Wander logo

A trip to Turkey, a life in breakfast

Among the countries I have visited, Japan and Turkey have the best breakfast experience.

By Courtney OlsonPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Among the countries I have visited, Japan and Turkey have the best breakfast experience. There is no need to say that you are rich and full. Japan is refined and elegant. For example, the fragrant fish is strung on a shelf and baked slowly in a small stone stove. Waiting is also a kind of beauty. Turkey takes the free and unrestrained route. This is the land of milk and honey. The breakfast of a small hotel is laid out, which is amazing for its richness. In the past, it was a typical Mediterranean color system, green and dripping, purple and purplish red, plus deep and shallow cheese white or yellow. Usually, the breakfast restaurant is in the place with the best view in the hotel, and the morning in Turkey is always sunny.

Many Izmir people like to have breakfast at the pier of the building, which called “konak pier kahvaltı”. Eating such breakfast makes you feel sorry for God's love for mankind if you don't love the world.

Moreover, when I was in Turkey, it was late winter and the day was very short. I always got up when the morning light appeared, and never wasted an inch of sunshine. So I can enjoy breakfast every day.

My first stop in Turkey was a hot-air balloon hotel in capaduocia. Two mornings, I had breakfast with the hotel housekeeper. There are only two women left in the whole hotel. Even the boss disappeared. Maybe it's a pity, maybe it's a pity. The housekeeper didn't let me eat in the restaurant on the terrace on the top floor, but ate the same food in front of the stove in the small living room with her like a sister. The two women didn't know the language, but she was determined to chat with me and use Turkish English translation software. She told me that she was a partner in the hotel, not an employee. Her daughter is going to college. She also asked about my family. Why do I travel alone.

My breakfast in Selcuk was very warm. The hotel was rebuilt from an old villa on the top of the mountain. The boss's girlfriend is from Hong Kong. At that time, the boss crashed my car and said he would compensate me. As a result, the car rental company deducted more than 200 euros from me. He finally said he would compensate me 100 euros. So far, he hasn't received it. But it doesn't hurt. The hotel is really worth staying. You can overlook the suffocating morning and dusk mountains of Selcuk, and the starry sky above you is like a dream. Breakfast is made by a typical old Turkish mother in a long skirt and lotus leaf apron in children's picture books. Every time she served a plate of food, she would stare at me lovingly for a long time. She would not leave until she saw me start. And I suspect she stuffed too much food for me because of pity and love. Even if I'm such a big stomach king, I eat a little hard. I regret that I didn't hug her deeply when I left.

My breakfast at alacati was fun. I was the only passenger in this large and beautiful hotel that day. This breakfast is as beautiful as the hotel. The hotel manager specially prepared a large plate of cheese for the. He said expectantly, "you should know how to appreciate the real good local food. These are the best goat cheese, which I specially prepared for you." In order to encourage me to eat the cheese, he even brought me half a glass of red wine. It's hard for me to be gracious, but my stomach doesn't agree.

I have a quick breakfast in Izmir one day, the restaurant name is Narjill konak pier. It locates in Ataturk Caddesi 19-E Konak Pier Avm İzmir, İzmir 35220 Türkiye. It mainly sells some traditional Turkish food. I think I tried one of the most featured food here.

My strangest breakfast experience was in Kabak in the countryside of Fethiye. The hotel is on Lycian Road, one of the top ten hiking routes in the world. It is one of the few hotels still open in winter. It was a miracle for me to find this hotel on the cliff at midnight when there was no mobile phone signal and even GPS signal. The next day, I was awakened by the chirp of birds. I opened the lace curtain and looked at it. God, I couldn't help being proud of my accurate vision of choosing a hotel. Directly ahead, under the fruity orange garden, is the sea sky line, the blue exciting Mediterranean. On the right, you can see the steep coastal mountains, with thin clouds floating between the mountains. Breakfast is on the sea terrace with flowers and plants. The landlady smiled for fried eggs and Turkish wheat cakes. With yogurt is the honey still in the hive! Native eggs are really delicious. It's the flavor of native chicken eggs from Grandma's house that I haven't eaten for many years. Honey is also wonderful beyond words. Although I still don't know the language, the landlady was overjoyed to see me. When I left, she gave me two eggs and a big bag of oranges. I didn't know how to take the honey, so I didn't want it. When I was hiking on the mountain at noon, I thought of the eggs I put in my bag. When I reached out and touched them, my pockets were sticky and slippery ----- Madame boss, I didn't know you gave me raw eggs!!!

When I returned to Antalya to return the car, I stayed in a small hotel owned by a pair of Old French wives in the ancient city. All the details of the hotel can serve as a model of country style. I always admire the French taste. And French breakfast always brings unforgettable hand-made jam, which I have verified in several countries. But on the day I arrived, GPS failed and there was a traffic jam. I not only gave up serik, but also missed my friend's dinner. The repeated loss of my patience almost made me lose all my patience. When I got to the hotel, I was exhausted and went back to my room without paying attention to anyone. The next day's flight is at 8:30 and breakfast is at 6:00. I finally felt refreshed when I entered the breakfast restaurant. I was very happy to tell the old couple that today is the first day of the Chinese New Year. The white haired and still beautiful landlady said, "boy, I'm glad to see you smiling today. I hope you can relax and enjoy your life in the new year." My heart was hot and I nodded hard. When I left, the landlady was worried. She ran out and repeated the way to the airport again. Then she gave me a big hug, patted me and said, "it's no big deal. Everything will be fine. You're a brave girl!" I don't know how she guessed about my life to say this. But when I turned my head and left with big steps, my tears also fell, but my heart was full of power.

When I was in Istanbul, I stayed in a small historic hotel behind the blue mosque. The sky is clear every day. The sky in the morning is a kind of deep and clear Istanbul blue that has never been seen elsewhere. It should be caused by the special air flow in the Coastal Hilly City. The breakfast restaurant is on the top floor, which can not only look at the mosque and the spire of St. Sophia, but also overlook the sail shadow of the bosbruce Strait. One morning, I was supposed to take a boat to Pamuk's writing island at six o'clock. The hotel packed breakfast at five o'clock in the morning and put it outside my door. But I suddenly changed my mind: I should come back one summer; I'd better have breakfast on the top floor. There are many kinds of dried fruits for breakfast. Basically, it is satisfying to eat a bowl of figs, not to mention so many seemingly inexhaustible delicacies. And I've always been in a good state of colorful bubbles in Istanbul - it's such a charming city and a rich life.

When I left Istanbul late at night, the young man at the front desk said to me, "next time, I'd better come with my family or friends. We always welcome a beautiful lady like you, especially when she travels with her loved ones." I said with a smile, "I'm not alone." He still said, "we agreed not to let me see you alone next time."

Turkish breakfast has had a profound impact on my later life. Although I was born in a family that attaches great importance to breakfast, I later asked my children to eat well. But after I came from Turkey, I found that breakfast has the meaning of healing and really practiced the breakfast philosophy of "good breakfast, good every day".

culture
Like

About the Creator

Courtney Olson

Food enthusiast. Have a great passion in trying food in every restaurants. A new cooker.

See restaurants in Yummyadvisor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.