Wander logo

Climbing Scott’s Monument In Edinburgh

When You Do Something You Really Shouldn't Do

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Photograph By Andra-70 On Instagram

Introduction - Why Climb Scott's Monument

Sometimes we do things that we really shouldn’t do. There is nothing wrong with doing things but this was a slightly silly idea for me, but like many things I just didn’t think about it before I actually committed to doing it.

The Sir Walter Scott Monument in Edinburgh is an impressive towering spire construction around a statue of the seated Sir Walter Scott, of course.

I love it and often take pictures of it, and when I found out you could go up it, I thought , "Think of the Views".

To Ascend Scott's Monument

One Sunday morning I made up my mind and went along to do the deed. I got there and it was five pounds cash entry. I had no cash , so then had to track down a working cash machine to get my Scottish fiver.

There was nowhere close and no doubt now you can use contactless pay, but that wasn't available then.

So I gave the gate man my Scottish five-pound note and he let me through the gate to start my ascent. Then it hit me, I suffer from mild claustrophobia and the winding stone staircase made me feel very trapped. I thought what if I meet someone coming down? It was early so I hoped that wouldn't happen. I could have turned around and given up but I wanted to actually get up there.

I have not ascended Grey's Monument in Newcastle for the reason that I could not stand being in such an enclosed space to wind my way to the top.

Scott's Monument has four levels, all with winding stone staircases to ascend. On my ascent to level two I hit my next big fear. I don't mind heights if I feel safe, but if I don't then it starts to get to me.

If my memory serves me correctly walking up to Level 2 there was an open space to my left with some wire mesh over it but would hardly stop me from falling to my death on Princes Street and turning into strawberry jam.

There are 287 steps to the top of the Scott Monument which is roughly 72 steps to each level , but Level 2 to Level 3 was very similar to Level 1 to Level 2 and I was mightily relieved when I got to Level 3 and saw some amazing views.

These included watching the trams far below on Princes Street, and looking north to the Forth and east to the North Sea.

By getting up that far I had temporarily assuaged my two phobias, and I got some great photographs and videos. Now it was time for the descent.

Descending The Scott Monument

Going down was obviously easier until coming down from Level 2 to Level 1 when I met a family of tourists, and neither of us could go back so it was a case of getting up close and personal, I hope it wasn't too traumatic for them.

At the bottom I spoke to the gatekeeper and told him I had only reached Level 3 but he told me by the time you get that high you can see everything that is worth seeing. That made me feel that my trip had been a success although I have not tried it again.

Possibly the reason is that I did what I had to do, and got the results I wanted, so I don't need to try it again.

guide
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    My fear of heights would not have let me do this! And lol, strawberry jam!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.