Viva logo

Inspired by Women, Empowered by Change

The resilience of females is what drives me forwards and for that, I am grateful

By Laura McCannPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Proverbs 31:25 painted on a board, surrounded by flowers

March is Women's History Month with International Women's Day taking place on 8th March. To mark this, this year, I've written about those who have inspired me.

The question has been asked of who the woman who inspires me is, to tell her story. But it's not that simple, it's not that singular...

Here is a snapshot...

"Success isn't about how much money you make, it's about the difference you make in people's lives" - Michelle Obama

A woman who has lived a life aware of the broad variations of what is possible for people to achieve and this is what she focuses on as important. In this world the material is easy to be used a measure of worth, let us not.

"You can become strong and powerful and beautiful" - Serena Williams

Arguably the greatest tennis player of all time, who has consistently faced ridicule about her appearance in spite of her accomplishments. She knows beauty, power and strength and it is thoroughly inspiring that she confirms and embodies the fact that we can be it all.

"My husband has been killed by the Germans and I'm going to get my own back" - Violette Szabo

The second woman to receive the George Cross for her efforts during WWII as a Special Operations Executive. The strength and beauty of her love for her husband and to make efforts against what was wrong has always impressed me. In the face of evil spreading across a continent, she acted out of love and sacrificed herself.

My friends and family who's mental health obstructs their view and threatens to break them.

I am privileged to see them rise higher every day. Particularly now as the world is driving anxiety, everyone of them continues to press on, especially those who work in healthcare.

The teacher who taught me, impassioned, about the suffrage movement in the UK and instructed us to not get sad, but get mad.

We were paying attention, it was right for us to be angry for that would demand of us to seek change.

The women in the company I work for who are consistently excelling in the typically male-centric tech industry.

Daily, I am encouraged and empowered by the women I work with to keep going. It isn't easy often being the youngest, least experienced and only female around the table. But it has forced me into accepting my femininity, I think. I've watched other women I work with being 'the odd one out' in the room, and actually they act exactly the opposite of that. They do look different, but they do their jobs and never once appear intimidated by not being like everyone else. That's been one of my biggest lessons in working life so far.

The question has been asked of who the woman who inspires me is, to tell her story.

To simplify through singularity, the woman I am becoming is the woman who inspires me. She is a result of every other woman I have ever known of. Without every female in my life who has been, I would not become the woman that I will.

"I am my own muse. I am the subject I know best. The subject I want to better" - Frida Kahlo

We have fought and cared for our countries, our men, our children, our friends, ourselves. And we will continue to.

We're women, we keep going.

When I must look for insight, guidance or encouragement, there has always been a woman's words and experience there for me. I know that will always be the case. For that, I am grateful and it gives me peace for the future.

My tomorrow is because of your yesterday; today I thank you.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Laura McCann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.