Wander logo

My Chance Encounter With Horses On A Road Trip In Andorra

The biggest surprise in one of the smallest countries of Europe

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Mama and baby

It's been almost ten years ago since I visited Andorra. My ex-boyfriend and I went on a road trip for a month for our summer vacations.

We started our journey from Greece, and traveled through Italy, France and visited Andorra.

Andorra is a small country in the middle of Europe that borders France and Spain. It's a really tiny country, about 261 times smaller than New York.

Andorra is tucked away in the Pyrenees Mountains. It's not very well known, but it has some beautiful scenery!

The Andorran landscape offers breathtaking views, with snow-capped mountains and green valleys.

Born to be wild

It was my first time traveling so far with a motorcycle. Whoa! It was a totally different experience than traveling by car. You can see the world from a whole different perspective.

You can feel the road, every twist and turn. It's like a meditation; you can lose yourself in the changing scenery and feel free. If you never tried it, please do. It will be a wonderful experience.

We traveled through heavy rain, wind, heat, night, cold... You name it. Initially, I thought it would be totally uncomfortable, but I was absolutely wrong.

I loved it.

Need for speed

I was taking pictures on the motorcycle to keep memories of all the places we visited.

I love to go back to them, scroll through them, and remember all the beautiful places we visited. I kept my camera at hand at all times, and this is why I got to capture these photos.

After visiting South France, we decided to spend few days in Andorra.

Andorra la Vella is the highest capital city in Europe, at 1,023 meters (3,356 feet) above sea level.

At one point, as we drove up the mountain to reach Andorra, we entered a fog. It was as if we were in a cloud.

On the road to Androrra

I recommend visiting there if you have never been before! :)

As we drove through Andorra, we came across horses on the road. I was caught by surprise, I didn't expect it.

I quickly reached for my camera and took some shots. They were standing in the middle of the road.

Amazing moment

It was so amazing seeing them moving freely.

But at the time, I had an intense fear of a car hitting them. However, they weren't afraid of the vehicles. It felt like they were telling me to be present.

I love horses so much. There is something magical about them. But I didn't expect to bump into them on the road.

Watch out!

Whether you like riding them, feeding them, or brushing their manes, horses are a joy to spend time with.

My favorite thing about horses is that they always make me feel better when I'm feeling down!

They have a calmness that I can't describe with words.

Horses are one of the most beautiful animals on Earth. They're graceful and elegant creatures that have been around for a long time.

There's something about their wild spirit that I find really cool. I love the way horses move. They're so fluid, with such a natural rhythm to them that is really beautiful and serene!

Horses everywhere

I have always been drawn to horses. I'm not sure why, but they are so beautiful and graceful. They represent freedom and adventure in a way that no other animal can.

Even now, when I see one out in nature, I get this feeling of excitement just to be near these fantastic creatures.

Horses are genuinely incredible animals and deserve our respect, love, and admiration for their ability to connect with us on such an emotional level.

On the road

It was such a beautiful experience to bump into them on the road. An unexpected surprise I will keep in my memories forever.

“There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man.”

Sir Winston Churchill

europe
3

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.