Wander logo

Back To The Tower

Tower of London

By Tabby LondonPublished about a month ago 4 min read
The Tower of London

When the lockdown restrictions were lifted, I remember walking outside of Tower London and absorbing the once-in-a-lifetime surreal feeling. I will never forget what I saw. The place was virtually empty, with an eerie silence all around. I remember talking to one of the Beefeaters standing behind the Gate, and he told me they would be opening when they got the go-ahead from the officials.

I went as soon as the Tower opened after the Pandemic. It was a poignant visit after months of Lockdown and the restriction of movement. Entering the main door felt weirdly reassuring because it let the world know things would be okay.

The Whit’s Tower

Post Covid

When I went in 2020, I enjoyed seeing parts of the Tower minus the crowds and the Jewels without the queues. Not all of the Tower was open, but I got to see the White Tower and the Jewels, and I spoke to the Beefeaters, who had plenty of time to talk. I felt like a celebrity.

Since then, I have visited the Moat during the Queen's Jubilee year, and it was magnificent. I thoroughly enjoyed walking along the Moat, which had previously been off-limits to the public. I enjoyed the millions of plants that had been carefully curated, especially for the Jubilee.

I've also been to the ceremony of The Keys, which was a wonderful experience. I saw the then Queen's soldiers lock up the Tower, which was a sight. They were dressed in full attire, and the ceremony began at 9.45 pm. It was a wonderful, warm June evening, and the atmosphere was lovely.

View From The Royal Apartment

2024 Visit

It's been four years since I last visited the Tower of London. I decided to see it but still had to book tickets in advance. My recent visit was also timed, and I got the noon slot. I was expecting it to be busy, and it was, but I didn't feel overwhelmed by the crowds. Seeing the people walking freely was beautiful, and everything was open, including the restaurants and food kiosks.

As I'd been before, I wanted to see the places I missed on my previous visit because they were cordoned off. I headed towards St Thomas's Tower, part of the Medieval Tower. It was built by Henry III (1216-71) and his son Edward I (1272-1307).

Much of this part of the Palace has been re-presented to give visitors a feel of the 13th Century. During the 13th Century, Edward I's barge could come right up to the Tower. Today, however, it's separated from the River and now houses the Traitor's Gate. Traitor's Gate is where prisoners were brought into the Tower via the River Thames.

Wakefield Tower

Henry III built this Tower between 1220-1240 as his private lodgings. Due to its location, he could quickly come from the River and go to his private lodgings.

The King's Chapel

I also saw the King's Chapel, where Henry VI died as a prisoner in 1471. Did you know that since 1921, ceremonies of the Lilies and Roses have been held on the 21st of May each year? The ceremonies are attended by Eton College and Cambridge University representatives, as King Henry VI founded them.

After being coupled up inside, walking along the top and around the Palace's Upper floor was refreshing. It was to catch glimpses of Today's London outside on Tower Bridge and Tower Hill. I saw the 21st Century skyline from a different angle; it reminded me that London has come a long way and will continue to evolve as a 21st Century City.

I headed to the central courtyard near the King's House, where I saw the lovely soldiers on Duty. It was nice to see them closer, but remember that they were on active Duty and not there to delight the crowds. I was close enough, but I never dreamed of disturbing their routine. It's not allowed, basically, and you can't take selfies with them.

I tried to avoid the queues as much as possible, but it was inevitable that I ended up in one.

View of Tower Bridge

Queues

I only experienced queues in the White Tower as we walked around the exhibits and climbed the stairs. It was nice to climb to the top of the Tower, which was off-limits last time. I enjoyed seeing old and new exhibitions and seeing new ones.

I didn't want to queue up for the Jewels and waited for the right moment, which came in the afternoon. I waited less than 5 minutes and only went to see the King's Crown and the new Coronation Exhibition. It was worth it, but it was dark inside and with the number of people in a confined space, it could feel claustrophobic, especially as it was a warm day.

The Queues

Lunch

I stayed for a lovely lunch and enjoyed afternoon tea, too. They've revamped the restaurant, and the dining hall has plenty of space. It was to see a Colonel bring his family from the King's House and into the dining hall for lunch. I liked the experience's lack of 'airs and graces'.

Parting Comments

Overall, I spent three hours there and enjoyed my afternoon very much. I live relatively close by and can pop down easily. I want to go again, but maybe during the summer, I can check out the Moat once the seeds have germinated and the plants bloom.

If you're going, pace yourself, stay hydrated and take plenty of breaks. Above all, soak in centuries of history.

As always, many thanks for your attention.

Tabby

culture

About the Creator

Tabby London

The London I've been discovering is usually off the well-beaten track.I love the nooks and crannies and walking along the streets steeped in centuries worth of history. I'm fond of Zone 1 because that's where it all began centuries ago.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tabby LondonWritten by Tabby London

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.