Viva logo

Skincare Routine

Sharing with you guys my morning and night time skincare routine that I currently swear by.

By Aleksie AlvaradoPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
(Left to Right) Neutrogena Hydro Boost Hydrating Cleanser, Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel, Pixi Skintreats Glow Tonic, E-ra Organics Cleanse + Restore All Natural Face + Body Cleanser, Thayer’s Natural Remedies Witch Hazel Rose Petal, And Nouvel Rapid Repair Vitamin C Renewal Cream

I have always been a skincare junkie, mostly because I have had terrible skin growing up. I have tried everything under the sun to get rid of my pesky acne. From over-the-counter meds, online dermatology services, various creams and what not. After years of refusal, I finally did my research and went to see a real dermatologist. Turns out, I have hormonal acne, which is why my skin would be clear one minute and then freak out the next; usually when it’s around that time of the month.

Desperate for my acne to be gone, I made the decision to go on birth control. I know this is a controversial topic for some, but my skin has been doing well under the pill and I am also using Tretinoin Cream prescribed by my doctor in conjunction with the birth control so it is tackling the issue deep within my skin as well, and my skin has never been clearer. However, I am aware that going off the pill can cause acne to come back, but I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. As of right now, my skin is clear and I’m happy.

Even then, I don’t solely rely on those two products alone. Although I don’t break out as often, I still do every now and then and I suffer from tiny skin-colored bumps on my cheek and forehead. Listed below is my current morning and night time skincare routine/review that has been working really well for me over the past couple weeks/months, and has made a huge difference in my overall complexion. Half of these products are all natural/organic/vegan, and then the other half is not.

✨ Left // Night Routine ✨

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Hydrating Cleanser

I have combination skin, leaning more towards the oily side, which means I have areas that are super dry (nose and around my mouth) and areas that are super oily (t-zone), and this really helped balance it out. Probably because of the hyaluronic acid within the product. It’s water based so it’s good for my skin type. I was a little hesitant to try this out at first but it really helped with my dryness and clogged pores.

Pixi Glow Tonic

Absolute holy grail. Not too crazy about the smell and it is on the pricier side, but it is worth every penny in my eyes. Helped so much with my texture issues, as well as some discoloration.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel

Moisturized my skin without leaving me oily which is always a plus for me. It can range from $16-$20 depending on where you get it. I went to RiteAid so this was about $20 but it’s worth it in my opinion, just wish it contained more product. There’s only 1.7 oz.

✨ Right / Morning Routine ✨

E-ra Organics Cleanse + Restore Natural Cleanser

Love this cleanser. Recommended by a friend, and I think this was around $20-$25? I don’t recall, but totally worth it. Really helped with my skin tone and dullness.

Thayer’s Rose Petal Witch Hazel

Another one recommendation by my friend and also a life changer. Super refreshing and also helped with my dullness and discoloration. The smell is really pleasant as well.

Nouvel Rapid Repair Vitamin C Renewal Cream

To be honest, I didn’t really see much of a difference with this one but it’s super moisturizing without leaving you too oily and it’s only like $7 so I like it.

**I forgot to add 3 more things. I use Mederma Advanced Scar Gel to help with acne scarring and it personally worked well for me. You have to be patient though it takes a while to work. For a mask, I use Health & Beauty Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay mixed with organic vinegar (with the mother) and water about 2x a week, and it really cleans out my pores. Then I use Mario Badescu Drying Lotion whenever I get those annoying under the skin pimples and it works like a charm to decrease/get rid of them overnight. 10/10 would recommend.

Well, that is my skincare routine! Try it out, don’t try it out; we all react differently to products but these worked well for my oily to combination skin so I felt the need to share it with you guys. Who knows, maybe somebody with the same skin type may benefit from this.

beauty
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.