Wander logo

a little girl in a blue skirt

it is not a proper manner for her to spend her money at the market.

By ecinmyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like

In an Afghani country lies a ruined landscape barren of any buildings except for the houses which bend in a corner of a lake. These families are not fond of moving far away from their shrines, for they are faithful. Even when merchants and crusaders visit and plummet the waves with carriages of foreign goods, it is a mild summer in which craves a delight of warm vibes and cold lemonade.

"Why is it so nice out today, Yamir?" asks Jewn. "I'm not so interested in a pool, but we can visit our uncle if you wish."

"What? A short dip in his pool is what I am asking for. Let us visit him and cool off. The heat is getting to me early this morning." Yamir carries a bag of towels and sandwiches. He is a student of engineering, but in this summer, he cannot but take a rest for he must study again in the fall.

"Is this what you really want, brother? Why not visit your girlfriend in Pakistan? She does not take kindly to you ignoring her messages. She may visit and slap you soji."

Jewn picks up her headphones and walks to the open drive-by. She notices her neighbors in a street corner, holding ice-cream cones and bicycles.

"I won't answer her. I'm not ready for it." Yamir mutters.

"Aeh. Hey guys!" Jewn waves. "Can I have some too?"

"We have a few left. Ask my mother. She is in the kitchen." says Ajil.

Ajil and his brother and friend are walking side by side to her. "Hi Jewn and Yamir. Where are you two going?" asks Enis.

"To our uncle's. His pool is mine this day." Yamir holds onto his bag and walks past the trio.

"Woah, you are swimming? Okay, I have to join you. This sun is hurting me so." Pel denies his courage as he gives in to a temptation. He is supposed to help his sister with a book, but he cannot but drool over a pool and friends.

"I would go with you, but I must eat. I shall invite my cousin over. We will join you soon." Ajil walks away.

...

"I have to go." Aril hurls his backpack over her head and grabs the door-still. "See you."

"Bye, Aril." Curl winks. "Why do you have to go already?" She whines.

"Because of an exam. I have to study tonight and tomorrow. Maybe we can grab a quick snack after."

"Okay, study well." Curl closes the door as Aril walks to his car.

...

As the two students sit in a cozy harbor, reading out loud a book that is a little damp from the dew, a girl walks and sees them. She glimmers with a cute flirt and approaches the two.

Ajil sees the beautiful girl in blue and smiles. "Hi."

Pel notices her. Intuitive and keen, he passes the book to his friend. "Read the next paragraph, brother."

Ajil takes the book and starts saying, "Okay, ...uh."

The girl walks slowly and clasps her hands behind her waist. Her brunette twirls linger as she eyes Ajil.

"In a discussion of fortitude..." Ajil begins.

The girl smiles a bit.

"It may wander to love a herd. What may?" Ajil looks up at her. "Uh.. what may become of this infatuation for cultural introspection?"

Pel laughs silently as the two eye each other.

"A governing student group is a manner into a pen's swerve in by..." He gulps. "By a love of a sight."

"Okay, huh." Pel nods.

"What may covet my love but by the cute cheeks you are." Ajil stands up and says to her. "May you swim?"

"Maybe. Why are you so cute?"

Pel smirks and grabs his friend's arm. "My friend is overcome by your saunder-ness. I shall fetch a glass of lemonade." He waves at the two. "Also, my name is Pel."

Ajil smiles. "I am in a daze to see a sight of you."

"Who? I am no one."

Ajil eyes her skirt. "You are a girl of mine. Please sit and read with me."

"I am not! But maybe so, if a book is as steady as a potential love."

A heart is beating in Ajil as he sits and continues to read. "Uh.. where thou is my cattle for it is a grovel of dirt and hay that is a morning breakfast for it? Even in an afternoon of dirt-washing and gabbles, it may invite a good stead as is a cutlery of fine culture is a redemption in political acclivity." He then passes the book to her. "On the same page here." He points at the paper.

The girl frowns and grabs his hand. "Why bore me with such words when we can swim together?"

...

Pel walks to the harbor and sees his friend wallowing in the shore with the girl. He is a drunken friend who laughs heartily.

literature
Like

About the Creator

ecinmy

inclined to learn more about european literature and the cultures and lifestyles of french and german ancestry. i like to write about a kingdom; where for is the glory of the garnished smithies as is cannot but forge a sword in honor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Imrald2 years ago

    Came here from your comment on my story. Your description made me curious so I decided to see if you were an author too and I'm happy I came bay. I like the atmosphere that you created. I can almost feel the heat and breath the same air as these fellows. Nice touch!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.