Wander logo

4 Reasons Why People Blog and Why You Should Too

Here are some of the major reasons why people start blogging and why you should too!

By isabella jhonsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
new years eve cruises sydney

Why do people blog? I never asked myself that question until recently, when I thought, ‘Hey, why don’t I write a blog about why people blog?’. The reality is, anyone can blog. But the level of your success depends on why and what you’re blogging for. For instance, the topic I’m writing about has already been addressed by other bloggers, but the way I intend to make it stand out with my own perceptions. This is what I hope will add value to this blog and make it all the more authentic and helpful.

With oh-so much content being created and over half a billion blogs already existing on the internet, it’s time to think if everything has been already said. Well, the answer to that is – “not even close”! Behind every blog is a perspective, story, style and experience, unique only to the author. In fact, an ‘inspiring experience’ is what primarily triggered my urge to share with the world the idea of joy in the form of words.

There’s plenty of room if you're thinking about starting a blog.

That being brought to light, here are a few of the many reasons why people start blogging.

A platform to share your biggest experiences

For me, when I started writing it, I usually penned down the things I did or wanted to do in life. Experiences become more epic and validated when shared with others. Being in Sydney, there are endless opportunities to cash in on an experience of a lifetime. The New Year’s Eve cruises on Sydney Harbour gifted me one such experience that was hard not to showcase. The food, the music, the drinks, the service, the fireworks display at midnight - everything was inch-perfect.

Letting people know of such a brilliant ‘wine & dine’ experience – from gliding past the iconic Opera House and Harbour Bridge, to enjoying front-row seats to the fireworks display – was my way of saying ‘thank you’ to the whole New Year’s Eve dinner cruise experience. And that’s when I realised. Being able to inspire and entertain you guys is the biggest win that can stem from writing blogs.

A helping hand

The world of blogging is like a sea, but prioritising your intentions and executing it with style and accuracy is what will make it stand out. The wisdom of knowing a certain subject calls for it to be shared with others. ‘How To’ blogs are some of the most successful blog niches and the ability to precisely lay out each and every point including the very crux of the matter to a layman will open you up to heavy exposure.

‘Word of the hand’

The most simple reason why people blog is to express themselves. I’ve ranted and raved about the complexity of adult life in many of my blogs. Simply putting out your unique blog to the public is a great way to hone your skills and practice writing with an actual audience. Some even document their everyday life. This is a wonderful way to store memories, learn from past mistakes and reminisce about past joys. Maybe it’s no longer a trend, but that doesn’t mean you can’t start blogging about it — who knows, it may soon get back to topping the ‘trends’ charts.

Dreams become reality

The biggest myth about bloggers is that they can’t make a living out of it. Can you believe that? And here I am sitting on my cosy couch in my two-storey apartment in the middle of the biggest suburb in Sydney. I’m not saying I made a fortune just from writing and it’s a ‘get rich quick’ type of work. But it can surely be a nice income on the side or full-time job, if you really strive for it. It can be the perfect stepping stone towards the job that will transform your life.

So should you or shouldn’t you…

The bottom line is, people blog for many reasons. Experience, Expertise and Express are the three major E’s of blogging for a successful blogger, in my eyes. Things I learned and mastered throughout my blogging journey have created new realities for me, and it certainly can for you too. I found myself cruising my way into blogging inspiration - what’s it going to be for you?

australiatravel tips
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.