Wander logo

Frugal Fun Galore on the Northern Shore - Part 2

My. Super, Spectacular Staycation!

By Susan Eileen Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Frugal Fun Galore on the Northern Shore - Part 2
Photo by Oz Seyrek on Unsplash

This has been the best year of my life hands down. I'm out on the dating scene and I've been enjoying myself immensely. I decided to get on TikTok to promote my upcoming book about breaking the chains to alcohol addiction. The response has been overwhelming. I'm sober, not boring.

I'm staycationing in my hometown of Cleveland this summer. If you haven't had a chance, please check out the first article in this series called Frugal, Fun Galore on the Northern Shore. In the first article, I talked about the SuperElectric Pinball Parlor, Swings and Things and the Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame. In this article, I'm going to tell you about Playhouse Square, the Emerald Necklace, and Netflix and Chill Dates.

Cleveland Metroparks' Emerald Necklace Trail connects Scenic Park at the north end of the Rocky River, east to Brecksville Reservation and south to the Towpath Trail in Peninsula. Bicyclists, pedestrians, and many pets too can explore 33 consecutive miles of connected paved off-road, shared trails before reaching the regional Towpath Trail with many neighborhood connections in between. The trail is part of Cleveland Metroparks' extensive trail network of over 300 miles of trails across 18 park reservations spanning over 24,000 acres.

There is more to life than drinking, and I have discovered a whole new world in the MetroParks. You can bike, hike, picnic, and rock climb in the park on a date, or with friends and family. There are nearby restaurants, ice cream shops, and shopping. Besides the scenery and companionship on a picnic, just about everyone can use some exercise. I figured out a long time ago, when my body doesn't feel good, my mind doesn't feel good. It improves your mental health in more ways than one. The Japanese call it forestbathing. It allows your mind to eliminate stress by getting away from screens.

I've also been to Playhouse Square to see the play Ain't Too Proud, a play about the Temptations. Playhouse Square is a theater district in downtown Cleveland, Ohio, United States. It is the largest performing arts center in the United States outside of New York City. Constructed in a span of 19 months in the early 1920s, the theaters were subsequently closed down, but were revived through a grassroots effort. Their renovation and reopening helped usher in a new era of downtown revitalization in Cleveland, and was called one of the top ten successes in Cleveland history.

Ain't Too Proud is a musical about the life and times of the Temptations. I've always loved getting dressed up for a night on the town. Unfortunately, the cost of this night out was quite expensive - it's the least affordable option of this past summer, but it was well worth the cost. I also attended the Black Violin concert. It is paradoxically a hip-hop group with orchestra type instruments. The events in Playhouse Square are a step up to the usual date night. Dinner dates have become disappointing during this employee work crisis, and event dates are unforgettable.

My current boyfriend and I even enjoy Netflix and Chill Dates. We recently binged Mystery Science Theater 3000. If you are unaware of this show, it takes "B" movies and turns them into a comedic paradise. I love the Netlflix and Chill Dates because adulting is difficult and often overrated. My boyfriend calls these days, "none-days." We getting nothing done but getting ourselves recharged. These types of days are essential to adulting successfully.

When you can't afford a typical vacation, staycationing is a great alternative. Staycationing is visiting your own home town the way a tourist would! It's great for friendships, date nights and families. I highly recommend you staycation in your hometown during hard economic times. I'm at a place in my life where I would rather spend money on memories than material objects. You should consider this too!

activitiesamericabudget travelculturefamily travelfemale travelcouples travel
Like

About the Creator

Susan Eileen

I am an aspiring writer currently writing a book on the Sober Revolution we are in the midst of, a book about essays that will change the way you think, and a novel about a serial killer. I am also working on a book of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.