Viva logo

Woman:an endangered species

what it means to be female in South Africa

By Alina RayPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

It's day 100 of lock-down(as I write this) and we are still being raped.Killed.Defiled.

Oh...I'm sorry.You thought I'd start this piece by telling you how bored I am because I have nowhere to go lately?

Well,I'm tired.Women are exhausted.

There's an article that I came across today,it stated that every 3 hours a woman is murdered in South Africa. It's exactly 19:43 as I write this,can you guess how many sisters I've lost already? Some stories never make it to the land of social media.

Men are having a blast with us this side,we belong to them...well at least that's what they seem to believe. Apartheid ended over 2 decades ago,we're headed to 3 decades now. But I can confidently say this: a woman born in/after 1994 doesn't qualify to call herself a 'born-free'.No woman is free.

Our grandmothers fought so hard to be liberated from the white-man,but it turns out there's still a lot of fighting that needs to be done.

There's no fortress a woman can run to,in 2019 a young lady was murdered at the Post Office. That's a really public place coming to think of it.

I can't even begin to speak about the rape victims who are not believed.It somehow becomes a woman's fault. You know...it's the usual fault in how we dress or carry ourselves.

Men this side seem to not have control over what makes them tick,oh yea,how can I forget-we belong to them.

My great grandmother's mom got freed from her slave master,who raised my grandmother after all those tribulations. My grandmother went on to raise my mom under all those inhumane laws of segregation that governed them,eventually my mother gave birth to me...raised & nurtured me even on days she nursed the bruises from being beat up by my father. And now that I'm grown she'll have to bury me after the guy who works in the Post Office kills me. That's if my boyfriend won't kill me first.

Or maybe one of these days I'll murder someone's son as an act of self protection,chances are that I'll even end up in jail.Somehow the police will remember that I took someone's life,but failed to act when I needed someone to protect mine.

Maybe I'll take matters upon my own hand because nothing seems to help,these men clearly don't see us...

I write this as a young black woman.

Being young I might die from a car crash caused by my reckless actions of course.Being black ,I still have to figure out a way to survive under this system that was perfectly designed to break me. To top it all off being a woman means I'm at the mercy of a man who might just decide to kill me. He can kill me on my way to campus,home...anywhere.

By just being female you feel like you're in the set of The Hunger Games, not even the set.YOU'RE ACTUALLY IN THE HUNGER GAMES!

We're facing a global pandemic,it may or may not kill me.But,it's more likely that a man will get to me first before the Corona.

Well,there's nothing to see here...just piles of dead bodies.

Women's bodies.

With each day that passes,we wonder who the next one in line is.Will it be my sister?My closest friend?Or even me? How man women need to die before our cries are audible enough?

Woman:an endangered species.

feminism
Like

About the Creator

Alina Ray

This is my canvas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.