Viva logo

My Voice Has Power

Finding my voice in the midst of #MeToo

By Staci DillonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
30

Why doesn't she eat anything? Is she hurting herself on purpose? She probably just wants attention.

I heard it all growing up. When I was 16, I was raped by a stranger. As a 16 year old perfectionist, I blamed myself. I had already struggled with body image issues and eating disorder tendencies so when the assault happened, I spiraled.

My best friend had stopped talking to me. I am sure the eating disorder was too much for her. I starved myself until there was only a shell left. You see, that night in June of 2007, a stranger took something from me that I will never get back. I felt like I had lost complete control over my body. I had never hurt like that before. Starving my body - controlling what went in my body and controlling my weight - made me feel like I had that control back.

For months, I continued this pattern. I scratched myself to feel something. I vividly remember sitting in chemistry class one day thinking about how nothing my teacher was talking about mattered anymore because I just wanted to die. I felt alone.

Finally, I was sent to treatment for the eating disorder. I did what they wanted. I went through the motions. A week later, they sent me home. My best friend who had stopped talking to me suddenly wanted to be my savior. But I welcomed it. We ate lunch in the classroom together. I didn't feel quite as alone and I tried to take better care of myself.

And one night, while she was spending the night at my house, just before we fell asleep, I said out loud what had happened to me for the first time. And I will never forget the silence that followed. And the fact that she never spoke to me again unless she had to. Looking back now, I know that was a lot to throw on my teenage "friend". But at the time, I felt that people's love for me was conditional. I had to be perfect. Perfect grades. At church every time the doors were open. Constantly doing for others.

I rebelled in every way possible until I found myself a teenage mother. But I persevered and graduated college. I raised that little girl and had my own family. The eating disorder thoughts were always in my head taunting me, but I ignored them for my daughter.

Then, I had a son. He was stillborn. And the spiral started again. I was assaulted by a different person 4 months later...someone I trusted. I held myself together for my daughter I found out I was carrying shortly after. But I was broken. The world felt dark.

She was born and I was dying. I spiraled and spiraled until I finally admitted myself to full time treatment. For the first time, I found my voice. I spoke my truth. I told the world what happened to me. I claimed my life back and I fought for it.

Far into my recovery journey, I began volunteering as an advocate for survivors. I became a safe space for others to use their voices for the first time. And I saw the power in telling my story.

Sexual violence was a taboo topic for so long. My journey to finding my voice happened in the midst of the #MeToo movement. We have a long way to go, but our voices have power. And if we continue to use them, we will continue to move forward.

activism
30

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.