Wander logo

First Time Going to Beach

Stinson Beach Adventure

By Cassidy HandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Hey guys I decided that I wanted to share my first beach trip with you guys. I mean I've been to Tahoe, but I don't really count that as a beach. Now going to the beach right by the ocean, is just about the most amazing day in my life. It's true when they say the ocean is very calming.

Last week one of my friends invited me to join him into going to this church group activity, so I decided why not. Okay so this is kind of embarrassing to admit but I don't drive on the freeway, most of the time when people hear about this then I don't get invited to go. When he found out he was very kind, and let me know that it doesn't bother him, that he is happy to drive both ways. We made the plans to go just him and me, so that we could get to know each other more. Honestly, I was really happy about that since I get really bad anxiety around people that I don't really know. I've never been on a long drive with anyone other than my family, so I was already experiencing some nerves. My mother told me that I should go and start living my life, having these life experiences that leave you happy and content

On Saturday, which was beach day, I woke up at 4am to start getting ready since we were meeting at 6am. I was so excited that I couldn't sleep a wink. Trying to figure out what to wear knowing that it'll get dirty from the sand but was also going to be a lot cooler then where I live. I decided on wearing a pair of my leggings, with a cute tank/shirt. I had put my hair into a ponytail which ended up being a bun when it got too windy. He picked me up, we stopped to pick up some Starbucks for breakfast because it was going to be a long drive (about 4 hours not including stops for the bathroom). Honestly, he was very adorable when driving, and such a good driver. I was very impressed about the whole trip, getting to spend the time with him and watching how he acts when spending 16 hours with me. I can be a lot to handle, I can be very sensitive, full of energy, I'll admit I can be pretty annoying.

The drive was so beautiful and full of big green trees once we reached road to the beach. Driving along the coast is honestly very amazing. Though the switchbacks and not having a lot of visibility due to the fog and mountain blocking the road. With going around the curves not knowing what was around the corner he did perfect. After that we had finally reached the beach, I was expecting it to be that busy, but it was full. Seeing the ocean for the first time was just magical, the waves and sounds of the water. I fell in love right away. My heart was so full for the first time in years, after the past couple of months dealing with trying to heal from the passing of my father, I finally felt that a piece of myself clicked back together.

The church provided a free meal for everyone that was a part of the event. Which was awesome because by that time I was starving. I ate a hot dog with some watermelon. There were games like volleyball, and spike ball, I think that since no one was really speaking to us that we decided to just do our own thing. We walked along the shore, I wished I had brought along my swimsuit so that I could fully get into the water, but I did get in to about my knees, just letting the water run over my feet for hours. I honestly just felt at peace there, didn't really want to leave at all. That probably a must-see place if you haven't been. Thank you for reading my story!!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cassidy Hand

Hey! I’m new to writing. Just going to try and write what comes to my mind! Hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    WOW! Very amazing work!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.