Wander logo

European Girl at Heart

I am all about discovering your true authentic self.

By Kelley Misetich Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
European Girl at Heart
Photo by Morgan on Unsplash

As I mentioned in my last post, I feel as if a part of me is an older soul trapped in this young woman's body who had a past life in Europe. It feels so surreal to me but yet I am having trouble finding the words.

My love for Europe started when I was very little. I am half Croatian and after having discovered that, I instantly wanted to know everything there was to know about the culture and discovering that Croatia was in Europe made me want to dive deeper into knowing where my family came from.

Komiza

I went to Croatia when I was 15 years old and after discovering the beautiful island of Komiza where my great-grandparents came from, I knew that one day I would reside somewhere in Europe. I had an inkling that I would raise my children here. They would be frockling in the ocean, running along the countryside, and walking side by side conversing in their cute little accents. I started dreaming of this when I was 15 and now at 29, it has always been in the back of my head.

After visiting Croatia, I got to explore another beautiful part of Europe in Budapest, Hungary. I have family living over there as well and of course the walking of the streets made me realize how much more I love walking instead of driving. Now don't get me wrong driving is very important but there is something about walking and exploring and seeing all the different landscapes of architecture in Europe. I also got the feeling that I was in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory-in the part where Charlie lived.

I think seeing the old buildings reminded me of a time in the past when things in life were simple. The colors were vibrant and they still had the cracks in them from the war. It was as if the buildings were telling the tourists a story without actually telling the story. That is what I love about the Europe the most- the history that it represents.

Budapest Hungary

Now granted I have so many more beautiful parts of Europe to explore but I do see myself being here and living here within the next ten years. I would love to live/work in London. A friend of mine is trying it within a year and I am actually visiting for the first time next year, I cannot wait to explore this captivating, exciting, serene, historical place.

Paris is another love of mine and for that I would need a whole other blog to talk about it on. I am also visiting Paris next year and honestly cannot wait to hear and see about why it is called the City of Love. One of my favorite shows right now is this series called Emily in Paris. Now I can honestly say that yes, I am Emily (minus the sleeping with my friend's boyfriend) part. If you see Paris, it is hard to see it as something like an amusement park but that's not how I would describe it. Paris is a city that is exciting, enchanting, magical, full of hope, love. It's how the world should be and so much more.

As you can see the European side of mine is anxious to explore more of this side to her and discover more about who she is and who she wants to become. I have always had this dream of something living in Europe and I hope to one day within the next decade make that dream a reality.

Have a beautiful weekend everyone!

europe
Like

About the Creator

Kelley Misetich

LA Lady but my heart belongs somewhere in the magical land of Europe. How do you become the person you think you, but believe you were meant for something greater? Finding myself has been an enticing journey and one that is just beginning.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.