Viva logo

The Importance of Women Who Aren't Our Mothers

We need more than a mom.

By Deborah SchumackPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Mom + Me

I love my mom. I would be a liar if I didn't say that she is one of the most influential people in my life.

However, recently I realized maybe she needed to share the Sacred Maternal Mountain.

I, like many, have women I look up to and want to emulate...

Michelle Obama, Sojourner Truth, Ellen.

However, these women always fell into the "they are so inspirational" #WCW #mfg #goals" category. They never even came close to the Sacred Maternal Mountain. The Sacred Maternal mountain is a place in my mind where the words, actions, and voice of my mother reside in a gold and marble temple, enthroned in glorious light. There has always only been one temple. Only one sacred shrine.

But then I stumbled across SC's (going to use her initials) Instagram. I thought I was going to pass out. I couldn't stop watching her videos, reading her posts, and liking her shit. I kept finding myself exclaiming out loud, "I f**king need to be her." I don't fan girl, but I found myself imagining myself in a room with her. What would I do? What would I wear? What would I say? Hell... would I even be able to speak?

I'm known among my friends and circles to be one to speak my mind, but this women was on a level of "speaking your mind" I didn't even know existed. I'm a bad ass, but also a midwest girl at heart; there are lines I don't cross. Listening to SC speak and write about being a woman, mother, 1,000% herself, and taking shit from no one had me wanting to draw lines, just so I could cross them.

The way she spoke, and the energy she had, unearthed parts of myself I didn't know I had. I found myself listening to her as I would my mother. It shocked me that this women, who was the furthest thing from my mother, was demanding so much from me, without even asking me for it. I needed this woman's voice in my life.

I felt, with certainty and with the purest conviction, that this person I had never met, and possibly never will meet, was now an essential part of my life. I knew SC was going to take me further than my mother ever could. I had a slight moment of guilt, but to my surprise, the guilt faded so quickly. In its place, just clarity and calm.

The words of my mother are still safe on the Sacred Maternal Mountain. However, I see, for the first time, there is space for others up there. It's crucial to have women other than your mother to teach you and push you further than you imagined was possible.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.