Wander logo

Blooms, Waterfalls, and Healing: A Day at NY’s Botanical Garden

Celebrating nature, art and an unexpected transformation

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1
The Rose Garden- Author’s Photo

It was a warm June day, with just a few clouds painting the sky. A perfect time to make our long-awaited visit to New York’s Botanical Garden. We couldn’t wait to breathe in the green, earthy air.

What can I say? This is a place with a photographer’s dream, a gardener’s paradise and an artist playground. With our Canon 60D EOS and my iPad to use as a camera, we put on our most comfortable walking shoes and where off for our next forest adventure.

Roses from the garden. Author’s Photo

Yellow Dog Roses also known as Rose Hip. Author’s Photo

Italian Purple Clematis with Hybrid Tea Roses. Author’s Photo

We began our tour of the Peggy Rockefeller Rose Garden. Roaming around the different species of roses would love this garden. With the sweet fragrance and delicate scents of roses that floated in the air, giving a sensual welcoming like a lover’s embrace. My eyes moving from pink roses to yellow ones, then following peach roses climbing up green lattices. It felt like we were in a charming English town, surrounded by sweet scents and the crunching sounds of our footsteps. Other visitors whispered quietly, not wanting to disturb the beauty of nature. We continued to walk the rows of the English Rose Garden.

Siebold’s Plantain Lily, Hostas, Pink Chinese Astilbe, Oakleaf Hydrangea,

Lizard sunbathing in the Cactus Garden. Author’s Photo

August Lily Hostas. Author’s Photo

After taking photos and enjoyed walking along nature pathways, seeing various plants and flowers. As we came upon each new botanical wonder, we stood to take in all of its grace and let it surround us with its beauty and love.

Hearing in the distance the sound of rushing water, we were close to a waterfall. Always up for a waterfall visit, we walked to the hidden gem. This reminded us of our visit to another forest hiking spot; the trail was more earthy and rocky. I couldn’t believe that we were still in the Botanical Garden. The shadows grew over our heads as the huge, aged, towering trees created a sheltering canopy. The waterfall is off the Bronx River, and if you can, glimpse a turtle or otter. We only saw a turtle sunbathing on a rock.

Lotus Flowers- Author’s Photo

In the pond, there were tadpoles and fish. Author’s Photo

Next, we following the dirt pathway, we got experiences some tranquil forest bathing. With the songs of the chirping birds, whistling and tweeting, it was a bird lover’s haven. A few snapping branches from others walking the paths, it a peaceful and entertaining experience.

Ending our day at the Enid A. Haupt Conservatory, a stunning glass greenhouse filled with tropical plants and flowers. The pathway’s design had glittery vultures surrounded by colorful plants and flowers.

The artist Ebony G. Patterson had created a visual show of the transitions of life and death. At first, I was hesitant. My father had recently passed away 6 months prior; why would I want to be reminded of death?

The Conservatory with the glitter vultures popping out of the plants. Author’s Photo

Author's Photo

Walking through the tropical gardens in the Conservatory.

With my husband encouragement, we went into the larger-than-life Conservatory. Greeting with the tropical humid atmosphere, mossy and organic scents, it was silent. Luckily, no one was around, so we had the place to ourselves.

I took in the dark purples and reds of the flowers and plants that were interwoven with the glittering vultures. The artist had dramatically showed with her plant art what I was working through in my life.

The transformation of the loss of my father to now shredding my grief off to finding the healing that was slowly working through. My past of being my parent’s caregiver was over. Now it was time to move forward and be open to a fresh path.

Scarlet Passion Flower also known as “Lady Margaret” Author’s Photo

Moth Orchis, Phalaenopsis. Author’s Photo

The exhibit, which I thought was just going to be that, a botanical exhibit, became so much more for me. It was like a door had opened, and I was ready to walk through. That it was ok to laugh, smile and appreciate the beauty all around me. I know in my heart that both my parents, whom I had lost 22 months apart from each other, would want me to.

As we finished up our tour, our cameras loaded with photos, it was time to head home. If you ever visit New York, think about visiting the NY Botanical Garden. It is worth the visit to anyone who loves to nature!

Thank you for reading.

This was originally posted on Medium.

americaphotographynatureactivities
1

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Lovely photos. I love walking in gardens

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.