Wander logo

How I Travel Whilst Living on a University Budget

A Practical Guide for Students with Wunderlust

By Erin TrenchardPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like
Enjoying the view of Jedburgh Abbey in the Scottish borders

Leaving for university feels like the ultimate freedom. Leaving your parents home to explore a new place, living in your own space, loads of free time between lectures, and a lovely student loan. You want to see and experience everything. You think that travelling will be easy but before you know it, you're working to endless deadlines and spending all your free time in the library. On top of that, your loan only just covers a night at the SU and some 15p noodles for dinner whilst scrolling longingly though travel bloggers Instagram wondering "just how do they do it?"

If this sounds like you, then read on for simple guide on how to manage your travels whilst at university...

Fist step is to budget! - To be able to travel, you need money.

Sometimes this means sacrificing your beloved weekly takeaway for a homemade version or asking yourself "Do I really need that ASOS order?" Evaluate your spending habits and see where you can cut out any unessential spending and make your student loan go further.

Another thing which really helped me save money at university is to have a separate savings account with my bank. I made sure that this account was only accessible either through my bank or via online banking so that I was less likely to drain the account.

As well as this, I set up a small direct debit from my spending account to this savings account of £9.50 each fortnight. That's the price of a split takeaway, a very bad outfit from Primark, or entry to the SU and a drink; almost a negligible amount but this added up to a lovely £247 extra each year!

Another great idea is to take up a part time job—if you haven't already! Working in a shop/behind a bar/at your university can be quite rewarding and is also a great way to meet people who may just help you out with your travel plans. Whilst working for Boots as a cashier, I've been given some great travel tips by customers and colleagues. I used my pay from working here to fund short trips to Europe, and a bigger upcoming trip to USA and Peru.

Okay, now I have money but I just don't have the time...

Finding the time to travel is tricky at best, but when you're juggling uni, coursework deadlines, work, and a social life it's even harder. But, with some careful planning, you will be able to make time for travels.

Figure out your key term dates as soon as you arrive at university and plan around them. Each year on my first day, I'd sit down and figure out term times, deadlines, and my essential and non-essential lectures. I'd often add sections to my weekly timetables stating when I'd be doing reading or coursework during the week in order to get the work out of the way. Staying on top of these dates allows you to free up some time. For example, you have a deadline a week after "reading week"... why not complete the work early if possible and thereby free up your reading week for some travelling?

Ask for a zero hour contract at work if you can. This way you can choose when you accept work but also allows you enough freedom to take long time off work to go travel. If not then plan your "holiday allowance" strategically. Try and book off small blocks around gaps in your university schedule to make the most of the time.

If you've used up all your holiday already (on those hangovers from your mates birthday pre's that were totally worth it) that's okay! You can try fitting in shorter breaks around work. Caffeine, concealer, and a few Berroccas can work wonders.

Before, I've left for a road trip to Scotland on the way home from work at Boots. I made the most of my time by using my free evening to drive half-way before returning from that trip on the Friday evening. I've also spent a mini break in Paris before returning to finish a lab report the next day. It's all about using your time wisely!

But flying is so costly anyway! Right? - Wrong!!

There are so many ways to travel on a budget!

First of all, who said that travelling has to be flying? One of my favourite things to do is road-trips with family or friends. Last year, me and two of my close friends all bundled into my tiny Peugeot 106 to drive 4 hours up north to Scarborough, Yorkshire. We camped on a clifftop, had a barbecue on the beach, enjoyed the local night life, watched Love Island in a youth centre (we had to stay caught up on the goss!), experienced a local water park, and had an amazing time exploring the coast. This brilliant trip cost us less than £100 each!

And for those of you who want to fly, there are websites around that can find very good prices for flights. My favourite website is Skyskanner because you can set the location to "everywhere" if you are feeling particularly adventurous. With 1-2 months notice, you can find flights to places like Sweden and Germany for just £13! (I know, I'm shook!).

Another tip is to browse sites in private mode and not to stalk the airline sites too much as the sites use cookies and this may increase your quoted price of flights! I borrowed a friend's laptop after browsing flights to Peru a little too much and managed to save £150 on the ticket instantly! Also, don't be afraid of long-ish layovers or unsociable flying hours! Pack something to keep you entertained, nap in the terminal or drink a triple espresso coffee, it will be worth it for the money you can save for your subsequent travels, I promise!

Hotel Too Expensive?

Consider staying at a hostel. Yes, you may be rooming with strangers if you are going alone or in a small group, however, it's never as bad as you think! And the price isn't worth arguing with. Whilst visiting Prague with some university friends (although not strictly a hostel!) I roomed with a girl that I didn't know prior to the trip, and actually really enjoyed sharing with her.

Or how about camping? Gather up some friends and and a tent and this is actually a really cute squad trip idea!

Maybe try Airbnb, there are some really lovely rooms in the centre of Paris for just £20 a night. You can check the host's reviews, and often top hosts will appear recommended on your search.

Some Other Little Tips!

Wowcher is great. I've booked 3 trips with them before and it's almost hassle free! They have some great deals, especially off season. I've been to Paris in January for a long weekend for only £90. The hotel was lovely and pretty central too! I also booked a holiday to Berlin and then onto Budapest, including tours one July for only £180. And again, the hotels were comfy and in great locations!

Go travel with your university and societies! Usually societies have a budget so will offer travels for a good price, and will travel at a time when uni isn't too intense. You'd be going with a group of people so instant travel buddies, win!

Try a package holiday. I went to Rome for very little money the summer before uni, on a package deal from Thomas cook. And last month I visited Costa Brava for only £200 including two half board, a hotel with a pool and transfers. We took the breakfast food to use for lunch in both of these holidays to be extra thrifty. 😉

Visit a friend. Hopefully, if your friends like you enough, they'll put you up in their home and all you'll have to pay for is getting there! This summer, I've visited some friends in the Scottish borders. As they lived there, they were able to give some great advice on what to see, and when. And of course, do return the favour!

So now you know how, go travel! It's definitely do-able to travel whilst at university!

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Erin Trenchard

Psychology Grad with a passion for learning new things✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.