Wander logo

How Nature Can Heal your Soul

Close Your Eyes and Surrender to the Sound

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
How Nature Can Heal your Soul
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I don't know if you've ever felt this way, but sometimes I just need to escape the world for a little bit and get some peace.

It doesn't sound like that big of a deal, but it can be hard to find amid all the noise we live in every day.

That's why I start my daily routine with meditation when no one else is awake yet.

I often feel better than before even though nothing has really changed - except maybe my mental state!

So how do I do it?

Let me tell you about what helps me relax: natural sounds.

These sounds help me escape reality and travel to another place.

Somewhere I have been in the past or a destination I dream of going. The fun thing is that you don't need a ticket to go to these places.

All you have to do is just close your eyes. There is a beautiful world out there, waiting to be explored.

You don't even have to leave your house! All you need are some great natural sounds from the rainforest, jungle, or ocean, and you can feel as if you are somewhere over the rainbow.

When I feel stressed after a long day at work, all I do is turn on one of these relaxing YouTube videos.

I find that they help me relax, make my mind more clear for work the next day (or at least it feels like a break from all those hours on end), or just give myself some peace when things are getting too hectic around here!

It's like being in another place - without ever having to go anywhere!

The sound of rain will wash away your stress

The sound of rain is like a lullaby to me. It's soothing and calming, especially when I feel overwhelmed or stressed out from work (or life in general).

I love listening to the rain at night. I close my eyes and imagine that rain is falling on my roof - there is something about that sound which makes you feel like everything will be okay!

And if a storm comes through, it is welcome. I just let it take my stress and wash it away.

Rain is a natural sound that I never get tired of hearing!

The sound of ocean waves will calm you

The ocean waves are such a unique and calming sight to see, but the sound can be just as soothing for me.

They remind me of summer vacations and the beach, being carefree and relaxed. I can feel the sun's warmth on my body and smell the salt in my hair.

All it takes is just to close my eyes, and I feel like I have traveled to an island paradise.

You can try it, and I promise you it will feel real! Your imagination is a powerful tool, and it can take you to places that are impossible to go - at least for now - in real life.

I love the sound of ocean waves because it reminds me how small I am and makes my problems seem so much smaller, too!

It's a great way to remind myself to not worry about things when there is nothing I can do. I just surrender to the sound of the waves and feel as one with nature.

The sound of fire will warm your heart

Fire is another sound that I love because it reminds me of home.

I'm not sure why, but the crackling and popping sounds just make my heart feel warm!

It's a great way to stay cozy on those cold winter nights when you're all snuggled up in your bed with some hot chocolate or tea.

The sound of fire reminds me of times being with friends somewhere in the countryside, sitting around a fire, telling stories, and laughing.

It just makes me feel safe and loved. I imagine stress as an iceberg melting away from the warmth of the fire.

The cracking sounds are so soothing and calming. They feel like a lullaby for adults!

By Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

These are the go-to sounds that I use almost daily to help me relax and feel at peace.

I hope you find them helpful for your relaxation journey too!

nature
3

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.