Wander logo

Going to Charlotte, NC to revive a YouTube channel

A journey and images for a YouTube channel

By NatureTreePublished 25 days ago 3 min read
Like
Picture of Dunhill Hotel from Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, NC

People will travel to different locations around the planet - across the entire planet Earth - for a variety of other interesting reasons. Some people travel because they have a job or some temporary work arrangement which means they have to be on the move to stay employed. Others will go to other places for the thrill of seeing exotic locations and people. Others still might move because some kind of condition or disaster has given them no other choice but to move from their previous place to live in order to go somewhere else. There are plenty of reasons to go to different locations and wander.

My reason is a very unique one. I went on a journey to a county in the state of North Carolina for one reason - to come up with ideas to help revive a YouTube channel of mine that had been dead for over a year due to being taken down by YouTube for no reason! All of that probably sounds really weird and makes no sense to someone without any kind of context, so let me add some information to this story to make everything related to this journey make a bit more sense.

So, I used to have a YouTube channel that was given to me by a friend that was fully monetized and allowed me to easily start being a YouTuber without having to go through all of the grinding for subs and watch hours that other people on the platform normally have to do. I was so excited to have my new YouTube channel and started posting some short videos and updates on how the channel had a new owner to get started with this brand new stage of my life. Everything appeared to be going well, but then the unexpected happened...

In late 2022, YouTube took down my YouTube channel and claimed that it was taken due to 'suspicious activity' and so, it seemed like any dreams of doing something interesting on YouTube were pretty much dead from there. Then, without any kind of warning, I was given this channel back earlier last month, April 2024, without any sort of warning. I was able to easily reapply for monetization and I was shocked that this channel ever came back! This whole BS problem caused by YouTube meant that the channel still had over one thousand subs and the needed watch hours but there was a problem: the channel was essentially dead and there was no longer an audience actively watching this channel or knowing that this channel was still around...

But, I was not going to let this stop me from going back to making videos and being a small-time YouTuber. I took the channel and rebranded it to a channel called Tomobitz with the tag @Tomodrones. Then, I went to the city of Charlotte, NC to start working to get some ideas. I spent time at the Dunhill Hotel - a historic hotel that was enjoyable to spend some time in while I worked to come up with ideas and the hotel you can see as the main picture for this article.

While watching TV in the hotel, I saw some old shows from adult swim, which allowed me to see some old bumpers that appeared in commercials that were very fun and creative. That gave me a fun idea that other people already had, but I decided to put some degree of a fun twist on - why not have some short meme 'bumpers' depicting something every day with the same music and tone as an adult swim bumper?

Ultimately, I went with this idea and ended up creating some shorts that have been successful so far!

activities
Like

About the Creator

NatureTree

  1. A guy who writes stuff for fun that can end up in writing or a YouTube video.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake25 days ago

    Congratulations on winning the challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.