Wander logo

A Trip to Athens

Athens is rich with history and full of energy, a totally different side of Greece than what I’d previously experienced, and a trip I will never forget.

By Katie GasterPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

In February, my Dad invited me out to Athens, where he was volunteering at a refugee camp. He wanted me to experience the city, so of course I jumped at the chance to explore it myself. It wasn’t a place I’d considered visiting before, and I didn’t know what to expect. My previous trips to Greece mostly consisted of laying on beaches and floating in hotel swimming pools, but this wasn’t that kind of trip.

The city of Athens has an incredible buzz, especially on sunny weekends. The markets in particular are manic. I’m a sucker for a market, so I spent a decent chunk of my week-long trip wandering around them. The antique markets were particularly incredible. There were tons of stalls and shops overflowing with of gorgeous antiques to rummage through. The live music around the city brought a wonderful vibrancy to the atmosphere. You won’t struggle to find a live band on an evening out in Athens!

I had a number of excursions on my list, and the Acropolis was, of course, a must. The giant temple ruins tower over the city, marking the captivating history of Athens. Before I visited the Acropolis, I took a trip to the Acropolis museum. It contained a huge amount of preserved remains from the ancient temple, as well as the history of the Goddess Athena. The history of the Acropolis is so interesting, and with that information I found visiting the Acropolis itself all the more enjoyable.

Even if museums aren’t your thing, it would be a crime to go to Athens without checking out the Acropolis. It would be like visiting London and skipping the Big Ben. Expect lots of tourists, but some incredible ruins that hold heaps of history. If you really are trying to avoid crowds, the Ancient Agora ruins are a good option. It consists of a smaller temple, a beautiful museum and lots of greenery and ruins to wander.

If you’re someone who loves being in nature like me, I highly recommend giving the Filopappou Hill a visit. There’s a lot of ground to explore, plenty of greenery to wander, and a hill to climb with some beautiful views. I laid in the daisy studded grass and soaked up the sun there on my last day. It was the perfect place for some peace and quiet in such a wild city.

I have to mention the vast amount of stray cats around every corner of Athens—my true highlight. Other than the glorious cats of Athens, hiking up Mount Lycabettus was my favourite part of the trip. It’s a relatively short hike with a stunning 360-degree view of Athens. The city, the sea, and the mountains, everything can be seen from the top of that hill. If you can, go at golden hour for maximum beauty.

Athens is rich with history and full of energy, a totally different side of Greece that what I’d previously experienced, and a trip I will never forget.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Katie Gaster

22 y/o film graduate with a love of discussing and creating

https://www.katiegaster.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.