Viva logo

Mosquitos Don't Care, Why Do You?

Some inspiring thoughts!

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2023
34
Taken from Pexels, Edited in CanvaPro

The perfect imperfections that make you...you(thank you John Legend)

The birth defects you had when the light of the world first hit your eyes

The scars that show you've lived, loved, lost and got hurt along the way

The stretch marks that come from the changes in weight, in your mood

The fine lines that trace the stress you've gone through

The wrinkles that all fine lines become...in the end

The grey hairs that show you've reached milestone after milestone

Mosquitos don't care, why do you?

*

Thank you for reading.

This is my first time writing and directing it to Viva.

I am not trying to be preachy. Just wishing to share my thoughts.

I wrote the above poem because I feel like this world places to much emphasis on standards of beauty. Mosquitos don't care what you look like. They will bite you whether you are J-Lo or the cat lady from The Simpsons.

  • Birthmarks represent your entry into the world. A lasting reminder of your birth.
  • Scars are evidence that you have lived, loved, possibly faced some tragedies and been through it - survived. It's not anything you should be ashamed of or feel any less of the unique human being you are.
  • Stretch marks, whether they are caused by pregnancy or fluctuating weight, represent so many different events in your life, and probably even different emotions.
  • Fine lines and wrinkles are signs that you have experienced and lived life. That you've experienced good times and bad times. Things have happened that have made you smile and giggle uncontrollably or stressed you until you are tearing your hair out or pushing your thumbs into your temples.
  • Grey hairs are a sign that you have reached certain milestones. Even premature greying is not something to be embarrassed about or upset about.
  • I wrote this poem because I want anyone that may be reading this to know, that whatever your perfect imperfections are - whether you are big, small, old, young, have scars or not, have fine lines, laughter lines and wrinkles or not, have stretch marks, sagging breasts, sagging skin, spots, skin tags, freckles or moles. You are still a beautiful and unique human being.

    Those things do not define you. They are a part of you and are part of your story, but they are not all you are. They show you were here, but don't define what you did while you were here or who you were.

    You are more than these physical features.

    I know some people do not like these parts of their body and I am not saying you shouldn't. What I am trying to say is that don't feel that way because society feels that way.

    Don't let others dictate how you feel about yourself.

    I know that is a lot harder than perhaps I make it sound. But, trust me. You don't need to be perfect. You need to be you. That's all you can be. And that is fine. Whatever version you want to be.

    Not what others want you to be.

    Sorry for the cliche, but it is so true.

    And remember, mosquitos do not discriminate or think about your birthmarks, spots, blemishes, sags, wrinkles and grey hairs.

    They just want your blood. They will suck you whatever the hell you look like.

    They still see you as valuable because it's your vitality, your blood that they want. Not how good-looking or fit or "perfect" you are.

    *

    You, you are enough

    Your perfect imperfections

    You, you are unique

    *

    Thank you for reading my poem, mini-article and haiku. I hope my ramblings and thoughts made sense.

    I appreciate all interactions, so if you liked this, please click the heart, leave a comment or both. You can also subscribe.

    You may also like these pieces:

    You can also check out the rest of my work here.

    feminismhealthbodybeauty
    34

    About the Creator

    Paul Stewart

    Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

    Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

    "Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

    The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

    https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

    Reader insights

    Outstanding

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

    Top insight

    1. Heartfelt and relatable

      The story invoked strong personal emotions

    Add your insights

    Comments (25)

    Sign in to comment
    • Kayleigh Fraser ✨7 months ago

      Beautiful message in this! 😇

    • Very Good

    • Lynn Anderson 11 months ago

      <<Your perfect imperfections>> I told the last guy I fell for, "You're perfectly imperfect."

    • Safeera Satharabout a year ago

      ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    • Vivian R McInernyabout a year ago

      My husband insists mosquitos like him more. I can't argue. I think it has something to do with body temperature and not because he's sweeter, haha.

    • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

      My favorite section is the “those things do not define you” part. I love the acknowledgment that those things may have significantly shaped us but that they do not define us.

    • Daniel Alexanderabout a year ago

      I enjoyed this. ❤️

    • Adamu Salisuabout a year ago

      Nice one

    • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

      Perfectly penned positivity piece, portraying people's uniquenessl and self-confidence is beautiful. Awesome story!!! Congratulations, well deserved Top Story!!!

    • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

      Love the beautiful message in this poem. Congratulations 🎈🎉🎊🍾 Cheers

    • Gina C.about a year ago

      Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story, my friend!! I love how much positivity is in this one! ❤️ That message at the end is gold 😍 I still stand my ground on mosquitos, but they are lovely in this piece, so I’m still allowing them 😃

    • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

      I love this! Positive vibes!

    • Jess Boyesabout a year ago

      Congratulations to you! A well deserved Top Story. It's wonderful and a great reminder that we're all unique and beautiful people, no matter what. This really resonates with me because I have some major scarring from surgery, right down the front of me and it took a long time for me to be okay with it. Loved it.

    • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

      My 12 inch oophrectomy scar is still taking some getting used to. I liked this story. It reminds me to keep working on being comfortable in my skin. The outcome could have been so much worse for me and I am thankful it wasn't. Nicely done and congrats on the top story!

    • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

      Congrats on the top story

    • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

      I loved this. It was a inspiration to see that a mosquito doesn’t discriminate! Lol congratulations on your top story

    • Congratulations on your Top Story , great piece

    • JBazabout a year ago

      Relatable ...except for the stretch marks

    • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

      This is so awesome & heart-felt.

    • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

      What a gift you have at making others feel good about themselves Bravo

    • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

      Wonderfully said. Bravo

    • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

      Deep and inspiring

    • Whoaaaa, this was so inspirational and uplifting! Certainly made me feel good about myself! I loved this piece!

    • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

      Aww, what a beautiful, uplifting piece :) Thank you for sharing this positivity. It's so hard for me to accept this advice sometimes. I see the grays and just think 'old' or the wrinkles and think 'old' lol. But I know I need to change that. And BTW, mosquitos LOVE me. Like, love love love me, lol!

    • Gina C.about a year ago

      I love the message of this, and the way you tied it to mosquitos was very creative! I can’t stand mosquitos, but I’ll allow this 😅 Great work!

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.