
  • Yes, I’ve tried to drive with the camper unhitched.
  • No, I still can’t back the damn thing up.
  • Yes, it’s a blast.
  • Yes, my shirt in the picture says Busch Latte - which is very popular in the Midwest, it can be found on Amazon, you're welcome.

The camper re-do is a quest to remain light and nimble, while also learning some of the basics about how some things (like plumbing, electric and power tools) work.

It’s also a great way to learn to ask for help (something I’m not great at).

If you wanna follow along with my journey, while I learn to back the damn thing up (someday friends, someday) - you can find me @lizkrupka on instagram.

diy
1

About the Creator

Elizabeth Krupka

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.