Wander logo

10 Positive and Negative Aspects after Moving to Denver

Evaluation after 4 months of living in Denver

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
10 Positive and Negative Aspects after Moving to Denver
Photo by Pieter van de Sande on Unsplash

I would consider myself to be a planner, however when you move to a new city there are things that you just can't plan for because there's no way to know or prepare yourself for them.

I moved to Denver back in October 2021 and I was as prepared as I could be within my circumstances of moving. My roommate I moved in with already had a repour with our landlord couple and she flew down to help me move from Oregon to Colorado. We managed to move in furniture off Facebook Market place before I stepped my first day in the room I am renting. I thought I was prepared, and well the rest, I just said I'd figure it out.

But within my four months here, I have learned aspects I wish I would have known before I moved here, both the good and the bad.

Negatives

1. The Medians and Turn Lanes

I am no lean mean driving machine, I bought a car a year ago and have already ran into this post at my work a few times. Nonetheless, streets here in Denver have a certain character to them that neither Oregon or Arizona have. My depth perception isn't great, especially not in the dark, but you could be driving down one of Denver's main boulevards and somehow get yourself caught in a turn lane without warning. Quebec is the worst! I always believed that turn lanes spawn from the right lane, that you are typically safe staying in the left lane. Not with Quebec street, going down that street you will end up stuck in a turn lane you never new existed, then the right lane opens back up to 3 lanes then narrows back down to one. It's too much! Then there are the medians! With Denver being as popular as it is there are a lot of lanes, however when I am turning, I am constantly questioning what lane I am turning into and if their is a median between me and my directed lane. There may or may not have been a few incidents to report form this.

2. No Garage, Big Problem

Yes I know Denver is cold, I didn't have to experience that to know it, however, I didn't expect how the snow and the cold can be so irritating to me and my car. It doesn't help I have to leave my house at 7 AM. However, every morning my windows are frosted over from how cold it is. Maybe its just the bear of the winter, but I am tired of being cold and how spiritic our snow storms are here. When I lived in Flagstaff, I thought I liked snow, but maybe that was before I had to drive to and from work in it everyday. I have never felt the need for one of those cars that turn on from the outside of the car so bad in my life. I wake up cold and drive partially blind everyday. I either need a garage, a newer car or to not live here forever. Unsure the option I will choose at this point.

3. Don't Crash or you will Pay for it

For warning, I was on my Dads car insurance before I moved here, however you will be paying more for it just by it being Colorado. I was in a wreck where I ran over a rock and destroyed the underside of my car. I was okay but my car wasn't. Even though I wasn't at fault, insurance is insurance and it still effected me when I made a claim. This just got way worse when I switched over to Colorado Insurance. Because of that accident and the fact of the faulty weather here, my insurance tripled. They tried to charge me an upwards of $400 a month for my insurance based off an accident that was beyond my control. That right there almost sent my bags packing, but I already went through a whole thing with my title I decided to count my dollar losses.

4. Taxes are kicking my Asses

Now this could be the whole United states thing, or the fact that at my nine to five I don't make any extra compensation such as tips Nonetheless, the taxes take so much out of your paycheck. Denver is expensive, you don't move here thinking your moving to the middle of Iowa, but my $19 an hour job barely clears me each month and that's me living frugally.

5. Everything is So Dry

I typically like the high altitude climate. More sunny days, different types of weather, when its cold its not typically like cold and wet to the bone kind of weather. But this dryness is getting to me. My nose is raw and my skin is so dry and I have no one to put lotion on the spots I cant reach. My face feels like it is going to fall off after a shower without lotion and my back constantly itches. I do however realize how dehydrated I actually am because of this climate. I just need summer and the feeling of being smooth and hydrated that's all.

Positives

1. Everything is Close

In the town I came from 40 minutes could get you to a mediocre city with lots of trash or down the other road you would get stuck behind a tractor. Here 40 minutes takes you almost everywhere. A number of cute areas, or the nightlight of a popping city. Everything is around a half hour to an hour away. Also on the plus side, most of these city towns you can get to without the use of a main highway.

2. There is so Much to Do

This is a main reason I moved here. The opportunity to be around more. More businesses, more events, more diversity, more restaurants, there is more opportunity for everything. Denver is weird because it is so big, yet still feel quaint in a way. You learn the main roads, everything becomes familiar and its like your in a quaint town within the convenience of the city. I have three concerts that have been on my bucket list for years that it would have had to be a two hour drive to go to them. All these bucket list concerts are a half hour from where I live. There are bars that do Karaoke almost every night, there are places to fraternize and hundreds of bars for men I don't want to hit on me to hit on me. You are 40 minutes from a hike or any other outdoor activity you could ever desire. You have stores galore. For example, I literally live five minutes from a Costco, target and Safeway. When I moved here, that was a big deal for me. I love the energy of the city and all the opportunity to be had.

3. A Mix Between City and Cute

One thing I really love about Denver is the mixture of architecture. There is the energy of the city with the tall sky scrapers and new and unique restaurants of Rino, yet you drive a few blocks down and you run into old historical building with diverse styled homes. Every town in each city has a character to it whether its Littleton, Boulder, Breckenridge or the Centennial area, they all have their own personality to them. Most of these areas have old restored areas, with parks and community centers. Truly a mix between old and new and I love exploring new areas. Colorado is also filled with local art and murals, being in the city and around that creativity fuels my sole. I keep saying it, but Colorado is a mix between the spaced out city of Phoenix and the natural and individualistic layout of Oregon. In that way its a perfect mix.

4. The Seasons

I know I was complaining about them earlier, or at least the cold, but I really do enjoy having seasons. It's a reason to wear a variation of clothes, different styles in different environments and elements. I do like to be warm, but I can always dress warmer, versus cool down easier. I have lived in Phoenix AZ and that barren heat isn't for me either. The fall here is gorgeous and the summer I have heard is really nice other than an occasional tornado here or there. So I will deal with the spiritic snow storms here or there for all the other seasons and especially since its not overcast for 7 months out of the year like Oregon.

5. I am doing what I always wanted

Obviously this will only relate to me, however I am doing exactly what I told myself I wanted ten years ago. I am living in a city with my roommate who is my college best friend. We are going on adventures and concerts and expanding on life more than what Oregon could give me. I am doing the job I aspired to get into and even picked up a side job that I always liked and has the benefits of pizza. I am involved in weddings but in my own way while getting to explore new hobbies. I have met some friends to go out with and some other people to stay in with. I am doing exactly what I have always wanted and am exactly where I wanted to be. I think that is the biggest positive of them all.

america
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.