Viva logo

What I Read: July

2022

By Alys RevnaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I read three books this July, unintentionally choosing three novels, in variations of the romance genre, with strong female protagonists. I have recently become a fan of romance novels after reading Lisa Kleypas's Ravenel Series, and with the crazy, dark, and depressing world around us this summer, they have been a welcome escape from reality. Not to mention, a great excuse to stay inside during this summer heat.

1. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. (Historical Fiction) Set in New York and California during the golden age of cinema, this novel follows starlet Evelyn Hugo as she recounts her life, and her seven marriages, to a reporter she has tasked with writing her biography. There is not a lot to say about this book that hasn’t been said, but like most of the other reviewers, I absolutely adored this book. I was so enthralled by the story, and sucked in immediately, that I read it in one sitting. Both main characters, Evelyn Hugo, and the reporter tasked with telling her story, Monique Grant, are dynamic, strong, and beautifully portrayed characters. I felt like I was there, with Evelyn, as she experienced the glitz and glam of old Hollywood; I felt like I experienced the ups and downs of her life and career with her, and was genuinely shocked by the twist. If you like intrigue, mystery and romance, I could not recommend this book enough. You can get a copy here.

2. The Heiress Gets A Duke by Harper St. George. (Historical Romance) It’s no secret, I absolutely love a historical romance novel. I’ve read quite a few of them, but I definitely haven’t read anything like The Heiress Gets A Duke. I got this book in my Book of The Month subscription box a long time ago, and for some reason didn’t pick it up until this summer, when I was looking for something a little more lighthearted to read. Set in the time when Railroad families were rich and British aristocracy was cash poor, August Crenshaw, a railway employee and heiress, is visiting a friend in England, when she meets a Duke, with very public financial issues and a big secret. We see their relationship grow and transform, as independent and dynamic August is forced to make a life changing decision between following her plan, or her heart.

This is the first book by Harper St. George I have read, and I liked the way she portrayed August as a woman who chose to work in a male dominated industry, in a time when she didn’t have to work at all. The Duke’s character was charming, and while he wasn’t perfect, he really gave August the space and acceptance to be herself, in a society where men were used to and often felt entitled to having all of the power and control in a relationship. Their conversations and banter is witty and clever, and made for a very fun read. The first in a series, this is a great book for Bridgerton fans anxiously awaiting season three. You can grab a copy here.

3. People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry. (Romance) I’ll be honest, I didn’t expect to absolutely love this book as much as I did. I don’t usually read modern day romance novels, but after this book, I went ahead and requested all of Emily Henry’s other books from my local library. In People We Meet on Vacation, free spirited travel writer Poppy, and her best friend and polar opposite, khaki wearing school teacher Alex; meet up once a year each summer and take a vacation together. This has been their routine, every year, for twelve years. Until one summer, their relationship changed tremendously. We, as the reader, see snapshots of each trip throughout the story, and therefore get to see Alex and Poppy’s relationship change and grow. I became so emotionally invested in this story. Poppy is a fierce, strong, wild woman; and Alex respects and accepts her for exactly who she is. Grab a copy of this heartwarming romance here.

As an amazon affiliate, I do receive a small commission if you purchase a book through one of my links. This helps support my writing goals. Thank you!

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Alys Revna

Writer of things. Mostly poetry, fiction, and fantasy. ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.