Viva logo

Living Uneasy

The Life After Molestation

By Courtney QuickPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Beginning

A few days before my eighth-grade year started, my life changed drastically. Nobody ever believed me. Nobody ever listened. I was the kid who “asked for what I got” and was never helped.

I was beyond excited about starting my first year at the middle school. I knew that it was going to be an unforgettable beginning of a new chapter in my life. I loved life, I lived life, and I loved school. But this day changed my life.

April 16th, 2015

Nobody thought anything about me learning how to drive a moped. I thought being with my great uncle meant that I would be safe. I thought that since he was family he would never hurt me, that he would protect me. Little did I know that this day would be the day that changed my outlook of “family.”

I was so excited to be able to drive this three-wheeler. I had never driven anything at all and to be able to do this was awesome.

I jumped on with my great uncle and we rode a little bit. He then asked if I was ready to drive, and of course I was. So I got in front of him and began to drive. I noticed that his hands kept moving closer and closer. He kept going down between my thighs. Even when I told him to stop multiple times, he continued.

I ended up getting pissed off after telling him to stop too many times and finally stopped the moped and got off. He wanted me to continue driving but I refused. He inched closer to me and said he wanted to make me feel like a woman. I punched him in his jaw and told him to take me home and I meant it. The ride home I was shaking. I was just ready to go and hide.

Hours Later....

I hid for a long time. I wouldn’t leave my room except to go to the bathroom. I didn’t want to be anywhere near him. I hated him. I hated men, especially family. I was mad that he even attempted to mess with me.

All of a sudden I heard his moped. I ran to the living room and my sister was in there with him...at age 11, my sister's life changed along with mine.

He did a lot more to her than he did to me because I had gone through something similar prior to this in 2013. I knew how to fight him off. I knew just what to say to scare the living hell out of him, but she didn’t.

When they got back, my sister found me in the bathroom crying on the floor. She came in and she closed the door. I could tell she was scared. I asked her what happened and she told me. I assured her I was a victim too. We made each other promise to never speak to him again and never go anywhere alone with him.

We finally stopped crying and told our mom and dad what happened. My mom seriously blew it off, and dad charged past us and he was really close to killing him. If it wasn't for my aunt, my dad would have killed my great uncle.

The Ending

Nothing ever got done. My point in sharing my story is to let you know that if anyone ever touches you, no matter the age, no matter if nobody believes you, TELL A COP. If you know your parents don’t care, your cops will. I never got that chance because I was too afraid. So if you have experienced molestation or rape, stay positive!

family
Like

About the Creator

Courtney Quick

I’m 20 years old. Married to my best friend. We have two amazing daughters. We serve an awesome God

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.