Wander logo

How to Survive a Long Flight

10 tips that every traveler needs!

By Dani HendrixPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

I have never met anyone who actually enjoys long flights. I’m not talking about flights that last a few hours where you can read a good book or get some work done on your laptop. No. I’m talking about flights that last eight hours or more. I have lost count of how many times I’ve been on flights that last 6-9 hours, but my longest flight to date was a whopping 12 hours. For some, this is their worst nightmare, and I get it. You may feel trapped, your legs get sore, and you might start to feel a bit anxious. Without further ado, here are my ten tips for how to survive a long-haul flight.

1. Reserve a good seat

Where do you prefer to sit? On the aisle? Or by the window? Until recently, I would have said that the best seat for a long-haul flight was the window seat, but my answer has since then changed. Honestly, the best seat is whichever seat you prefer. If you like the window seat, it could be because it is easier to sleep near the window, or that you may feel less claustrophobic if you can look outside. If you prefer the aisle seat, it may be because you feel less trapped, or you want easy access to the bathroom. Whatever your reasons may be, check-in early so you can pick a seat that you will be most comfortable in. You will be there for a while.

2. Book with an airline you prefer

There are bad long-haul flights and good long-haul flights, and sometimes the airline can make a massive difference. Some airlines have tiny seats and little to no leg room while others give just enough leg room and food included in the price of your ticket. Good airlines don’t have to be expensive either, but finding the right airline for you may come with some research. Typically, airlines with seats over 17 inches or more in width are considered the most comfortable. I am a very food-driven person, so I would rather find a flight that includes a meal in the ticket price than a wider seat, but the idea of a "good airline" depends on what the traveler is most looking for.

3. Try to sleep

Sleeping on airplanes is borderline miserable, especially if you are a light sleeper like me. You can’t quite get comfortable enough or maybe you can’t drown out all the noise. Whenever I try to sleep on airplanes, I end up feeling more exhausted than if I had not slept at all. But it is worth it to try and sleep on long-haul flights, especially if it is overnight and/or if you arrive at your destination during the day. Bring a pillow or a jacket that you can ball up into a pillow. Bringing a sleeping mask or noise-canceling headphones are also great ways to help you forget that you are surrounded by 352 other people.

4. Make sure you have everything you need in your small personal item

Most airlines allow you to take a carry-on and small personal bag onto the plane. The small personal bag, like a backpack or purse, goes by your feet and can be easily accessed throughout the flight unlike a carry-on or checked bag. Make sure you put anything inside that will make your flight better. For instance, I always make sure to keep my headphones, chargers, water, and entertainment in my bag with me. If you aren’t bringing a small bag or backpack to keep at your feet, then take out anything you may need from your carry-on and keep your items stored in the pocket of the seat in front of you.

5. Bring your own snacks

Airline food isn’t great, but the high prices make it seem like it should be. Avoid the overpriced airline food by bringing your own snacks. Contrary to what some believe, you can bring food on international flights (for the most part) as long as the food meets the Transportation Security Administration guidelines. But if for some reason you can’t bring food from home, you can purchase snacks at the airport. The snacks at the airport won’t be any cheaper than on the airplane, but you will (hopefully) have a bigger selection to choose from.

6. Stay hydrated

I find it easiest to stay hydrated when I bring my own water bottle onto the airplane. If you are flying internationally, you will get served beverages, and I promise the kind airline staff won’t let you die of dehydration, but I bring my own just in case. You can’t bring a full water bottle through security, which most people are aware of, but you can bring an empty reusable bottle through security and fill it up at a nearby fountain before your flight. Airplanes are dry places, and extra hydration can go a long way.

7. Keep yourself entertained

What do you like doing in your downtime? Do you like to read? Or perhaps you would rather watch an exciting movie. Make sure you have some form of entertainment on the flight with you so you don’t go crazy with boredom. I usually bring a book and a tablet so that I can get some work done. If you have games on your phone, that can also be a great form of entertainment. But there are many more things you can do on an airplane to keep yourself entertaining like learning a language, studying for school, editing photos, writing a story, drawing, playing with a deck of cards, etc. If nothing else, most international airlines have onboard movies, and the flight staff will hand out free or cheap headphones if you forgot your own.

8. Dress comfortably

This is pretty obvious, but I feel like its still worth mentioning. Just think about what you would want to wear while sitting in for 10 hours in a cramped seat. My comfortable airplane go-to outfit is usually a pair of leggings and a long sleeve shirt or a hoodie or an outfit I plan out as I am packing. If I know I will be getting off the airplane and going straight to exploring, then I would opt for comfortable jeans instead of leggings. Remember that airplanes often get quite chilly, so if you aren’t wearing a jacket, it might be a good idea to bring one on the plane with you.

9. Charge your devices before you leave

Because the last thing you want is your only entertainment to die. One of the worst things that can happen on a long flight is not being able to use your entertainment or get your work done. Most (and I say this with caution) airplanes that fly internationally are equipped with outlets for you to plug in, but not all. If you have multiple devices, then it might be a good idea to invest in a portable charger, which is one of my must-have travel items for my camera and phone.

10. Relax

You probably don’t get the chance to sit down and do nothing for such a long period of time very often, so try to enjoy it. The happier, calmer and more relaxed you are, the better your long flight will feel and the faster it will go by. Bring a notebook or a sketch pad and enjoy the downtime, or do that one thing you feel like you never have time to do. Listen to music, meditate, or just enjoy the beautiful views outside your cabin window. Happy travels!

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Dani Hendrix

Born and raised in the Sonoran desert// I love to explore new places, write stories, and drink good coffee.

Support this broke traveler by reading posts! Every view counts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.