Wander logo

How I Learn Spanish

Adventures

By Frank RichardsonPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

While packing to leave for Buenos Aires, Argentina, I was thinking of all the places I would visit and not be able to talk with the local people, order meals, or ask for directions, because I did not know a single word of Spanish. With a quick trip to my neighborhood bookstore, I found the last Spanish phrasebook on the shelf, and quickly purchased the book for reading on the plane.

After arriving in Buenos Aires and finding a taxi at the airport, I proceeded to give the taxi driver a piece of paper with the address of my hotel. I started feeling awkward when the driver began conversing in Spanish, and I could not reply. After a while, he understood that I did not speak the language, as I was frantically thumbing through the phrasebook, looking for right words to reply with.

At the hotel, I was able to pay the taxi driver the exact amount on the meter, and to quickly add in a small tip. Upon exiting the taxi, I managed to find gracias ["thank you" in Spanish] in the phrase book to thank the driver. I even detected a bit of a smile as he drove away.

Settling into my room, I started thinking that then would be a great time to go exploring. I proceeded to wander the streets, looking for the ideal restaurant to try my new language. Upon entering the restaurant, I was shown to a table in the corner, and presented with a menu in Spanish. Hesitantly, I opened the menu, looking at the entrees to see if there was anything that looked familiar. I was on the verge of panic, realizing the phrasebook was still in my hotel room.

When the meal arrived, I was very surprised that I did so well. However, what I received was not what I had expected. Throughout the meal, I scanned the menu the waiter had left on the table. Beginning with the entree I ordered, I started making notes of the items on my plate and words in the menu, so next time I could order something different. Over the next few weeks, dinner was becoming more adventurous. I was asking for the menu, saying thank you, and requesting the check in Spanish, along with wishing the waiter a good night upon leaving the restaurant.

Breakfast turned out to be daring; along with a coffee and pastry, I started asking for a local newspaper. Though my Spanish was not good enough to read the newspaper, with the pictures and captions below, I was able to piece together what was taking place in the article. If I had a few spare minutes, I would skim the local news, business, and cartoons, looking for new words to use. By the end of my trip, I was comfortable ordering meals, asking directions, along with using a few pleasantries. I thought I was well on the way to using Spanish, and planned to continue using my new language when I returned home.

south america
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.