Wander logo

Aloha, Hawaii!

A solo trip to the big island

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Aloha, Hawaii!
Photo by Jordan McQueen on Unsplash

On my 22nd Birthday, my parents bought me a ticket to Hawaii. It was not the first time I went on vacation without my parents as I had went a few weeks prior to Los Angeles with friends on a road trip, but it was the first time that I would ever:

Go on vacation by myself

Take a flight solo

Go out of state solo

Being that my parents are very over protective of me, it was shocking and head scratching that they were okay about this. However, I was not one to question this because it was a free trip to Hawaii! This was indeed a coming of age experience that I was very enthusiastic about.

When I went into the airport alone, it was surreal. I felt like I was officially an adult. More importantly, I felt like I was taking on an important milestone as a woman. Going on a solo trip as a woman gave me mixed feelings. Yes, it is exciting but it could also be dangerous. I would multitask on having fun and being careful.

When it was time for boarding, I was shaking with excitement. Sitting on that airplane in awe. I could not believe I was doing this, but I figured that this was a once in a lifetime experience. I could not wait for this four day journey in the Aloha state to begin.

Five hours later and three hours behind was an excited 22 year old woman who set foot in Oahu. I was exhausted. It was originally 8 a.m. in California, but 5 a.m. in Hawaii. I got to my hotel and was ready to rest before I was able to explore the “Big Island”.

I remembered that while I was in Hawaii to relax and celebrate my birthday, I was also in need to remember that I was a young woman on vacation by myself so I needed to be on guard. One of the things that my parents, sister and yes even friends told me was that when going on a vacation alone, it is important that I never tell people that I am on vacation by myself. With that being said, I lied and told people that my family: 1. Was sleeping in the hotel, 2. My family went to the beach or 3. They were at the pool/spa. I did not really expect many people to ask nor want to know if I was by myself.

On my first day in Hawaii. I went for a walk. Something that I really do not do alone, but I just wanted to be a tourist and explore. I walked and explored all through the streets. I walked on the warm white sand and I ate many different foods.From the rice and butter shrimp, to the kahlua marinated rack of lamb, it was fun to just pig out and not care about what anyone thought.

My second day in Hawaii was a little busy. I went on an all day tour all over the big island. I was one of the very few people who was alone. There were times when people even asked me if I was by myself. I deflected and I gave one of the above answers. I was able to talk to people and get to know them. Something that I most likely would not have done if I was with my family. They would not have discouraged me; they just are not as social as I am lol.

My third day in Hawaii was my birthday. I adjusted to the time zone and because of that, I woke up at 5 am. My mother called me and then my father. They were surprised I was up so early but I am used to waking up early. I went to Starbucks down the street and sat at the beach just looking at the sun come up. It was a scene I would never forget. A saturday morning looking at the sun on the beach. I never felt so free. I did cartwheels on the beach and yoga. I meditated and just sat there. A few minutes later, I was joined by another tourist. He was from Canada. We talked and just hung out for a bit. It was different. He too asked if I was alone but I reluctantly lied.

After we finished talking, I walked to the zoo and took my time around there. Never have I ever had time to just walk around. I am around people on the go so much and I am the type who does not like to rush. It was peaceful.

Later that evening, I had to go to a luau. Unknown to my knowledge, my parents had coordinated it and told them it was my birthday. Everyone found out and asked me to join them. I did not want to intervene but one family insisted. I sat with the family, and I decided to drink...five alcoholic beverages. It was fun to drink without being judged. I went back to my hotel with a smile on my face.

Coming back home, I felt like I was able to do something that was fun and exciting. Would I travel by myself ever again? Honestly, I do not think I would, but this was one experience where I can honestly say that I will remember for the rest of my life.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.