Wander logo

Don’t Flush That Toilet Paper

Did you know that many countries don't flush toilet paper.

By Emily WeissPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Don’t Flush That Toilet Paper
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Say what??? If you need something to put into your gratitude journal, the ability to flush toilet paper might need to go down on today’s list.

As an American, I have spent my entire life flushing toilet paper down the toilet. You can understand my shock when I moved to Colombia and discovered that you must throw your toilet paper in the trash…. A bin sits close to the toilet and all paper goes in. The bags are typically scented, but this only masks some of the smell. The trash needs to be changed regularly to avoid a reeking bathroom.

Why?

After talking to friends in Colombia they make the claim that the pipes are too old and not well equipped to handle toilet paper. Our friend did have a clogged toilet from not following through with this protocol. Many people get charged to have someone come out and fix this problem as well.

Others say that the water pressure is weak, and the pipes are small. Others say the entire septic system of the country just can’t handle that much toilet paper going down the drain.

But I thought toiler paper dissolved?

I grew up thinking that toilet paper dissolved. So this issue still baffles me. After a quick google search, I learned that toilet paper does dissolve and how long it takes depends on the thickness of the toilet paper. So will I really clog the toilet? Or could I just let the paper dissolve? Does Colombia have different toilet paper than the United States?

Many westerners still flush toilet paper in Colombia. Many of the newer buildings don’t have problems with you flushing. If you talk to any Colombians however, they will tell you to, absolutely not flush your toilet paper. So if you are wishing to adhere to the Colombian way of life, I don’t recommend it.

From experience

I try my best to follow the rules. You will see many signs saying to not flush. It is not always easy. I naturally find it disgusting. The trash needs to be changed frequently to keep the smell at bay. The amount of toilet paper I use is significantly more, with an attempt to wrap everything multiple times. If you speak to many Colombians however, it is strange that we flush our paper. It really comes down to our different perspectives.

Other places where you can’t flush toilet paper

It’s honestly easier to tell you the places where you can. The United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia all flush. I pretty sure most of Europe flushes. There is conflicting information about this online. I have never had a problem flushing in Europe, but it could depend on the area. Small towns might have older pipes.

South America, Latin America, and Africa do not flush. Many Americans have experience not flushing after a trip to Mexico. I read that Greece is another popular place that doesn't flush.

So could you start throwing away your toilet paper? Do you live somewhere where you can’t flush? I would love to learn more!

I do highly recommend living in a foreign country. The things you will appreciate and be grateful for when you return. I never thought I would be so grateful to live in a country that flushes their toilet paper. I should probably be thankful for modern day plumbing as well. Not being able to flush your toilet paper, is a step up from outhouses.

By Robert Linder on Unsplash

If you liked this article check out my other travel articles and feel free to follow me :)

-Happy travels and safe flushing -Emily

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Emily Weiss

Traveler trying to change the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.