Wander logo

10 Things I’ve Learned Solo Traveling in 5 years and it Changed my Life

Before I started traveling solo, I was scared.

By sara burdickPublished 8 months ago 6 min read
3

I had no idea what to expect, assumed everyone would think I was a loser, and had no friends. I was also afraid that I would never make any and get lonely. However, none of that happened. After five years of solo travel, I have learned these ten things and wish I had known them sooner.

Solo travel is the best gift you can give yourself.

Traveling alone has given me more gifts than I could ever imagine. It has helped me become the person I always wanted to be: more confident and less scared of life.

Why are we afraid to travel solo?

I GET ONE OF TWO FUNDAMENTAL QUESTIONS when I tell people I have traveled the world alone. Why? and How? So many people are afraid of being alone that they don’t even try, so the why, because I can, and the how I pack a bag. To give a short brief answer.

Solo travel is not scary or lonely; it has helped me more than anything else.

10 Things Solo Travel Has Taught Me

After five years on the road, I have learned a few things, mostly about myself and the world around me.

Resourcefulness

I have learned to use what I have or figure out how to make things work without throwing a lot of money at a problem. When living and working in LA, I bought a new one if something was broken.

That is what we do, right? Now, I find a solution without money and always find one. In the States, everything we need can be purchased with a finger or around the corner; when you are in a country where you don’t speak the language, you have to figure it out on your own.

Learn how to communicate without words, and teach yourself a new skill set. Since you are alone, you will get to use that muscle of figuring it out, and it will grow stronger and empower you daily.

Common Sense

I find this is something essential and easy, but some people I have realized do not possess this very important skill. Don´t worry; solo travel will help you!

You know, the blank stare when something is blatantly obvious. You quickly learn who has it and who does not. I say solo travel helped me get it; it helped me realize that I have it.

You will realize how many people in the world do not have this one quality that we often take for granted. Acknowledging that I have common sense has taught me that people need to remember how to do basic skills if there is no device instructing them how to.

Living is not hard, but we humans like to make things more complicated than they are, so realizing that we are all different has given me a lot of perspective on life and a lot of grace from others.

Grace

I am learning to have grace for others that I do not understand. I also give grace to myself because they were raised a certain way, and I was raised a certain way — the ability not to criticize them and allow us to be unique and different in our practices.

Accepting that there are other ways to do things, allowing others to live, and being open to seeing people with a softness. Giving them kindness and love; none of us are right or wrong, including being kinder to myself.

Facing Fears

While traveling, I have learned how to face my fears, for example, my fear of hitchhiking. Growing up in the US, we are taught not to hitchhike. Lately, I have accepted that it is a fear and hitched with some friends.

Facing my fear of feeling awkward and wondering if they assume I am poor or broke because I am bumming a ride. I have encountered other concerns while traveling, staying in a hostel for over 40, volunteering, and being the oldest. I am not fearless, but frequently push myself to step outside my comfort zone.

Being Vulnerable

I have had to learn to be vulnerable and open myself up to getting hurt, emotionally or physically. In the past, I used to say there was an ice cube around my heart to protect it; that was more damaging because I never let anyone in.

When you travel and are alone, you have to put your trust in others, especially if you make friends on the road. Travel friends you make fast, and it is one of the deepest short-term friendships ever.

And if you are not open to accepting that person in your life, if even temporary, I would have missed out on some great friendships and relationships.

Trust Yourself and Others

Before I started traveling, I did not trust anyone, especially myself. I could not even go clothes shopping without asking my family what they thought of my purchase. I needed approval on everything. I did not trust myself and did not trust anyone else.

Since traveling full-time for five years, I have had to let others lead the way, trust that they knew where they were going and that it was safe. Especially when you get on a bus or in a car with another person. I now have complete faith and trust in myself and make the right decision on who to listen to or not.

Follow Your Intuition

I have always had a strong intuition but rarely listened to it. When you are by yourself, you learn how to connect within and make decisions based on a more profound sense. Intuition has never misguided me, especially while solo traveling.

When you are alone, you develop a deeper connection to yourself, you become your compass, and when you make a wrong decision and tell yourself I know not to do that. Well, solo travel helps you to listen to that deeper understanding, especially when it keeps you safe.

Learn to say No.

I have been a people pleaser, wanting to keep everyone happy. When I started traveling, I noticed that I was doing things and hanging out with people I did not want to be around. It was almost like what I used to do at the hospital: say yes to keep the peace.

No one knows who you are when you travel alone, so you can reinvent yourself whenever you go somewhere new. I do not do this, but I have become someone who only does what I enjoy because the only person I have to please and keep happy is myself.

Learned to Chill/Relax

Ten years ago, if you were to look up high-strung in the dictionary, you probably would have seen my picture. Okay, I’m kidding, but I was so high-strung that I am unsure how I survived. I was always anxious and did anything I could to calm down, but I could not.

It wasn’t until my 2nd year into my travels that I finally began to relax; I unplugged from society. I stopped caring about what I looked like, what people thought of me, and how I appeared to others. I stopped, and now, five years later, I am a different person, a more chill, relaxed, and level-headed one. It may be all the time I spend in Latin America.

Learning to be alone

When you travel alone, you are alone. Even if you stay in a party hostel with people around you, you are alone. No one knows you, no one cares about you; the only person you have is yourself.

You will learn to get very comfortable with yourself, and if you have never been alone, it will be a long, hard road to discover who you are. It took me around three years before I started to like myself, and I didn’t even realize that was a problem until I was alone and had to rely on myself. Becoming your best friend is a skill set we should be taught in school.

Conclusion

Traveling solo is truly a superpower that not everyone can do, and most people do not want to do it. It will teach you to have patience, as well as be your own best friend. So, if this is the road you are traveling on, you, my friend, are excellent. I hope to meet you on the road someday.

XOXO

S

Follow my YT channel here.

female traveltravel advicesolo travel
3

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.