Viva logo

Inside and Out

What is true beauty?

By Rebe BehrPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

The most infamous line in The Devil Wears Prada:

Yes, that's true. That's really what this multibillion-dollar industry is all about anyway, isn't it? Inner beauty.”

I hear the sarcasm in his voice but with all honesty, it should be. Most women look up to hot models in this ‘multibillion-dollar industry,’ and we compare each other to them. How are women going to accept themselves for who they are? I’m no size zero, double zero, or two, I’m a proud size nine. I don’t care what people say or try to get me to lose weight. I don’t care. I’m happy being myself and all.

I’ve struggled with what the true meaning of what beauty is. Does that mean, I starve myself and not eat the food that I enjoy? No. I should be able to enjoy what I eat or wear. These days, we only look up to the women in the magazines that says, “two-week detox on smoothies.” How are we going to break those stereotypes in this society? We don’t even take each other seriously and we point fingers and call each other disgusting names. What will our future be? As a child, I was made fun of having big boobs and a big butt. Women these days, go and get surgery done, because they want big boobs and a big butt. If they don’t look like those women they can’t feel accepted. I always admired the women in the magazine and dreamed of having a sexy body and having a hot guy. I didn’t end up like. I don’t have the hot model body type or even the hot boyfriend. Instead of feeling less beautiful, I should feel like I conquered the world and feel like I was walking down the runway show. We should be that model and not care what other people think of what we look like. The inner beauty does exist. Everyone should look for their beauty and stop comparing each other to Victoria's Secret models and be proud of how you look. Embrace your quirkiness and build that self-esteem to the skies. Why? Because we are all beautiful, no matter what we look like, no matter how much we weigh, and no matter what our sizes are. Beauty is beauty. Nothing should compare to what inner beauty is. I still struggle with my own beauty, but I’m trying to accept who I am and what I look like. At the end of the day, beauty fades and so does plastic surgery. So, yes. I am beautiful. You are beautiful. We are all beautiful. From inside and out.

Love,

Rebe Behr

beauty
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.