Wander logo

A Plant-Based Road Trip through England and Scotland

The Vegan's Vacation in the United Kingdom

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
7
The author eating her way - plant-based style - through England and Scotland.

“Veganism is not a sacrifice, it’s a joy.” Gary L. Francione

The United Kingdom is a perfect travel destination for a vegan. Never on the two-week road trip from London to Edinburgh was there a shortage of plant-based food. I quite literally ate my way through London, Bath, the Cotswolds, Stratford-Upon-Avon, the Lake District, Loch Lomond, Inverness, and Edinburgh.

Although breakfast is usually the toughest meal for vegans, most places I stayed in could modify dishes. If not, I made do with toast and porridge with plant-based milk and fruit. The local grocery stores, like Tesco, and most of the cafes on the street also offered plentiful options of breakfast sandwiches and snacks.

Eating in other countries is part of the travel experience. And just because I don't eat meat or dairy doesn't mean I wanted to miss out on sampling some of the English and Scottish traditional foods such as haggis and cottage pie. Luckily, I was able to take part with plant-based options.

Join me on an abbreviated version of the culinary journey that I enjoyed during the first half of July 2022.

My travels in the United Kingdom over a two-week period.

London

“In London, everyone is different, and that means anyone can fit in.” Paddington Bear

The two days in London included some of the most memorable meals of my road trip through England and Scotland.

The Chamberlain Hotel

The Chamberlain is a grand Edwardian hotel with a premium pub and restaurant near the Tower of London. And, not only were the accommodations comfortable, this was the only place I stayed that offered a complete plant-based morning meal. Of course, I wanted to try the traditional full English breakfast - vegan style, that is. This delicious and satisfying plant-based dish included sausage, spinach, grilled tomato and field mushroom, hash browns, baked beans, and scrambled tofu. On the second day, I opted for one of their breakfast bowls. My choice was organic porridge with Goji berries, banana, coconut yogurt, and maple syrup.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Chamberlain.

I also enjoyed dinner at The Chamberlain's restaurant, Fuller's. The chosen dish was called the Isle of Wight Tomato Galette and was comprised of long stem broccoli, chicory, courgette and hazelnut salad, and Hasselback potatoes.

There were a variety of options and the online menu can be filtered to only display the plant-based options, which I found very helpful during my planning.

Photograph was taken by the author at Fuller's.

The Blackfriar

During the initial day in London, I visited the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and Leadenhall Market. And my first meal in England was arguably the best lunch of the entire vacation. Set in a historic, Art Nouveau masterpiece of a building, The Blackfriar was built in 1875 on the site of a Dominican friary.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Blackfriar.

Although there were a few alternatives, it would be difficult to imagine a better pick than the Lentil Cottage Pie. This comfort dish included lentils and vegetables topped with carrot and sweet potato mash.

Combined with the history and decor, The Blackfriar earned one of my highest recommendations for the London traveler.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Blackfriar.

The Cinnamon Club

Photograph was taken by the author at The Cinnamon Club.

Set in the Old Westminster Library, dining at this fine Indian restaurant is an unforgettable experience. The four-course (plus sides) vegan tasting menu is a feast of flavor, especially with the historic and visually-appealing backdrop of the library. The photographs below show the different dishes lavishly presented to us. The pricing for the tasting menu is 45 pounds per person.

The author at the Cinnamon Club. At the end of the dining experience, the bill is presented in an old book.
Pre-Starter: Steamed chickpea cake with chili coconut and coriander
Okra filled with peanut, sesame, and green mango chutney.
Appetizer: Jackfruit and water chestnut Kofta with a vegan tomato chutney
Kale, quinoa, and sweet potato kofta with tomato lemon sauce and saffron rice
Main course: Crisp aubergine steak
Dessert: Spiced date pancake with banana and miso caramel sorbet

Bath

“Oh! Who can be ever tired of Bath?” Jane Austen

After a couple of days in London, I rented a car to begin the road trip portion of my journey. After stopping at Stonehenge (which also has vegan options like a sausage roll), the next stopover was Bath, the famous spa town in Somerset England. This World Heritage site is known for its Roman-built baths dating back to 75 AD.

Photograph was taken by the author in Bath.

I stayed at Brooks Guesthouse where they offer a vegan special for breakfast. I chose the full English breakfast, sans eggs and sausage, as they did not offer a plant-based substitute.

The Circus Restaurant

The Royal Crescent (photography taken by author)

I walked to dinner at the Circus Restaurant, passing by the famous Royal Crescent. I found a couple of tasty vegan options on their menu. I opted for the Aloo Bonda with pea, spinach, and potato fritters, mint and coriander chutney, and charred aubergine puree.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Circus.
Photograph was taken by the author at The Circus.

The Cotswolds

“Think of England as a very large book. The Cotswolds would be an unfussy chapter in the middle somewhere where there is lots of limestone and even more sheep.” Susan Meissner

Eight Bells Inn

Photograph by the author in Castle Comb.

Visiting the Cotswolds has been on my bucket list for a long while, and it was not a disappointment. I traveled through the picturesque villages of Castle Comb, Lower Slaughter, and Painswick before reaching my home for the next few days - Eight Bells Inn in Chipping Campden.

Although breakfast was challenging again, there were wonderful vegan options for lunch and dinner. Their Spiced Oriental Chickpea Burger sounded appetizing, but I decided on the mixed vegetable Japanese Katsu Curry with jasmine rice.

The Red Lion Tavern

The outside of The Red Lion Tavern (photograph taken by the author)

The next night, I had dining reservations at another restaurant in Chipping Campden, The Red Lion Tavern. With the weather being sunny and in the seventies, everyone in town wanted to drink and dine outside in the garden. Wimbleton was also going on, which made for the perfect time to order a Pimms.

Pimms (photograph taken by the author)

This tavern offered a few vegan options, including a raspberry cheesecake. My main course was the quinoa chili with coriander rice and toasted pita bread. This dish ended up being one of my favorite meals of the entire vacation.

Photograph was taken by the author at the Red Lion Tavern.

Stratford-upon-Avon

"All the world's a stage." William Shakespeare

Anne Hathaway's Cottage (photograph taken by the author)

Of all the places visited, this was arguably my favorite. In fact, I hope to spend an entire summer, if not longer, there in the future. In addition to being a writer's paradise, it's also a vegan's paradise. In Stratford-upon-Avon, countless restaurants offer plant-based fare. For breakfast and lunch, visit the entirely vegan cafe called Plantarium Cafe. Another option that is open later is Fed, a chic plant-based and gluten-free bistro situated right in the heart of Shakespeare's birthplace.

The Lake District

“I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills

When all at once I saw a crowd

A host of golden daffodils

Beside the lake beneath the trees

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.”

William Wordsworth

The Lake District of England is tied with Stratford-upon-Avon for my favorite destination in the United Kingdom. It was the longest drive between locations at over three hours, but I got over it quickly when I rented an electric boat in Lake Windermere.

Photograph was taken by the author in Lake Windermere.

My home away from home in the Lake District was The Ullswater View. This was my favorite stay of the vacation because of the comfortable room (best shower of the trip), stylish decor, and picturesque view from the window. The included breakfast did not offer many vegan options, however, so I chose the porridge with plant-based milk, fruit, and toast.

In addition to water activities, this area of the country offered the best hikes over the green, sheep-covered hills and past waterfalls, like the Aria Force.

On the first night of our stay, we dined at a local pub called the Queen's Head. I discovered a new (for me) brand of plant-based meat called Moving Mountains. I ordered their veggie burger and fries and was pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was.

Inn on the Lake

Photograph was taken by the author at the Inn on the Lake.

Another truly special dining experience was had at the Inn on the Lake. The location, views, and restaurant decor were second to none.

The Lake View restaurant at the Inn on the Lake.

My appetizer was a compressed watermelon, which was a completely new dish for me. It had the perfect summertime flavor after the warm day spent hiking and exploring the lake and waterfalls.

Photograph was taken by the author at the Inn on the Lake.

Vegan main dishes were an English Cauliflower Steak or a Roasted Aubergine with white bean cassoulet and red pepper puree. I chose the latter and immediately decided that I needed to learn how to prepare a similar dish at home.

Photograph was taken by the author at the Inn on the Lake.

After leisurely dining, my husband and I strolled along the inn's grounds which were filled with lush gardens in front of the picture-perfect lake. This area of England was another that I would gladly spend the entire summer exploring if I could.

Photograph was taken by the author at the Inn on the Lake.

Loch Lomond, Scotland

"O ye'll tak' the high road, and I'll tak' the low road, And I'll be in Scotland a'fore ye, But me and my true love will never meet again, On the bonnie, bonnie banks o' Loch Lomond."

Photograph was taken by the author of her husband water skiing in Loch Lomond, Scotland

After England, it was on to Scotland with plans of hiking, boating, visiting castles, and a special surprise for my husband - water skiing in Loch Lomond. For our stay, we rented an Airbnb this time. Not only was it comfortable and convenient, but it allowed us to do some cooking and laundry. I included the listing below, as I highly recommend staying there if you visit this area.

The Balloch House

Photograph was taken by the author at the Balloch House.

Even though I cooked at home, I did eat one dinner out during the stay. On Sundays in the United Kingdom, many taverns have special roast nights. As an animal lover, this was something I dreaded. However, I discovered that there are plant-based versions.

Photograph was taken by the author at the Balloch House.

I managed to score the last one of the night. This candied vegetable roast was topped with pumpkin seeds and served with tomato sauce, vegan roast potatoes, carrots, green beans, and broccoli. As I sampled this dish, I could only be reminded of American Thanksgiving. Comfort food in a lovely location - what more could a traveler like me wish for?

Inverness, Scotland

THE LOVELY lass o’ Inverness,

Nae joy nor pleasure can she see;

For, e’en to morn she cries, alas!

And aye the saut tear blin’s her e’e. Robert Burns

The next stop of the road trip was a visit with the Loch Ness Monster.

On the way, I explored Stirling Castle, one of the largest and most important castles in Scotland.

Again, I arranged for an apartment for this portion of the vacation.

This apartment was the ideal place to stay. All the comforts of home and vegan extras were purchased for me in the refrigerator.

Photograph was taken by the author in Inverness.

The Kitchen Brasserie

Photograph was taken by the author at The Kitchen Brasserie.

I prepared most meals at the apartment, but my husband and I did venture out to The Kitchen Brasserie one night. We were seated on the third floor in front of a window overlooking the water and Inverness Castle.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Kitchen Brasserie.

This restaurant has plenty of vegan options, including desserts. I enjoyed a unique beet dish before finishing up with a vegan rice pudding.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Kitchen Brasserie.

Even though Nessie evaded us, we enjoyed a Beastie Boat ride in addition to hikes through the highland. Other notable activities are Culloden Battlefield, Clava Cairns, and the Tomatin Whiskey Distillery.

Photograph was taken by the author at The Kitchen Brasserie.

Edinburgh

“This is a city of shifting light, of changing skies, of sudden vistas. A city so beautiful it breaks the heart again and again.” Alexander McCall Smith

Photograph of the author at the Edinburgh Castle.

The final destination was Edinburgh, as that was where I was returning the rental car and flying home. A tour of Edinburgh Castle occupied a few hours before exploring the Royal Mile and High Street.

The Devil's Advocate

Photograph was taken by the author in Edinburgh.

Finally, I was able to sample the veggie version of haggis. I am not sure how close this version is to the original's taste, but I do know that it was a truly delectable dish.

Photograph was taken by the author in The Devil's Advocate.

My main meal was comprised of baked butternut squash, sweet potato, chickpea curry, toasted coconut, and coconut yogurt. I also recommend the lemony cocktail called Corpse Reviver on a hot summer day. If whiskey is more your thing, they have a separate menu boasting over three-hundred whiskeys from around the world.

Photograph was taken by the author in The Devil's Advocate.

Now that I have been home a couple of days, I am only beginning to process all of the amazing memories created while exploring the unique countryside of the United Kingdom with my husband. Upon returning from trips like this, I often get a bit sad that the journey is over. One way to alleviate this feeling is to begin planning the next adventure.

Until then, if you see me close my eyes, I am probably thinking of the beautiful - and vegan-friendly - United Kingdom.

“Just close your eyes and think of England.” Queen Victoria

cultureeuropereviewtravel advice
7

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Totally enjoyed reading this and all your photos made mouth water, lol!

  • Thank you! Great story! I loved taking the adventure through a place I will never get to visit. Thinking of trying more plant-based meals! I have only recently begun micro greens. Much better than I expected!

  • Loved all of those links! Happy you included them and those pictures! Not just the food (which made me hungry) but the buildings and landmarks. Very lovely photography. My favorite part though, were the quotes before each destination.

  • reghla carter2 years ago

    Free Travel To The European Union Finally Ended. ETIAS waiver visa scheme finally launched by the EU after a long time. ETIAS is not the same as a visa as it has quicker ways. It is done online and no biometric required in it. This cost acquiring is the same as ESTA, the United States scheme. ETIAS was criticized for a late 2022 debut. Full form of ETIAS is the European Travel Information and Authorization System. European Union travelers have freedom of traveling which allows them to spend much time in different countries. https://dailyaffairs.info/european-union-will-start-charging-visitors/#Free_Travel_To_The_European_Union_Finally_Ended

  • Put me right in the places with you! The food sounded great and looked well presented and “good enough to eat!” Someday….

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.