Wander logo

HIGH UP, BIG BEN

The Elizabeth Tower

By Tabby LondonPublished 27 days ago 6 min read
1
The Elizabeth Tower

I'm getting good at refreshing the online button for hard-to-secure tickets for special events 😆. Big Ben was no exception. I remember the last time I 'queued up' online was for The Garden Picnic at Buckingham Palace. Thankfully, the wait wasn't so long for my tickets for Big Ben, which were booked two months in advance.

View From The Cafe

I heard it was hard to secure tickets. It was for the 90-minute guided tour. People in Australia and New Zealand wake up around 2 am to book tickets to Big Ben. I can see why they would because it's a life-remembering experience.

Big Kid Moment

I have to say, I'm like a big kid every time I get to go to Westminster. If you've been following my posts/blogs recently, you know how much I enjoy going into Westminster Palace😆.

Once through the Cromwell Road main entrance, airport-style security awaited. I'm getting the hang of going through the airport-style security and not being intimidated by the gun-wielding police officers.

Cromwell Road Entrance

Once through, I headed towards the great Westminster Hall and was greeted by a staff member. As we had some extra time, a trip to the cafe was a great way to psyche ourselves up for the 334-plus-step climb to the Bell.

Westminster Hall

Snoopy Was Banned 🥵

I wish I could have taken Snoopy up Big Ben Tower, but sadly, due to security, health, and safety reasons, I had to leave Snoopy in the locker room inside the Great Westminster Hall.

It was probably just as well as I couldn't take Snoopy up because I savoured every moment, especially the sheer magnitude of the Tower. The views from 62 metres over London were breathtaking. I saw right across London - from Buckingham Palace on one side to The City, Canary Wharf and Greenwich on the other.

Thankfully, the weather was pleasant and dry, albeit cold. I recommend wearing appropriate clothes for the climb up, especially during autumn and winter. It's cold up near the Big Bell.

Our guide for the event explained what we were going to experience. He said whoever books the 11 am tour is usually the smartest (ego boost) because one gets to hear 12 bongs. I had no idea about this. I only booked the 11 am slot because I didn't fancy traipsing to Westminster early.

We were told we would go up the Tower in three stages. Each stage had a much-needed seating area and a small exhibition.

The Climb Up

We went across the courtyard through another security gate, through a humble side door, which would take us up the spiral staircase. Another member of staff greeted us, and we made the ascent.

The door is so unassuming that you could literally walk past it and not even know this was the entrance to the iconic Tower. One warning: don't look up because it will feel overwhelming.

The Design

We stopped at the first stage and learned more about the initial design of the Tower. Big Ben was completed in 1859 and has been an integral part of the London skyline ever since. It was designed by architect Augustus Pugin and engineer Sir Charles Barry after the old Palace of Westminster was destroyed by fire in 1834.

Second Stage - The Bell Exhibition

The actual Big Ben is the large Bell inside the Tower, which weighs over 13 tons (13,760 kg). The Whitechapel Bell Foundry cast it, and its distinctive sound has become synonymous with London. Thankfully, we were given earplugs as we reached the third level in time for the noon Bell chiming.

Third Stage

The Machine room was awe-inspiring, and the engineering behind the machinery was awe-inspiring.

Big Ben's clock mechanism is renowned for its accuracy and reliability. Weights power it, and the pendulum swings once every two seconds. The clock faces are illuminated at night.

Big Ben has a distinctive chime that marks the hours. The chime sequence is known as the Westminster Quarters and consists of four notes followed by a striking of the hour on the large Bell.

The Tower

Did you know Big Ben isn't the official name? It got this nickname from Parliament. Big Ben is often mistakenly referred to as the clock tower itself. However, it's the nickname for the Great Bell of the Clock at the north end of the Palace of Westminster. The Tower housing the clock is officially known as the Elizabeth Tower.

Getting Ready For The 12 O Clock Chimes

As the anticipation increased, we finally went up to the Bell above the clock face. The Bell is housed outside in its own 'cage'. As we huddled around the Bell, with seconds to spare, we were treated to the 12 bell rings. They were loud, and the noise reverberated around the steel structures.

I felt incredibly humbled as we glanced around and took in the atmosphere, the location, the sound, and the views. Seeing the inner workings of such a marvellous engineering success was a real privilege, which led to Big Ben becoming a global Icon.

The Clock Face

We then went down to the clock face and stood near the number six. As we walked around the four clock faces, we learned we were standing on a ledge connected to the Tower. We were standing outside the Tower.

Each of the four clock faces on the Elizabeth Tower is impressively large, with a diameter of about 23 feet (7 meters). This makes them highly visible from a distance, contributing to the Tower's distinctive appearance on the London skyline.

The clock face design is simple yet elegant, featuring black Roman numerals set against a white background. The hour and minute hands are made of black metal and are proportionally sized to fit the scale of the clock face.

In addition to the Roman numerals denoting the hours, the clock face includes minute markers in small black lines or dots. These markers help people quickly read the time to the nearest minute.

The clock face is illuminated at night, allowing the time to be easily read after dark. Gas lamps provided the original illumination, but the system has been updated over the years, and energy-efficient LED lights now illuminate the clock faces.

Did you know…

Instead of the traditional "IV" for 4, Big Ben's clock face uses "IIII." This is a standard convention in clock design and can be found on many traditional clocks and watches.

The rest of the numerals follow the standard Roman numeral conventions, with "I" representing 1, "V" representing 5, "X" representing 10, and so on.

Parting Comments

In one of my recent Instagram posts, I wrote that a dream came true for this Londoner. Well, it was fulfilled as I went up the Elizabeth Tower to see Big Ben.

I paid £25 each for my tickets, but if you're a U.K. National, you could ask your MP (Member of Parliament) for tickets. They're like gold dust, but you never know. I had no hope of getting my MP to give me tickets. I'm still waiting for her to reply about my Westminster Palace tickets.

If you are coming to London and know your travel itinerary, add this to your list of things to do. If you check the following website, you'll know what's available and when.

I was still on Cloud 9 after my visit, and I hope you can experience it, too. I recommend this one.

Thank you for your attention

Tabby

culture
1

About the Creator

Tabby London

The London I've been discovering is usually off the well-beaten track.I love the nooks and crannies and walking along the streets steeped in centuries worth of history. I'm fond of Zone 1 because that's where it all began centuries ago.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.