Wander logo

Edinburgh and its Wonders

Why Edinburgh should be on your Bucket List?

By Catarina AntunesPublished 7 years ago 4 min read

Personally, I was never that into art. Whether it was architecture or sculpture, I was never really a huge fan and it was never the reason why I wanted to travel to a certain place, at least I never saw it that way.

Well, that changed in the minute when I was offered a three months internship here in Edinburgh. Obviously, I needed to do my own research before engaging in this experience. I always wanted to come to Scotland, but mainly because of its amazing mountain views, the more picturesque and country side of it. All those mountains and amazing green fields were basically everything of beautiful I thought Scotland had to offer. Of course, I had an idea of some small more industrial cities, but I never thought they would be that wonderful.

And then, it came the day that I would move in to Edinburgh. Do you know that feeling when you have such high expectations, regarding a place you want to visit, and then you finally go there and you become the most disappointed person ever? Yes, everyone was saying I would be that person. But guess what? I wasn’t. Edinburgh amazed me even more once the plane landed and I started exploring the city on my own…

I started exploring the city centre and I fell in love with it. The house I stayed on for a few weeks was a little far away from the centre and, honestly, of any interesting thing. Once I left the bus at the Royal Mile, all the beauty, the architecture of the buildings, the busyness, the sound of the bagpipes and the overall magic just were absorbed into me and I honestly felt the freest I’ve ever felt.

At the end of the Royal Mile you can visit the amazing Holyrood Palace, which is the place where Queen Elizabeth stays whenever she comes to Edinburgh, at least it is what they say. Seeing it from the outside just puts you in the place of a Disney character about to enter her magnificent palace.

Holyrood Palace

And once you get outside of the palace, you can see an outstanding modern building, the Scottish Parliament. Not my type of architecture, but still an imponent building. And if you look left, you can see the most amazing mountain I have ever set a foot on. Arthur’s Seat. It is a long way up, it took me an hour, always going up, in a quite steep floor. But god damn, it was so worth it. I had the luck to go there in a really amazing sunny, blue sky day, and once I got to the top I could see all Edinburgh. From the castle, to Newtown, and at the very end the sea. It was just breathtaking.

Then I went up the Royal Mile, passing through amazing buildings with a very typical Harry Potter-style architecture, and at the very top there was the magnificent Edinburgh Castle, once again, with an outstanding view above the city.

Arthur's Seat and Edinburgh Castle view

Obviously, I didn’t explore all the city in one day. As time passed by, I got to go to the most emblematic places, but also those secret places only the local people know.

Portobello Beach isn’t usually an awesomely visited place, but I went there anyway. Once again, I waited for a sunny day and I went there to see the sunset. Obviously, it was cold as hell, as it always is here, but it was a beautiful landscape. Near the beach, there are tons of cafes and little stores that you can visit and, just like me, get lost in that amazing environment.

Portobello Beach

Princess Street and its gardens, Victoria’s Street, Calton Hill, Mary King’s Close, Scotland’s National Museum and the library, Greyfriars Kirkyard are amazing iconic places you need to visit. Not forgetting the free visits and walks (Harry Potter-related, scary walks or just regular ones), every single one of them full of history. But now, speaking as the foodie I am, I need to tell you some of my favourite places.

Princess Street Gardens and The Edinburgh Castle

The Royal Mile

What Edinburgh isn’t lacking in is definitely the variety of food you can get. Mexican, Indian, Japanese, Chinese, Thai and obviously typically Scottish Restaurants. I got to try quite a few of them, but I can’t tell you all of them, otherwise I would be here writing at least 50 pages and I think nobody would actually read the post until the very end.

I absolutely adore Thai food, so for me Ting Thai Caravan is one of the places you must attend and have a meal on or take away. The variety is enormous and the flavours and smells you get are unbelievably beautiful. The atmosphere is amazing, big tables with lots of sits, a simple and community space with extremely nice staff. A must see!

And if you are like me and you don’t say no to brunch, there is one place you must see! Hula Juice and Bar. It great for everybody with a huge amount of vegan offers! I went there a few times and I loved it. The environment is so comfortable and simple, it just invites you in. The hot drinks are outstanding and the variety of juices, snacks, and cakes to eat in or take away is amazing.

Maca Nana Bowl at Hulla's Juice and Bar

My first time there I had an amazing breakfast bowl, Maca Nana Bowl, which is in the picture above. It was an amazing combination of a vanilla, maca and banana smoothie, topped with blueberries, peanut butter, and all the good stuff. Also, I had a matcha latte that was to die for! Every single day they make for lunch rainbow bowls regarding the fresh veggies they get in the morning of the day, as well as different soups every single day. Overall, an amazing place to eat every meal of the day.

In case you want to explore yourself, I advise you to go to the Grassmarket, a little square surrounded with restaurants and cafes for food lovers like me.

The Grassmarket

To sum up, I am leaving tomorrow and these few months here in Edinburgh were just unbelievable. Definitely coming back to explore even more. From the architecture of every single building, to the history, food, and, last, but not by all means least, its Harry Potter magic, Edinburgh captivated me like no city had done before.

A city to be on everyone’s Bucket List.

europe

About the Creator

Catarina Antunes

Ordinary Portuguese young woman. 20 years of age, living life as it goes by. A little troubled but currently happy as hell

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Catarina AntunesWritten by Catarina Antunes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.