Wander logo

Dublin​

Falling Back in Love With Ireland...

By Emma CPublished 6 years ago 2 min read

If there is one place in the world I could stay every weekend, it would be Dublin: the people, the atmosphere and the pure beauty of city makes it appealing to all. The city that is vibrant but as intimate as a village speaks through the range of sights to see, the raging social scene, and nature. It shows the adventure within.

My favourite places in Dublin are:

The Guinness storehouse. Guinness is my drink, my go to, and nothing compares to getting it in its birthplace. The storehouse is an epic show of the history of Guinness. One word to explain is authentic. You get the most of your money with the tasting rooms as well as the sky bar. Learn how to pour the perfect pint and drink in the gravity bar, although the tour could be longwinded for those under the age 18.

"When life looks black as the hour of the night, A pint of plain is your only man" - Irish writer Flann O'Brien toasting Guinness

Dublin Castle is more of a university campus than a castle. It has extremely stunning views and the tours are amazing. Don't forget to check out sword round tower, the home of the first bishop of Dublin!

Temple bar is a fun little pub which has grown to become a popular scene in Dublin. It has to be one of my favourite place to go. The live music made my holiday personally and has the best atmosphere from mid-afternoon. Every time I have been it's been filled with nothing but happy people.

Pride in Dublin... is utterly amazing. I have only ever been to Pride in Ireland so I am biased but it is an experience!! The first time I went I was about 8 with my grandparents and we sat in the tavern and all I heard was music and colours and was drawn to this. My grandad was a prude and didn't like fun to say the least... but the queens that were there were fabulous! If you haven't been to the Pride, I would go for it.

Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin where 1.5 million people have been buried since 1832, including famous patriots, poets, writers, and musicians. Have a guided tour with tales of the revolutionary leader Micheal Collins and stories of author Brendan Behan and O'Connell the liberator. I would recommend swords round tower, which was constructed in the 12th century which housed the first bishop of Dublin.

I know the feel seems to be on alcohol, but the Irish Whiskey Museum seems to be a new attraction for visitors. It looks at the story of whiskey from its rise of glory to its fall, and the tour ends with a nice little taster. I haven't been yet but my dad has and by the sound of it it's worth the 17 euros for it and couldn't rate the whiskey, considering he left with two bottles of it from the gift shops.

My heart is full love and laughter every time I have come home and leaves me craving more and personally, it has everything I could want in a trip away. It is a hassle-free area with lots to do for families, for couples, and for friends trips. It has never let me down. The weather might not be the best—I mean you aren't going there for the sun—but it can be an experience of culture, happiness, and adventure. My next trip is coming up rather soon and I cannot wait. Be open and willing to enjoy this unique experience in the heart and spirit of Ireland.

europe

About the Creator

Emma C

Issues are my speciality but writings my thing. Everything is true x

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ECWritten by Emma C

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.