Wander logo

14 HOURS IN CHICAGO, CHAPTER TWO

THE 15 HOUR DRIVE

By Sakoli Norman Published 3 years ago 23 min read
Like
14 HOURS IN CHICAGO, CHAPTER TWO
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

From the moment that the Greyhound bus pulled off from the Orlando Bus Terminal I started to think and feel this emotional war take place inside me. It felt like my conscious was playing tug of war with my emotions. I like to equate this feeling with an analogy that I like to call “Two Teams”. There were two teams on the opposite side of the “ Tug of War Knot” that was in the middle of the rope. The “Red Team” was on one side and The “Green Team” was on the other. The “Red team” represented emotions of anxiety, nervousness, wonder, uncertainty, regret, and sadness.

The “Green Team” represented emotions of excitement, joy, appreciation, vision, motivation, and abundance. Both teams were battling for a position of power to overtake my emotional spectrum. One thing that I did start to notice is that the further we traveled away from Orlando the more the Green Team started to take control. I started to feel better about my decision to leave. Even though I appreciated The Salvation Army experience because it reminded me that I have to work for everything I get. It also reminded me that life could get hard if you don’t stay focused and motivated.

In those same respects it also felt like 100 steps back. Living in Iowa for that period of time taught me something. It taught me that there were actually people in this world who cared about you. There were people in this world that didn’t mind helping you without receiving any thing in return. Those people received their gratitude by knowing that they have helped you, and the only thing that they will ever ask of you is to pay it forward. The friendships that I created at the Salvation Army were great. A lot of those people I learned a great deal from.

I appreciated their journeys, their experiences, their ideologies, philosophies, and perspectives of life. It just seemed like that was just a small portion of people. A lot of people that I came across while living in Orlando, Florida at that time just seemed to have this “Crab In The Barrel” mentality. If they were in a higher position than you they never wanted to help you, if they had knowledge or information about something they never wanted to share it, and if you weren’t doing good on a job they would much rather talk about you than to help you.

Those kind of people would much rather kick you off the ladder than to help you climb it. So having this knowledge it made it easier to make my decision. It allowed The “Green Team” to slowly start to take over the constant “Tug of War” for emotional power. As I am deep in thought I all of a sudden hear a click sound, it startled me, so I started to look around only see the Washroom door close. I was so deep in thought that I’d forgot that I was in the back of the bus near the Washroom. I sat up from a slumped position in my seat and began to look out the window.

I started to notice that we were only about an hour or two out of Orlando, and approximately six to seven hours left before we arrived in Atlanta, GA where I would switch buses to Chicago, IL. For the next couple of hours I put in my earphones and listened to some music that I had on an mp3 player that my mom bought me before I left. One of the songs on that MP3 Player was called “Be Somebody” written by Dre and Keisha Cole. It was as if this song intertwined with the specific time. The melodies within the music captured the moment as if it were freeze framed in time.

I looked out the window and I saw the afternoon wind politely touch the trees like a bird when it lands on its nest. As I passed the trees and land on the freeway it felt like the sun was smiling at the earth. The sun was so bright and radiant. The spring leaves and palm trees almost looked like they were talking to each other about how nice the day was. They also appeared very appreciative of the care that they were receiving from the Sun and the wind. Its days like this where I was very appreciative to travel and appreciate the earth and what it has given us. I never took these situations for granted.

A couple of hours later the Greyhound bus driver announced that were pulling up in Atlanta GA. I then stood up and proceeded to stretch. The strategy behind that is that if I stretch long enough then I have time to let enough people off the bus. I’m a big guy so always having to say excuse me can get pretty annoying especially if I’m confined to a smaller place with a lot of people. Once I got off the bus I smelled the beautiful city of Atlanta. Downtown Atlanta has bus engine smoke, cars driving by, trucks driving by, cabs picking people up, it was a great smell and feeling. Being a man from New York City I could appreciate that.

I grabbed my belongings, walked up the ramp, and walked into the Greyhound Bus Station. There was a long line at the customer service desk so I had to wait. I hate long lines, but I needed to know where the bus to the Chicago was departing so I could stand in that line. While I’m standing in line I notice that an older Caucasian male customer at the desk is getting upset because there is the delay in arrival time for one of their buses.

“Look my name is Tom alright, and this doesn’t make any since that bus to Philadelphia was supposed to be here 2 hours go!” I heard in a loud voice. “I’ve been waiting two extra damn hours for this bus! Where is it at??”

“I’m sorry sir there was a delay in the buses schedule due to heavy traffic we apologize for the inconvenience, it should be arriving soon.” The ticket agent said calmly.

“Soon? You said that two hours ago. There are people that have places to be and have other things to do and that’s the only update you have? You people are unbelievable!” He said angrily.

“I’m sorry you feel that way Mr. Tom you are more than welcomed to speak to our customer service manager if you like?” The ticket agent said reassuringly.

“Screw that manager I want to get on this bus!!!” Tom said angrily.

While he continues to yell two police officers that were stationed in the terminal calmly walked over to the customer service desk to try to deescalate the situation. Its almost as soon as they calmed the situation down I heard over the loud speaker: “Now boarding the bus to Philadelphia Pennsylvania.” Everyone that stood in my section began to laugh because Tom did all that complaining just to end up looking crazy. Philadelphia was his destination, so all of the yelling he did seemingly backfired.

“There you are sir. This bus will board in line six, please make sure that you remain aware, have your ticket ready, and make sure that you have all of your personal belongings. Have a great day.” One of the police officers said in a calm but sarcastic voice.

" He did all that for nothing, I mean for nothing." I heard a man say standing near me.

I and a couple of other people couldn't help but giggle as we watched Tom scurry off angry and embarrassed. The ticket agents then began to get through the line of passengers rather quickly. They processed information and typed like robots. The way they gave passengers directions, ticket information, arrival and departure information, and route information was very impressive. All four-ticket agents were young black sisters and they were very talented. I commended them for the way that they conducted their business. I know it couldn’t of been easy for them dealing with different attitudes through out their days.

Once I got to the to the ticket agents they told me where I was supposed to wait. My line was in line one. It seemed that a lot of other people were going in that same direction. I looked around and that’s when I really notice how crowded the Greyhound bus station was. There were about 15 to 20 lines going towards different cities and states. There were about 50 people in each line and that’s not including children. It almost reminded me of Six Flags Great Adventures. Children running around playing, parents trying to move their belongings, buying tickets, asking questions, gathering information, while trying to make sure their children safe and staying behaved.

At another glance I even saw the young man that had the disagreement at the Orlando Bus Terminal in my line. “ I wonder if he's going to Chicago too?” I thought as I shrugged my shoulders, continued to wait, and look at my itinerary. While I’m looking at my itinerary, a tap on my shoulder interrupts me.

“Excuse me young man” I heard an older African American woman’s voice say as I looked up from reading.

“Yes ma’am” I replied.

“Is this bus going to Chicago?” she asked with a concerned look on her face.

“Yes ma’am you are in the right line. Is everything ok?” I asked calmly.

“Yes everything is fine, I just haven’t taken these buses in ages so I’ve forgotten a lot about how this works.” The woman said with a smile and look of relief.

“Yes I can understand how you can be confused. There are so many lines and so many people sometimes it can be hard to be sure where to go and where to wait.” I replied with a smile of my own.

“Oh my god yes, the ticket agents told me to come to line one, but there are people everywhere. I couldn’t tell where this line began or where it ended.” She said.

“Most definitely! I’m from New York so taking Greyhound Buses from there to other places helped me get used to crowds of people and unorganized lines.” I said with a slight laugh.

“Oh wow! I’ve never been to New York, but I’ve heard it is a really big city. I have a couple of friends who travel there on business trips and they absolutely love it.” She said in excitement.

“Yes, New York is very big. It has a very big transit system, and things are really accessible there. I love everything about it except the cost of living there.” I said shaking my head.

“Really? Oh, I’m so sorry young man, please forgive me for not introducing myself. My name is Carolyn.” She said as she extended her hand for a handshake.

“Likewise ma’am and pardon me as well my name is Sakoli, but people call me Sy for short.” I said as I shook her hand and smiled.

“What a unique name! I like that it is very different.” Ms. Carolyn said. “Is your last stop Chicago as well?” Ms. Carolyn asked.

“No is isn’t unfortunately. I’m just stopping through there to transfer to another bus to Madison, Wisconsin, and from there I will take another bus to Lacrosse, Wisconsin.” I said we moved up to fill in the line.

“Oh my you have quite a commute ahead of you. Well my last stop is Chicago. Some of my family members will come pick me up from the terminal when I arrive. I originated here in Atlanta, I’m from here, but I’m going to visit some family in Chicago. I gather that I will have a bone to pick with my son’s and grandson’s when I get there. Take the Greyhound they said. It’ll be fun they said!” She said smiling and shaking her head while she adjusted her eyeglasses.

“The commute is long, but if every stop along the way is made promptly considering the other boarding passengers, driving, and rest stops, it shouldn’t be as bad as it sounds.” I explained while laughing at her statement.

“I’ve taken Greyhounds before, but never across country. This should be very interesting.” Ms. Carolyn responded.

It almost felt like as soon as she ended that sentence we heard the ticket agents over the loud speaker: “Line one now boarding to Chicago. Please make sure you have your tickets ready and you have all of your belongings. She repeated this again over the loud speaker as I grabbed my bag and put it over my shoulder.

“Well that’s our bus” Ms. Carolyn said as she began to grab her bags. “Would you like any help with your bags Ms. Carolyn?” I asked we began to walk towards the bus.

“No sweetheart I’m fine. I only have one suitcase and I can pull it very easily, but I appreciate the offer.” She said with a joyful grin.

“Ok just making sure.” I replied as we walked began to walk out of the terminal.

Once we got out of the terminal the driver greeted us, and told us to leave any heavy luggage outside so the baggage handlers could place them in the luggage compartment under the bus. I only had a carry on so this meant I could walk straight on and place my bag in the overhead compartments over the seats because it wasn’t that big. It felt like Times Square in New York City outside of that bus. There were so many people and bags that you could barely move. I was just about to board when I saw Ms. Carolyn again.

She was placing her red luggage bag by the rest of the passenger bags so it could be loaded in the luggage compartment under the bus.

“Ms. Carolyn, if I don’t see you for the rest of the trip, it was very nice to meet you.” I said as I extended my hand for a handshake.

“Thank you my dear, it was a pleasure to meet you as well and thank you for all of your help!” She said smiling.

We shook hands and I walked on the bus. I have my fingers crossed as I boarded because I was praying that the back seat is available so I can sit back there. As I get closer to the back I saw all three seats were filled, but three seats from the washroom on the right hand side there was an outside seat available. It was almost like waking into a full classroom trying to find a seat that was all to yourself so you wouldn’t have to sit with everybody, only to have to sit around a whole bunch of people. I was a little annoyed but I was glad that I found somewhere to sit.

A couple of minutes later after the baggage handlers finished loading the bags, the driver finished his conversation with staff, got on the bus, and pulled off soon after. Finally after about twenty five minutes we were on our way! I put back on my headphones and got back into my music. This time it was the song “Kissing You” by a popular R&B group named Total that made its way to my headphones. This is one of my favorite R&B songs. It felt as if the song was describing my journey through the city.

As we passed the trees and the buildings of Atlanta the song made me feel that much closer to Lisa. It felt like the window was a movie theater screen and my visions of her were the slides. Each slide became more intimate than the last one. The slides were so vivid and passionate it almost felt like she was in the bus with me. The thought of me being with her again excited me as I went through each slide on my mental projection screen. I couldn’t wait to hold her again. I also knew she couldn’t wait to do the same.

I was glad that she understood my need to leave and my want to come back. It meant a lot to me for her to get it. Those visions weren’t the only slides that came across my mental projection screen the song changed. This next song was by the popular rap artist 50 Cent called “Hustlers Ambition”. This was so ironic because this was the one of my songs that was the soundtrack during my time in The “Promesa Shelter” in the Bronx, NY. I continue to use the window as my mental movie theater screen, but my visions changed Lisa faded and my Florida visions emerged. All of the visions of me working hard, struggling to keep my shelter bed in Florida, getting up at 5AM, walking to The Right Hand Man Temporary Service, staying in Hotel rooms and hospitals, walking through parks and libraries, started to flash before my eyes.

“I want the finer things in my life, so I Hustle!” 50 Cent says on the chorus. That song was so relatable to my life and I felt it even more listening to it. I actually began to get goose bumps from understanding what the song really means. “Pardon me sir” I heard as my thoughts are interrupted. I looked up and the young man sitting near me needed to use to washroom. I got up and let him pass. I paused my MP3 player just to sit in silence for a second. I noticed that some of the other passengers cut there reading light on and others had theirs off, then I start to notice something really weird.

There was a guy and a girl sitting counter corner next to me. The seat was one seat ahead of mine on the left side so they couldn’t see me, but I can see them. The guy looked to be about my age maybe older. The girl looked to be Amish, and she looked to be about 17 or 18 years old. I remember seeing the girl board with her mother in Orlando by themselves. There was no one else with them. So this guy was a complete stranger. The guy was sitting straight up and there was a coat between them. The girl appeared to be moving as if she were being sexually stimulated. It didn't look like she was being forced. It look like she enjoyed it.

She covered her mouth and rocked back and forth gently to avoid being noticed. I was paying so much attention and in so much shock that I didn’t even notice that the young man that went to the Washroom returned and was asking to return to his seat. “Pardon me again sir I apologize.” The young man said in a low voice. “No problem” I said still distracted by what I was seeing. The funny thing is that nobody noticed this but me. She moved so normal that you would actually have to really pay attention to notice that she was being stimulated with a finger.

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. It was like watching a scene from a movie, but only this was real life. I’m watching but looking away because I’m thinking: “What type of freak do you have to be to get fingered by a complete stranger on a public transportation vehicle full of people?” I thought. Then the funniest thing happened, I could tell that the dude was had increased his speed by her facial reactions and expressions, and right as she climaxed she cleared her throat very lightly to disguise her orgasm. I’ve probably never laughed so hard to myself in my life. The guy sitting next to me was looking out of the window so much that he paid none of this any attention.

Nobody in my area caught on to what was going on. My stomach was hurting from so much laughter, that I almost busted out laughing. I had to cover my mouth so nobody else could hear me. This was one of the strangest and funniest things that I have ever witnessed. I actually had tears in my eyes from watching it. It was like watching a real life X -rated version of “Sex In The City.” I wanted to text Lisa so bad and tell her what I’d just witnessed, but I couldn’t because my texting wasn’t free until after 9pm. So for the next hour and a half I just sat there in my seat in disbelief in what I’d just seen.

Just when I thought things couldn’t get any spookier the unthinkable happens. A few hours later Just as we are crossing the Alabama and Tennessee boarder the bus pulls over on the highway on the side of the road. At first thought I thought maybe sheriffs are behind him with their lights flashing so he pulls over to let them pass in accordance with the law, but I looked out the window and I just see regular drivers passing us in the distance. It was pitch black outside. Smoke from the trucks and cars that sped past filled the night sky with smoke.

You could see the smoke move past the stars in an eerie type state. It almost gave me chills. All you could see were mile markers and green highway signs in the distance. Headlights from all of the cars that passed looked like clouded beams of light from all of the smoke that clogged the air. As trucks passed with speeds of 40 MPH the vibrations from the speed made the bus shake, it almost felt like the movie “Wrong Turn”. The fields of woods filled with blackness as the winds riffled passed the trees. I started to think "Is something wrong with bus?" Its as if the bus heard me because as soon as the thought left my mind the bus engine died, and the bus went completely black.

The bus driver continued to try to start the engine but he remained unsuccessful. He then grabbed his walkie- talkie and radioed in at the nearest station about the situation, and the he called his supervisor. Once he was informed of what his next steps should be he then let us know what was going on.

“Ladies and gentlemen I apologize for the inconvenience, but this bus is no longer in service. We are currently working on securing another Greyhound Transportation vehicle to continue this trip to Chicago, IL. The vehicle is in route and will take approximately 30 to 45 minutes to arrive. Again I apologize for the delay.” The driver announced.

It was almost like an eruption that roared through the bus of angry passengers.

“Man what?”

“This is some bs”

“My family is waiting on me in Chicago and I have to tell them that I’m going to be late”

“I’m supposed to transfer in Chicago to another bus at a certain time now I have to wait??”

All of the passengers were livid, and I felt the same way. I wasn’t nearly as mad as I was hungry, but what I did notice is that there was a exit ramp up ahead of where we were. That area seemed to have a little light I couldn’t see where it led because the bus was to far back, but I sure was going to figure it out. Despite it being pitch black outside a couple of people got off the bus and started walking, so I did the same. As I walked I looked around for oncoming traffic while I’m listening to the silence of a night. My heart turned to applesauce, as I was saw the trees from the leaves rustle. All of the blood in my body seemed like it froze as I sped up my walk.

Out of nowhere I saw a semi truck speed pass me! I stepped to the side of the road, and felt its strong vibration as it moved passed me. Everyone began to slightly jog to get off of the side of the road and get to the exit turn off. As we walked cautiously toward the ramp, we noticed that the ramp was filled with lights, and at the top of the ramp to the left was a gas station. That was the happiest moment of the trip. We crossed the ramp because it was a two -lane ramp. We wanted to be on the side where we could see traffic coming in our direction.

We finally reached the top of the ramp and had to cross another street. Once we reached the gas station it was as if I had reached the promise land. There was water, soda, juice, cakes, sandwiches, cookies, gum, and everything I could want. I was starving and I knew that anything that I got had to last me a while because I was on a budget. When Lisa paid for my ticket she sent me extra money, my mom also gave me extra money too before I left, so I wouldn’t be completely broke on my trip. So I grabbed like two subs and two juices to hold me on my trip. As I’m standing in line at the cash register I felt a tap on my shoulder.

“This is something isn’t it” a familiar voice said as I turned around. It was Ms. Carolyn. I had no idea she had got off the bus and had walked behind me.

“Hey Ms. Carolyn I had no idea that you got off the bus.” I said with a look of surprise on my face.

“Yes dear I did. I was hungry and watched you and a couple of others get off and decided to follow you guys. It’s spooky out there.” She said cheerfully.

“Tell me about it. I was scared walking all the way up here, but nothing stands in the way of a man and some food.” I said laughing and smiling.

“No indeed not, my dear.” she said laughing in return as we paid for our things and walked out together.

“I suppose I’ll have to call my family and tell them to pick me up at the Chicago terminal at a later time. This seems like it’s going to take a while with the delay.” Ms. Carolyn said.

“Yes and I’ll have to do the same. The bus to Madison, Wisconsin only runs from Chicago a couple of times a day. So if I’m not there at a certain time then I’ll probably have to wait until the next day.” I said with a look of concern.

“Well let’s hope that doesn’t happen my dear. We will just hope for the best.” Ms. Carolyn said with empathy.

There were more of us that came back together than there were of us that left. Coming back wasn’t as scary and nerve wrecking as leaving because there were more us, by the time we got back there was a tow truck near the bus, and the driver had placed cones about 50 to 100 feet away from the vehicle. So that other drivers could be aware of the vehicle

“Well dear here is my seat I’ll see you in Chicago.” Ms. Carolyn said with a smile.

“Likewise Ms. Carolyn ill see you in Chicago.” I said with a smile on my face as well.

I finally got settled back in my seat and ate. I texted Lisa let her know that my bus was being delayed and that we were waiting for another vehicle. About 30 minutes later the other bus pulled up and we all got off and boarded the other Greyhound Bus. Disappointed but relieved all the passengers were happy as we continued our journey. Once we left the dark night we knew sunny days were ahead, and Chicago was finally within our grasp.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.