Viva logo

Where Is Your Evidence?

Sexual assault and allegations are now a "party" thing?

By jessica youngPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Seriously, in light of all the allegations and accusations of the elder men/women in power positions (this is inclusive) and all you've got is, where is your evidence?

OK, listen up, Sport!

FIRST: Sexual assault is not a "party" thing! I don't care how you vote. (I do care if you don't vote, but that is another story.)

My issue here is... If 30 women are coming out and saying you did it. Chances are you did it. The odds of you not having done it are pretty slim and get smaller with each woman that comes out. Ok, we can argue, why are all these women coming out now... I don't care. I don't care when it happened. What I care about is that you became strong enough to stand up. Proud of you! Chances are, this is not the first time they tried to say something and be heard!

No, my assaulter did not say, lights!, camera!, action!... nor did he stop to ask what political party I was from before he got started. He also got me in an enclosed area by throwing me down a flight of stairs. I am pretty sure there were no cameras there or people waiting to say, hey, I'm a witness here!

Why do you think it didn't happen? I am not saying in any way that we should believe any one woman; there are plenty of women out there that have lied for whatever reasons. That is despicable and shameful and they should be brought to charges. But your evidence is not typically ONE or TWO women (there are a couple in the recent accusations); in some cases it is 30-40 women... But there have been some accused by 200 or more... I can't type 200 bigger... but damn...

Is this not reasonable doubt? Is this not a basis for removal from a power position? We do not need definitive proof in this country. We only need reasonable doubt. You act like Trump's accusers all just came out of the woods at the same time. He started being accused in the 80's. Weinstein has been accused for years. Feldman has been trying to open the floodgates on child assault in Hollywood for years!! Teachers, news anchors and congressmen have been accused for years and it’s been swept under the proverbial rug. Men are accusing other men, men are accusing women, and it will continue now that the floodgates have been opened. This is a power “thing.”

So it doesn't matter if you are a Democrat or a Republican. It now becomes a human issue. One human thinking it is OK to make gestures or grope or say things that make another human feel uncomfortable. That a human in a "power" position believes that because of their position their actions are somehow absolved. That their position is used, itself, to do these horrible acts on another human.

Excuses/ reasoning?

Because I have money.

Because you want to be in my movie.

Because one day I am going to be someone important.

Because you are weaker than me and I want it.

Here is my favorite... Who is going to believe you?

Before you open your mouth, stop and think. If this was your mother, child, wife, husband, or someone related to you closely, would you believe them? Would their words be enough to set your blood to boil? Would you not want some justice?

I grew up in a time when you just let these things go... Maybe that is wrong, I don't know. If I came out for every time that another person made me feel uncomfortable, or put me in a position that I could not "free" myself, we would be here for 40 years. I, too, most likely have put someone in a position where they may have been uncomfortable around me... Whether we thought it was funny at the time and they laughed it off and went home feeling upset about it or otherwise. I am not sure if any of us are not guilty on some level. Things to think about.

But I am not rich; I have nothing to offer another person for their silence, etc... So I am not plastered all over the TV. I also know at my age, that what happened to me, wrong as it is/was, that in my heart, outing them at this stage opens wounds that have scarred over. That those persons in particular have already been punished, that it does not change what happened nor does it make it better. Even though the person who assaulted me is now in a power position, I am still not naming him. My choice, but your choice may be to come out and scream it from the rooftop... I applaud you. You deserve to be heard. I will listen.

But please, stop screaming party this and party that and WHERE IS YOUR EVIDENCE!?

Human decency is lacking something fierce nowadays and that is just as sick as anyone forcing themselves on another. We have lost empathy and the willingness to listen and love one another. This is a 'human relating to others humans’ issue. That is not and has never been a "party" thing. AND isn’t like 200 women coming out evidence enough? Oh, that’s right... You meant to say, Why are they just coming out now? (Again, this is a topic for another day.)

It only takes one candle to start a fire...

feminism
Like

About the Creator

jessica young

Never know what one is to say about themselves. I am here to let out some thoughts. I am getting older with each breath. I use to love "things"..I hope I can find that again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.