Viva logo

Student Midwives

Some thoughts from me and other mums

By Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
6
Student Midwives
Photo by 东旭 王 on Unsplash

I'd like to start by acknowledging the beautiful little baby in the cover picture, and the hardworking, caring women who are also in it.

I'm sad to say there are relatively few pictures that humanise and centre the mother and her attendants. All too often, they're a collection of body parts - breasts, bumps, vulvae, gloved hands. In many (most) images, the mother is not even present. That is a post for another day!

I recently shared a post on Facebook about student midwives. The post was written by a midwife, explaining a little about how it works when a woman consents to a student attending, and on the whole I found her post positive and encouraging. I echo her sentiments! She says,

Many are quick to say ‘No students’ on their birth plan/preferences. Of course, this is your choice and your choice will be respected. But, before you write in ‘no students’ please read this blog to make sure you mean it.

The media has not exactly ‘sold’ having students as a good thing. We can all think of an ER scene where 7 students circle a patient (who is lying perfectly on the bed, tucked in!). The scene continues with them speaking only to each other about the ‘case’. The poor patient just sits politely and gets little or no involvement. In my experience this is NOT what happens, certainly not on maternity, thank goodness!

Let me tell you what to expect…

ONE STUDENT WITH A FULLY QUALIFIED, EXPERIENCED MIDWIFE IS THE NORM.

This student could be a student Midwife (often the case), a student Doctor, a student paramedic or, a student nurse. Remember, all these students are committed to their chosen profession. They have worked hard, been professionally interviewed and police checked to get where they are.

I know that students offer fantastic care, trust me I’ve seen it! Where your Midwife may be seeing another woman, answering the phone or simply snowed under with paper work your student can be by your side, only your side, helping you and your partner achieve a wonderful birth. Some of my best birth memories are from when I was a student Midwife.

The thing is, if everyone declined students it wouldn’t take long before the NHS crumbled. Everyone in these professions and alike have had to start out as a student. These STUDENTS ARE OUR FUTURE. They may become the Midwives who deliver your grandchildren, the paramedics who come running to help when you desperately need it, or the doctors and nurses who help your loved one get better.

I admit I am biased in encouraging you to welcome a student in but, remember I wouldn’t be the Midwife I am today, helping you if it wasn’t for the brilliant women, men and families who welcomed me in. I will be forever grateful to them.

We (this midwife) and I are both in the UK, so keep in mind that things may be different where you are. Here, midwife-led care in a hospital is the norm for "low-risk" women.

Here are the highlights:

  • Women are usually (should be) asked antenatally whether or not they consent to a student attending them.
  • They will be attended by a fully qualified midwife whether or not a student is present.
  • The mother's choice is (should be!) fully respected.
  • A student may be just beginning her training, or she may be almost fully qualified, or anywhere in between!

What I loved most about this post were the comments that poured in. Mothers were inspired to share their stories, and this is something I always find magical. These were overwhelmingly positive! With very few exceptions. There were women who, thanks to having a student, were able to have continuity of care that they wouldn't have otherwise had. There were others who wanted up-and-coming birth care professionals to see something different, and less medical. One commenter shared that her baby was the student's first "catch", and what a positive experience it was.

It's very important to remember that the birth of your baby is, first and foremost the birth of your baby. It's not a show, or a training exercise for anyone else. You don't have to "perform" it for anyone. You and your little one are not learning props. You're human beings going through a transformative, once-in-a-lifetime event. (Even if you have ten children, you only give birth to this baby once.)

It's also important to keep in mind that, generally, extraneous people in the room can have a negative impact on the process. Remember, it's a bodily function - could you poo in front of a room full of people? It's likely to be shorter and easier with fewer people gawking at you. That said, a student can bring enough value with her (it's almost always a woman) into the room to make her presence worthwhile to the birthing mother. If this turns out not to be the case, it's a woman's prerogative to change her mind. A phrase I feel sure was invented for pregnant women.

In short - as with most things: there are pros and cons, and the choice belongs with the woman giving birth.

What about you - did you have a student present? Would you?

________________________________________

Book classes with me here.

Have a look at my recent top story!

feminismhealthfamily
6

About the Creator

Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)

Childbirth Eductator since 2011

Building a resource for mothers-to-be to feel informed and confident about their choices

You can find me on Facebook or book classes with me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Impressive effort! Keep up the phenomenal work

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    I had a doctor present, and if he would have asked if an intern could be present, I would have consented. Great article

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    I had my doctor and a nurse present. In the former Soviet Union over 20 years ago you didn’t have a choice and no one would ask you what you wanted. I hope it’s different now.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very interesting article. I did not have any student involved in any of my births. That’s a good question though if I was given the option, would I want one watching? I think yes so they get a chance to learn.

  • I mean yea, if everyone declines a student midwife, then like they'll be no medical professional in the future. So we should always give them a chance!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.